We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid property with minor drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is located just 10 minutes bus ride away from the airport and another 12 minutes bus ride away from the downtown. The staff at check-in was friendly and fast. Our room on the 14th floor was good but very noisy. We could hear the traffic outside and our neighbours very clearly.
The pool and spa facilities were great, whereas the poolside staff was rather slow and not very attentive. Even for Geneve the prices in the hotel were too high.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to read that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us but are very sorry to hear about your disappointment about the poolside team. Please be assured that we highly value any feedback from our guests and that proper reminders on attentiveness to details and service have been extended to the respective managers to avoid such issues from reoccurring in the future.

Concerning your remark on room quietness, please kindly note that all windows were changed recently to improve thermic and phonic isolation. However, we apologize if you were not able to have a fully relaxing stay.

Despite this, we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève soon and remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 841 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am a priority club member so I decided to try this hotel. The reviews on trip advisor do not rate this hotel highly enough. Amazing breakfast including all what u could ask for and Fresh. Lovely pool with super staff. Rooms adequate. Bus pass provided upon check in. Hotel very central.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirlMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations and that you spent a delightful stay with us. Needless to say your positive comments will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful renovated hotel. Very nice rooms and bathrooms.

State of the art meeting rooms and very well though lobby design with a very cozy atmosphere. Breakfast is very well presented and very complete. Staff is very attentive. Meeting rooms are some of the best I have seen in a long time.

Access from indoor parking to hotel is kind of complicated and there is no direct elevator. Therefore it is important to leave your luggage at the entrance and then park. Doorman’s and bellboys are most attentive and organize the traffic at the door quite well. If you are lucky and there is free space you can even leave your car at the door.

Although it is not located right in the center of Geneva it takes 10 minutes by taxi to get there as the property is very well connected.

A+++ hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and that the hotel décor and services were up to your expectations. Very good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may be rest assured that they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, either for business or for leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently returned from a business trip to Geneva. I had difficulty with my booking reference number and was fearing the worst. But Vincent, the front desk manager, dealt with the issue promptly an professionally -- in spite of dealing with major conference activity.
The staff were very helpful and made a difficult situation pleasurable.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet.
Thank you Vincent and team - I will be back on my next trip to Geneva.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its services on the occasion of your recent stay. Very good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned, especially to Vincent, our Front Desk Supervisor.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Sadly this Hotel is well out of town, but good for the UN. It relies heavily on guests from there, I suspect. My room was quite small considering the expense. The situation was not helped that they managed to take away my nightgown and I was left without for the night until it was found the next day. No apology.
Breakfast was just fine. The coffee served in small white pots was never hot and one had to ask for Butter and then wait. Overall it was more of a Holiday Inn, which is part of the chain, then a five Star Hotel in Geneva.
The Conference though was organised very well, Conference food was good, coffee from machine was hot and afternoon baking was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachanovka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are truly sorry to read that you did not spend a comfortable stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with your nightgown, the maid should have been more careful when she served your room.

Furthermore, you may rest assured that your comments regarding breakfast and especially the coffee served at that time have been forwarded to our F&B Director as well as the Woods’ team so that proper measures can be taken to overcome this issue.

Regarding the hotel location, we are indeed not located near the lake but, for your information, a travel pass is offered to each guest so that they can explore Geneva with Geneva Public Transports, this free of charge. The bus n°5 stops just in front of the hotel and it takes only 10 minutes to go downtown or to the airport.

Nevertheless, we are pleased to hear that conference facilities were up to your expectations.

Dear Madam, please accept once again our sincere apologies for the above-mentioned points. We do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève and remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a pleasant business hotel, largely updated to modern standards (although some parts reveal its Sixties origins). I stayed there for a conference.

Good:
- generally modern comfortable rooms
- conveniently between airport and town
- pleasant bar with nice food
- nice views from the higher rooms (although I faced France rather than the lake)
- good level of service
- big heated pool
- wifi works well

Not so good:
- expensive (welcome to Switzerland)
- rooms and particularly bathrooms are small, and some bathrooms a bit dated
- can be noisy, between external road noise, noises if you are near the lifts and elderly aircon. I asked to be moved away from the lifts, and went from the 5th to the 16th floor where I slept much better. But the staff were very good about moving me.
- quite far from town (taxi to the old town was a whopping 35 francs)

I was horrified (on behalf of my employer) at the 40 franc+ breakfast and went to café in the shopping centre round the back - recommended if your breakfast needs don't go much beyond coffee and fresh orange juice.

All in all I'd recommend it - I wouldn't have my honeymoon there but it is a decent place to stay on a business trip.

Room Tip: Higher up and further away from the lifts is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montydoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We do appreciate receiving your detailed feedback, which is very useful for us, and are most pleased to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay on the occasion of the conference you were attending.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning the bathroom size and the breakfast price. For your information, as far as this point is concerned and as you may probably have read in our previous answers to other Trip Advisor members, our buffet breakfast is average or less expensive than those served in the 5-star properties in town.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève soon, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as first and last stop of our trip. Both stays were very good. It was situated very near to UN and 15 minute bus ride to the old town. The bus was convenient and you get to ride free – remember to ask for the tourist card from the front desk.

Check-in was smooth, Vincent was very efficient and we find ourselves settled into an upgraded room in no time. It’s pleasing to know you can take a nice breather after a long flight.

The room was very neat and clean. We had a problem with drainage on our second stay which resulted in a flooded toilet and room. After some negotiation we were given a smoking room downstairs. However I would expect a little more assistance given to me to move my things to the new room. I had to go down to get the key myself and to verbally request for assistance to move my luggage down to the room. It was 2am in the morning and I was very anxious to settle down and sleep!

The breakfast was excellent, but very expensive – I know I’m at Geneva but that price tag of 45+ francs was probably still high. We had a dinner at their bar in one of the evenings… again great food great service but very expensive.

To summarise, I think this hotel is managed quite well – very clearly the main customers are here for meetings and conferences. With tourist like me who form a smaller portion. I felt the performance of the night staff have room for improvement, this is not the first time I have to change a room in a hotel but the lukewarm reaction from those guys left much to be desired.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

It has been a real pleasure to welcome you at the beginning and at the end of your recent trip. Your nice comments on check-in and F&B experience have been duly forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your remarks on breakfast price, please kindly note that our buffet breakfast is average or less expensive than those served in the 5-star properties in town.

However, please kindly accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service during your second stay when you had to change room. You are correct, our Front Desk night team should have been more reactive and assist you with your luggage. You may be rest assured this is not the quality of service we are used to offering to our guests and that proper reminders have been made to the team.

Despite this, we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix, Geneva.
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 109 in Geneva
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#13 of 109 in Geneva
833 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#13 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $282 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing