We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old hotel but, they innovate it very nicely & elegant.

They have a very good staff.
They are very generous, they welcomed me with 3 different tarts & luxury type of chocolate.

It's a bit far from the lake but, this is good where it will be far from the noise if you're traveling in summer time.

It has a good lobby with nice music.

I recommend it for you

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Thamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last November and that hotel services were up to your expectations. Such good remarks are highly important and useful for us. Needless to say that they have been transmitted to all team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Hotel InterContinental Geneve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 782 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

A three night stop to enjoy Geneva and surrounding areas. The staff are the real asset as we found only friendly and helpful service throughout the hotel. We had a Suite with lake view. Room was large and comfortable and electronics worked well .
The bar is good to enjoy drink and light bites.
The location is good and using trams in town makes travel easy .Concierge has tram pass

Room Tip: Go for high up lake view and larger bathrooms. Lake side is quieter. Corner suite if possible
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Neil B.,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time once again to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed this new stay at the hotel and that décor and services were up to your expectations. Needless to say your warm comments have been forwarded to all team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and wishing you and your family a happy festive season in advance, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, slow bar service, quick room service.

TV system soooooo annoying. Just make it like normal TV for gods sake.

4 euros to listen to some music? On a rubbish sounding TV? C'mon.

Way to let down an otherwise good hotel with irritating little rubbish.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hijem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Responsable réception at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment you experienced during your last stay at the hotel while using the in-room TV and music system. You may rest assured that we have taken good note of your comments.

Despite this, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel and remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

You go to the Intercontinental and you know what you're getting. Intercon Geneva doesn't disappoint. Rooms aren't bad sized, but the bathroom did feel kinda cramped, that said both are really well appointed, and you'd be hard pressed not to have a comfortable stay in this hotel.

Whilst it's location isn't the best, you are only 10mins from the airport/train station and if you're lucky enough to get a room with a view of the lake and snow covered mountains, then that will more than make up for it. If you want to walk anywhere from the hotel it's a fair schlep but possible.

As you'd expect with both the Intercon and Switzerland, prices for food/drink aren't cheap in the hotel but the quality of it is pretty good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constant_TravellerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

It’s a real pleasure to read that your last stay with us was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your room as well as the hotel facilities. Since guest comfort is our priority, we continuously do our utmost to share our vision of the Swiss hospitality with our clients. Positive comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, for business or leisure, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed in a nice Suite for a couple of days and really appreciated the attentions, the wine, cheese, chocolate every day in the room etc... The service and concierge are perfect.

I also had a luch there: good food and great choice of wines.

The reception is very welcome and helpful check in and out. There is a lot a nice 5 stars in Geneva and competion is hard but Intercontinenta is a good value definitely.

Room Tip: High floors
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessShipTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the few days you spent at the hotel and that the décor and our services were up to your expectations. Good comments such as yours as quite important and useful for us, you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Don’t stay at the intercontinental hotel if most of your meetings are on Rive Gauche (Bank district), as your morning ride might take up to 15-20 min. Apart from the United Nations, , other NGOs and missions there is truly nothing around the hotel. Service was definitely impeccable. Be careful with the extras as they charge excessive amount… (We paid 40 CHF for two teas, a diet coke and an orange juice)…

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you appreciated the quality of service at the hotel. You may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

For your information, we are indeed not located near the lake but a travel pass is offered to each guest so that they can explore Geneva with Geneva Public Transports, this free of charge. The bus n°5 stops just in front of the hotel and it takes only 10 minutes to go downtown or to the airport.

Nevertheless, looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I visited Geneva for one night and stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel. This is an old hotel and rooms are extremely well equipped but small. The room i had a great view but certainly was only suitable as a single room.
The Dinner in the Resturant was very good and extremely nicely served by quality staff. Breakfast was also top quality.
Total cost was top end.
Make sure you ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the lake [even if it is in the distance]

Room Tip: Ask for room on a high floor if you want a view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are pleased to hear you spent a nice and comfortable stay at the hotel. Your good comments on service and staff have been duly forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you on another occasion, should your plans bring you back to Geneva for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
968 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#11 of 106 in Geneva
759 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.0 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
926 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $285 - $1,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing