We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class, Style, Excellent Customer focused service but without being too Pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this Intercontinental in Geneva for several days. I have, as a Platinum Ambassador with their loyalty program, have stayed at other Intercontinental hotels, but none have compared to this one. The doorman greeted us and we entered the superb lobby. The staff are welcoming and very polite, Vincent was brilliant and recognized my status and an upgrade to an Executive suite was given.
Ricardo effortlessly moved all our bags and belongings from our car to suite, and was extremely courteous and helpful with questions I had about Geneva, organizing us a map and two free public transport passes, Superb. The concierge desk was wonderful and assisted with a tour of the city and lake. The staff are attentive and warm.

Do not be put off by the outside appearance of the building as driving up it looks like an eastern block 60,s Russian embassy, this was the style when this Hotel was built. Though once you go through those grand front doors, you see the results of the very extensive and complete refurbishment this hotel had between 2005 and 2009. It's Grand, Stylish and Sheik.

It is obvious that there is excellent management here, the vibe was very good and a few staff mentioned in my discussions on how involved and hands on the General Manager is and spoke of him,
( Jurgen Baumhoff ) with admiration of his management. He to sent us a lovely welcome card and a box of chocolates, a very nice gesture indeed.

The room was beautiful with everything you could want, very good super comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, and the bathroom was one of the very best I've had the pleasure to wash in, a separate over head rain shower, pours the perfect temperature water, there's a separate hand shower and separate bath tub with complimentary bath salts, along with all the other wonderful high quality amenities. The housekeeping is seamless and came regularly and were excellent, and we never saw them, nor trolleys in the halls it's like there invisible, quite brilliant and again a sign of good management.

The Wood Restaurant and bar are lovely we had lunch out in the garden terrace which is beautifully set out and the service was simply excellent with Jean Pierre and Kevin both suburb hosts and passionate about their Hotel. They guided us through the menu and made some very good suggestions taking my partners vegetarianism into account.

We really enjoyed this property. The hotel is not located directly in the city Center but it is still easy to go anywhere as there is a bus station called the Intercontinental, in front of the hotel that brings you at the main station down near the lake or the airport in less than 10 minutes. The United Nations is just a few minutes walk and you have several more public transportation options there.

This year in June 2013 the Priority Rewards club gets a revamp, a new name and new benefits, with some better reward opportunities and will be called the IHG Rewards Club, so look out for those exciting changes. As an IHG Platinum Elite Ambassador, for ten years, I can Highly recommend this Hotel and the IHG free rewards program. I am truly looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We do appreciate receiving your detailed and positive feedback on the hotel and our Woods restaurant. It has been a real pleasure for all our team members to welcome you and your partner, and make you spend a very comfortable stay.

You may be rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to all concerned, especially to Vincent, Ricardo, Jean-Pierre and Kevin.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 790 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

They keep a record of your special request/needs in previous trip. This is excellent system to make you feel that you are welcome again to the hotel !
For example, I am allergic to have down pillows (pillows with filled with birds fearthers) in ythe room and when I did arrive this was recorded and the room was well prepared in advance.

Room Tip: Ask room window with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ennio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons, especially to our Housekeeping team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was initially disappointed with the location as it is not in town. However, the hotel give you a bus pass - buses arrive frequently and its a 10 minute ride to Palexpo/airport in one direction and city centre in other. This actually makes it quite a good choice for events at Palexpo. Close to UN too. If I had business in the city I would stay elsewhere.
Bathroom very small and awkward.
Breakfast buffet good but you have to order eggs and butter which are slow to arrive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 705Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are pleased to hear that, despite our location, you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Furthermore, we have taken good note of your comments regarding the bathroom as well as the service at Woods. You may rest assured that this information will be forwarded to our F&B Director and his team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hotel is perfect if you're attending a conference at Palexpo or need to be near the airport, just a few stops on the bus which comes every 10 minutes, so you can take it easy in the morning and enjoy the beautiful breakfast. At the end of the day you can pop in and freshen up and take the bus in the other direction to the centre of town. You receive a free public transport ticket for the duration of your stay.
The staff are very friendly and extremely obliging, going out of their way to help. The lobby and rooms are very stylish, you can open the windows in the room which is a huge bonus if you've been cooped up all day in a conference.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilo160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

It’s a real pleasure to hear that your stay was as pleasant and comfortable as expected. Such good comments are very important for us and you may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all team members concerned.

Should your plans bring you back to Geneva soon, for business or leisure, we will be more than delighted to welcome you to the hotel again.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are rather small for the price when compared to other hotels. The hotel is located half way between the airport and town centre which can easily be reached by a short bus trip but it is another inconvenience that you may want to avoid if possible.

Service wise the hotel is great at as the staff are all very helpful and there are plenty of them around. They also go out of their way to help you.

There is a nice supermarket just behind the hotel which is great to buy something to nibble.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that, despite the fact you found our rooms a little bit small, you spent a pleasant stay with us. You may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The common area, especially the reception is very grand and impressive. This impression does not last long. The staff at check in and concierge desk are quite poor. I was given a smoking room when I asked for non-smoking on check-in. I was told I would get non-smoking but on entering the room it was obvious someone previously had been smoking in it. This itself was not as much of an issue for me but when I called reception to inform them, their reaction was not to apologise but to send another member of staff to verify what I had just told them! Once my observation was verified, I was allocated another room promptly, but there was not apology or admission of mistake on behalf of the check-in staff. The lifts, corridor and room decor is quite tacky as one would expect in a premierinn or travelodge. All of this experience would be OK if this wasn't meant to be a 5 star hotel where one pays for and expects better service. The breakfast was also quite poor but in contrast, the prices in the restaurant are exorbitant! I'm certainly not returning and neither are my 2 colleagues who were similarly disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the hotel services did not meet your expectations.

Please kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant situation you encountered with our Front Office team upon arrival. This is certainly not the quality of service our guests are entitled to and you may rest assured that proper reminders have been made to the Front Desk members so that such an inappropriate behaviour does not reoccur in the future.

Furthermore, we have also taken good note of your remarks concerning the breakfast and prices at Woods as well as the fact that you did not like the hotel décor.

Once again, we really regret that you did not have a memorable visit and do hope you will nevertheless give us another chance to welcome you to the hotel, allowing us to show you our real vision of Swiss hospitality.

Looking forward to that pleasure, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a week of throwing ourselves off mountains on two sticks in zero visibility..... our junior sweet on the 12th floor facing the lake and city of Geneva was just the treat we deserved. Although we were only here for one night before we flew home, we thought we'd use our hotel points to sleep like babies - as it's in a very quiet area, eat our long late breakfast in bed and roll about in the cosy the bath tub. The internet is great too.

The service here is excellent and if you do wish to save a few pennies you may wish to know that the American breakfast is fit enough for two people - just order extra proper coffee, toast and cutlery. Also the number 5 bus from the airport brings you straight here - literally in about 8 minutes - it's called the Intercontinental bus stop - right outside the hotel and the number 5 takes you into town in various places that you can walk to wherever from. Super easy and free (with your free travel card your hotel should provide).

Room Tip: Ask to face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are glad to hear that you and your partner spent a pleasant and comfortable night at the hotel on your way back to home. Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. It goes without saying that they have been forwarded to all the team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Genève in a not too distant future, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,006 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 106 in Geneva
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Hotel de la Paix, Geneva
1.3 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $308 - $1,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing