We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$161
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel N'vY(Geneva)
$203
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eden Hotel Geneva(Geneva)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Geneva Airport(Meyrin)
$107
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Geneva(Geneva)
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$461
$441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveler rating
432
306
104
38
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
306
104
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoods restaurantambassador memberunited nationsminute bus ridecity centrered cross museumnumber busfree bus passbusiness centerroom upgradelake genevapublic areasbreakfast was excellentgreat roomlake viewbusiness tripfive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 904 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017

An austere tower block on the outside, once past the bamboo and through the doors the InterContinental Geneva is elegance personified.

The lobby is expansive, featuring matching seating areas on either side, a bar in one wing and the main restaurant (Woods) in the other.

Upstairs on the mezzanine are smoking and wine lounges, together with expansive conference facilities through several halls (featuring photographs of well-known past guests) and breakout spaces. Whilst not intimate, the décor throughout oozes corporate sophistication, and is very tastefully done.

We were welcomed by staff along the route to reception, and offered a mini Toblerone from a small wooden chest by the concierge as there was a short wait to check in. A second member of staff was summonsed, my Ambassador status was acknowledged and an extensive introduction to the hotel given – a little too extensive for my liking, but all done very professionally. We were escorted as far as the lift, just around the corner from reception.

Our Deluxe Lake View room on the 15th floor (a double upgrade from a Superior room) although small was light and modern, with an expansive picture window overlooking the city, lake and mountains in the distance.

There’s not much between Superior and Deluxe Lake View rooms (aside from the view, obviously); they’re the same size (although bizarrely Deluxe rooms with a standard view are slightly larger), but they do feature a Nespresso machine and complimentary bottles of water. The Ambassador water, fruit and a welcome gift of chocolates was placed in the room, and the water was replaced every day of our stay – this last activity is something ICs regularly ‘forget’ and need reminding of.

The non-matching bedside tables were slightly perplexing, although at least there were power sockets on both sides of the bed. The low pendant lamp over the left hand table met my head on several occasions.

The bathroom was a slightly odd ‘Swiss chalet’ style experience, resplendent with retro pink toilet, bidet and bath (only the basin had been replaced with a modern white affair). Odd styling and dated tiling aside, the bathroom was on the large side for such a small room and featured the usual IC Agraria amenities. Storage space was minimal with just a small ledge above the basin and nowhere to hang hand towels. The multiple mirrors were not anti-steam, although as always it was pleasing to see a shower screen as opposed to a curtain.

Breakfast in Woods restaurant was a generally good experience; the ambience of the restaurant was perfect, with multiple seating areas including pleasant airy spaces adjacent to the exterior bamboo-flanked terrace. Service was a little patchy across our four mornings, but the buffet offering was solid as one would expect from an InterContinental, with egg dishes available to order.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Genius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience of the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community, and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, for business or leisure.

Best regards,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

The service at the Intercontinental Hotel in Geneva is excellent. The have a professional staff, and they are attentive and helpful.

I highly recommend the hotel for its central location, high quality, and gracious hospitality. Also, one last, simple point: they have great coffee, and some days that can make or break your experience of a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewinCowTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We really appreciate your positive comments. Guest satisfaction being our priority, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your Geneva residence.

Best regards,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Modern hotel near UN building and Red Cross Museum.
Large lobby with many seats.
Room had king bed with closets and drawers. Bathroom on the smallish side but adequate.
Shower very good and towels were huge.

Sleeping was comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was large and complete. In addition, specialty orders can be placed (I ordered an egg white omelette that was wonderful).

Very helpful staff.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are important for us and they have been of course forwarded to all team members.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

we spent 6 nights in the hotel. The room had a spectacular view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. It was conveniently in walking distance of the UN and the convention center. The restaurant served exceptional food and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: try for an upper level room with a lake and mountain view
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel convenient. Your positive comments will of course be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your Geneva residence.

Yours sincerely,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Stayed here for the OESO conference. Everyone was kind and very helpful.
When we asked for directions, the front desk and concierge were very helpful.

The room was average, but the TV was very intelligent and the Youtube on the TV helped pacify my 4 year old son. The water from the shower head was a bit weak.

However, the breakfast was boring. There were no signature dishes. Everything was same for 5 days. Except for the omelette, which continued to change despite being ordered the same way, with everything. One day, it's too cooked, one day it has mushrooms in it, other days not. The coffee is also poor considering that Swiss makes Jura machines and that this is a 5 star hotel. Cappuccino seems to be better than cafe latte, however don't order it at opening time, because they can't seem to make it then.
I would especially like a more variety on the vegetarian side. There was only lettuce and tiny cucumber or beet cubes. On the other hand, veal sausage and the cooked mushrooms were delightful.

The lakeside view was fabulous. I could see the lake, the jet 'eau and the Alps in the distance.

All in all, a bit expensive but up to standards. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyongKi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate your comments namely regarding our front desk team and we do hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

We also noted your remarks regarding breakfast and the omelette ordered each day. These are important for us and will be shared with the F&B manager.

We do hope you will consider to stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

François Chopinet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews