We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveler rating
437
312
106
38
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
312
106
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoods restaurantunited nationsambassador memberminute bus ridecity centrered cross museumnumber busfree bus passbusiness centerroom upgradelake genevapublic areasbreakfast was excellentlake viewbusiness tripfive star hotelclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 917 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Pretty standard Intercon / upscale chain hotel experience. The convenience is unmatched if you are in Geneva for UN meetings as you can walk directly to the main UN "Palais de Nations," WIPO, ITU etc in just 5-7 minutes. However, what you save on taxi fare is outweighed by the outrageous food and lodging costs! Had to go over and above US government per diem rate to stay here, and breakfast was not even included at that rate! Breakfast on its own is 49 CHF! Crazy expensive! Luckily there is a Coop grocery store just behind the hotel so you can buy snacks to keep in the minibar. 17CHF to launder one ladies shirt and 16CHF to iron same. Good selection of TV cable channels in English, French, German, Arabic etc. Service was OK, pretty standard amenities--definitely nothing special for those elevated prices.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank UptownGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient to access the different international organizations. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with our teams.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Geneva.

Yours sincerely,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

An austere tower block on the outside, once past the bamboo and through the doors the InterContinental Geneva is elegance personified.

The lobby is expansive, featuring matching seating areas on either side, a bar in one wing and the main restaurant (Woods) in the other.

Upstairs on the mezzanine are smoking and wine lounges, together with expansive conference facilities through several halls (featuring photographs of well-known past guests) and breakout spaces. Whilst not intimate, the décor throughout oozes corporate sophistication, and is very tastefully done.

We were welcomed by staff along the route to reception, and offered a mini Toblerone from a small wooden chest by the concierge as there was a short wait to check in. A second member of staff was summonsed, my Ambassador status was acknowledged and an extensive introduction to the hotel given – a little too extensive for my liking, but all done very professionally. We were escorted as far as the lift, just around the corner from reception.

Our Deluxe Lake View room on the 15th floor (a double upgrade from a Superior room) although small was light and modern, with an expansive picture window overlooking the city, lake and mountains in the distance.

There’s not much between Superior and Deluxe Lake View rooms (aside from the view, obviously); they’re the same size (although bizarrely Deluxe rooms with a standard view are slightly larger), but they do feature a Nespresso machine and complimentary bottles of water. The Ambassador water, fruit and a welcome gift of chocolates was placed in the room, and the water was replaced every day of our stay – this last activity is something ICs regularly ‘forget’ and need reminding of.

The non-matching bedside tables were slightly perplexing, although at least there were power sockets on both sides of the bed. The low pendant lamp over the left hand table met my head on several occasions.

The bathroom was a slightly odd ‘Swiss chalet’ style experience, resplendent with retro pink toilet, bidet and bath (only the basin had been replaced with a modern white affair). Odd styling and dated tiling aside, the bathroom was on the large side for such a small room and featured the usual IC Agraria amenities. Storage space was minimal with just a small ledge above the basin and nowhere to hang hand towels. The multiple mirrors were not anti-steam, although as always it was pleasing to see a shower screen as opposed to a curtain.

Breakfast in Woods restaurant was a generally good experience; the ambience of the restaurant was perfect, with multiple seating areas including pleasant airy spaces adjacent to the exterior bamboo-flanked terrace. Service was a little patchy across our four mornings, but the buffet offering was solid as one would expect from an InterContinental, with egg dishes available to order.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Genius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience of the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community, and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, for business or leisure.

Best regards,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

The service at the Intercontinental Hotel in Geneva is excellent. The have a professional staff, and they are attentive and helpful.

I highly recommend the hotel for its central location, high quality, and gracious hospitality. Also, one last, simple point: they have great coffee, and some days that can make or break your experience of a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewinCowTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We really appreciate your positive comments. Guest satisfaction being our priority, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your Geneva residence.

Best regards,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Modern hotel near UN building and Red Cross Museum.
Large lobby with many seats.
Room had king bed with closets and drawers. Bathroom on the smallish side but adequate.
Shower very good and towels were huge.

Sleeping was comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was large and complete. In addition, specialty orders can be placed (I ordered an egg white omelette that was wonderful).

Very helpful staff.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are important for us and they have been of course forwarded to all team members.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

we spent 6 nights in the hotel. The room had a spectacular view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. It was conveniently in walking distance of the UN and the convention center. The restaurant served exceptional food and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: try for an upper level room with a lake and mountain view
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel convenient. Your positive comments will of course be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your Geneva residence.

Yours sincerely,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews