We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very modest Intercontinental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #12 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very modest Intercontinental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Was there for three days. What can I say - this is intercontinental so the quality of service is good, but I would say that breakfast choice could be better. For some reason we had Dim Sum for breakfast. Other than that - you get what you are paying for. However there are cheaper and more centrally located hotels in Geneva.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. Your comments are most important for us and have been of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

We have also taken good note of your remarks concerning the breakfast.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    216
    86
    28
    17
See reviews for
83
120
52
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in the intercontinental in Geneva for only one night, for a conference held in the same hotel. The hotel is very nice looking, with excellent facilities, yet it is way overpriced. I understand Switzerland is more expensive then the rest of Europe, but this hotel was expensive for Switzerland... Not only the rooms, but also the beers in the bar, the dinner in the restaurant,... Comparing to other hotels of the same class, it was not more "special", but rather what you expected of such a hotel.

For the rest, it is quite excellent, nice and comfortable rooms, friendly staff,...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Genève. Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful and you may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed. The service is impeccable, everyone would go out of their way to help. The hotel is located conveniently few minutes away from the airport as well as the city center. They provide you with free bus ticket for you to use, and the bus stop is conveniently located across the street. The hotel well decorated from the lobby to the rooms, and i must say the morning breakfast buffet is excellent. I stayed on the 15th floor, which was quieter and had a great view, with one exception which is the bathroom, I found it kind of small, but that shouldn't stop you to stay at this hotel. As for the value, it's a bit steep, but then everything in Geneva is expensive. In summary, I truly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors, 15 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Like all InterContinental Hotels the service here is top notch and perhaps more so because you are in Geneva.

Besides the service what stands out is the beautiful setting of this hotel - both the exterior and interior are designed to make you relax. Located adjacent to the United Nations complex it's somewhat off the beaten path unless you have transportation.
The hotel also has an outdoor heated Olympic pool for the few days when the weather permits its usage.

The rooms on the other hand are a bit snug but manageable for the short-term visitor. Like most hotel rooms in Geneva it's decorated in a modern style and is very aesthetically pleasing. What's not so pleasing is the bathroom. While small and efficient, it lacks a few basics - like room to put ones things (i.e. shaving kit).

Overall, a great hotel if you have business at the U.N. and don;t mind paying the high price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

We have also taken good note of your remarks concerning the bathroom.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Don't take me wrong, I'm a Royal Ambassador of the IC chain an I've seen worse IHG hotels. IC Genève is an amazing stunning beautiful hotel with superb customer service. I didn't mind staying 10 minutes bus away from the city centre for all of this but realistically a hotel in the rive gauche area can be more handy for those visiting Genève. On top of that and even though I've stayed at a Lake Genève Suite, I couldn't really say that the value was excellent as to me there's seem to be a disconnect between the decoration of the communal areas and the rooms itself. This, the fact that they've forgotten to bring me the breakfast in the morning (on my first day) and because the price could be more reasonable (even though all the prices in Genève are prohibitive) it is the first time in giving a IC hotel a 4 stars - however I must say that the interior and the staff and just perfect.

Mr. Martins Macedo

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, which was up to your expectations. Good comments such as yours are most important for us and have been duly forwarded to all persons concerned.

However, please accept our apologies for the incident encountered with your breakfast on the first morning. This will not reoccur in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After having read some of reviews on here I was concerned I would be disappointed, however my worries were unfounded.

The hotel is located half way between the airport and the city centre, and has its own stop on the number 5 bus service, which runs between the airport and the centre. This combined with the tram located a 5 minute walk down the road at the Palais des Nations and Swiss transport infrastructure means that getting to and from anywhere is simple. The hotel also issues you with a free travel card so it costs you nothing either.

Admittedly in the surrounding area there is little to do, no restaurants or bars, the only thing close by is the UN. However in my opinion Geneva isn't exactly a hive of atmosphere so I dont think you really miss much except maybe a lake view, the quick public transport in my opinion negates the distance from the centre.

I was checked in very quickly by a professional reception staff. Being the platinum ambassador I was given the usual upgrade but then offered a upgrade to a junior suite for 90CHF per night, I was feeling flush so elected to do so. Room was very well sized, with a changing area, table and stools, office table, mini sofa and coffee table with 'proper' coffee machine. Bathroom was average sized but big enough, had a shower only but the shower head produced enough water to nearly drown me!

Bed was very comfortable with the usual sinking pillows and had a very good nights sleep. My room had electric blinds fitted so virtually no light got in the room, allowing for as much sleep as possible. The blinds are controlled by switches next to your bed so you could be very lazy! Rooms were clean, modern with and well appointed furniture, everything you expect in a Intercontinental.

My room was on the 15th floor and on the corner so I had 4 windows and a excellent view of Geneva, but sadly no view of the lake...maybe next time! I must admit I never used any more of the hotels facilities as I had other engagements on. The hotel provides free wifi, which is nice for a change at Intercontinental. Staff were professional, exceedingly discret and very helpful, I didn't see any staff outside of the main reception but everything was done and was up to date almost by stealth.

Overall I throughly enjoyed my stay, I would highly recommend staying here when in Geneva, Its location is reasonably placed in my opinion and its staff are discreet, professional and helpful. I have a couple of criticisms. Whilst the Internet was free, the connection was a bit inconsistent and the speed went from very slow to fast, more times than not it was slow, but as it was free I didn't complain. Also my room card wasn't updated when i requested a 4pm check out, so after 12pm on the day of checkout my card stopped working and was locked out. Slightly annoyed having to go all the way down back to reception to get it changed, when other Intercontinental's in the past have done that for me.

However these two small complaints dont knock it down a rating. The hotel rate I thought was competitive for similar hotels in Geneva and the whole city is expensive ! Ive stayed at more expensive hotels where the service was no better, nor the rooms any better appointed. Highly recommended hotel when in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaping_Deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are most delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its services. Your very good and detailed comments are most important for us and were of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning the wifi speed and the room key which did not work after 12pm. This kind of inconvenience will be prevented in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel , we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently stayed at this Intercontinental for several days. I have stayed at other Intercontinental hotels, but none have compared. The staff was welcoming and kind. I forgot my phone charger, but was loaned one for my stay. Housekeeping came regularly and was extremely thorough. The staff was attentive and warm. I am truly looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

It is a real pleasure to hear that you spent an agreeable stay with us. Such good comments are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel N'vY
#10 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Property: Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing