We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a pleasant business hotel, largely updated to modern standards (although some parts reveal its Sixties origins). I stayed there for a conference.

Good:
- generally modern comfortable rooms
- conveniently between airport and town
- pleasant bar with nice food
- nice views from the higher rooms (although I faced France rather than the lake)
- good level of service
- big heated pool
- wifi works well

Not so good:
- expensive (welcome to Switzerland)
- rooms and particularly bathrooms are small, and some bathrooms a bit dated
- can be noisy, between external road noise, noises if you are near the lifts and elderly aircon. I asked to be moved away from the lifts, and went from the 5th to the 16th floor where I slept much better. But the staff were very good about moving me.
- quite far from town (taxi to the old town was a whopping 35 francs)

I was horrified (on behalf of my employer) at the 40 franc+ breakfast and went to café in the shopping centre round the back - recommended if your breakfast needs don't go much beyond coffee and fresh orange juice.

All in all I'd recommend it - I wouldn't have my honeymoon there but it is a decent place to stay on a business trip.

Room Tip: Higher up and further away from the lifts is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montydoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We do appreciate receiving your detailed feedback, which is very useful for us, and are most pleased to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay on the occasion of the conference you were attending.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning the bathroom size and the breakfast price. For your information, as far as this point is concerned and as you may probably have read in our previous answers to other Trip Advisor members, our buffet breakfast is average or less expensive than those served in the 5-star properties in town.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève soon, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 829 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as first and last stop of our trip. Both stays were very good. It was situated very near to UN and 15 minute bus ride to the old town. The bus was convenient and you get to ride free – remember to ask for the tourist card from the front desk.

Check-in was smooth, Vincent was very efficient and we find ourselves settled into an upgraded room in no time. It’s pleasing to know you can take a nice breather after a long flight.

The room was very neat and clean. We had a problem with drainage on our second stay which resulted in a flooded toilet and room. After some negotiation we were given a smoking room downstairs. However I would expect a little more assistance given to me to move my things to the new room. I had to go down to get the key myself and to verbally request for assistance to move my luggage down to the room. It was 2am in the morning and I was very anxious to settle down and sleep!

The breakfast was excellent, but very expensive – I know I’m at Geneva but that price tag of 45+ francs was probably still high. We had a dinner at their bar in one of the evenings… again great food great service but very expensive.

To summarise, I think this hotel is managed quite well – very clearly the main customers are here for meetings and conferences. With tourist like me who form a smaller portion. I felt the performance of the night staff have room for improvement, this is not the first time I have to change a room in a hotel but the lukewarm reaction from those guys left much to be desired.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

It has been a real pleasure to welcome you at the beginning and at the end of your recent trip. Your nice comments on check-in and F&B experience have been duly forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your remarks on breakfast price, please kindly note that our buffet breakfast is average or less expensive than those served in the 5-star properties in town.

However, please kindly accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service during your second stay when you had to change room. You are correct, our Front Desk night team should have been more reactive and assist you with your luggage. You may be rest assured this is not the quality of service we are used to offering to our guests and that proper reminders have been made to the team.

Despite this, we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days last weekend. What an amazing hotel. Staff extremely helpful and attentive. Facilities very good. Decor excellent and unusual. We had an executive room and the views across Lake Geneva and Mont Blanc were wonderful. Breakfast s very varied and beautifully displayed. Produce very fresh and tasty. Th pool is idyllic but drinks very expensive, as is all of Geneva. The spa is very good.
Definitely recommend this hotel albeit expensive. Plus it is only 10 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetTaylorHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are more than delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel décor and services. Warm comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Geneva is not short of top end hotels but the Intercontinental certainly rates highly. Being slightly away from the lake, the noise from the crowds on a warm summer evening is less and you have the advantage of height to afford great views of the lake and the city.
I was lucky enough to be in a corner room, complete with a bath and open shower in the marble bathroom, fantastic large windows, and all controls at your fingertips. The Nespresso machine in the room is a nice touch (though the variety of grand crus could have been greater).
The staff were extremely friendly and professional and the common areas are beautiful and calming. The pool area is secluded and relaxing.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Lenensuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

What a pleasure to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay! We were of course delighted to offer you a comfortable and relaxing one. Very positive comments such as yours are really important for us, you may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned team members.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Genève soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent position, close to airport, downtown and … United Nations, therefore enhanced security. Enjoyed our stay there for the last night of vacation in Switzerland. Professional and friendly staff, ready to guess your needs and fulfill them, nice big modern (superior) room with lake view. Unfortunately did not have enough time to enjoy all the amenities like the nice pool and sauna. Due to location and clientele, is overpriced, but I didn’t feel it (staying on points).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the night you spent with us on your way back from holidays and that the hotel décor and services were up to your expectations. Good comments such as yours as quite important and useful for us, so you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is located on the hills above Lake Leman, across from the UN and Red Cross park. The view from the rooms (assuming you have a downhill view) are truly great, but you can hear the early morning commuter traffic through the windows, even though the hotel's exterior appears to have been upgraded.

The pool area is serene and spacious, which is unusual for Geneva. It's Switzerland, so a basic burger and beer will be more than 40 CHF poolside.

The hotel lobby bar closes too early, it seems because of "Swiss laws" which appear to be followed to the letter.

Room Tip: I would say you would probably want to seek an upper floor room looking at Lake Leman, but away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnStewartWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We do appreciate receiving your nice comments concerning your last stay with us and we will of course forward them to all persons concerned.

Regarding your remarks on noise, it is actually true that all the hotel windows have been recently changed to improve isolation.

Furthermore, we completely understand that you may feel disappointed that our lobby bar closes at 1.00am but you will certainly understand that we have to comply with the Swiss bar opening hours regulation.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This Hotel is nicely located next to UN organizations. Very well frequented by UN guests and international conference participants. Good service and nice hotel staff. Hovever totally overpriced, Breakfast buffet for CHF 48.00 is just one example for their pricing policy. Summarized: if you have to pay on your own look for better alternatives. If you travel at taxpayers account enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are pleased to hear you spent a nice and comfortable stay at the hotel. Your good comments on service and staff have been duly forwarded to all persons concerned.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning prices.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you on another occasion, should your plans bring you back to Geneva for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Hotel de la Paix, Geneva
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#9 of 109 in Geneva
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#16 of 109 in Geneva
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#13 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $268 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing