We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #85 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is not fancy hotel, barely 3 star hotel. But compared with Hotel Auteuil we stayed in later, my husband and I would definitely go for Hotel Windsor. Windsor doesn't seem to locate in a nice area, meters away from redlight area, but it turned out it's just fine, not as bad as we thought. It's better not going out around midnight, that's for sure. The employees at the front desk are the way nicer than ones in Auteuil. Windsor is convenient and short to walking to the fountain of Lake Geneva, the old town or the shopping area.
The hotel room is the smallest one of 5 hotels we stayed in Switzerland, we were not quite happy with that, but after stay in Auteuil, we loved Windsor. We will stay in Windsor again next time in Geneva.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuaiZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 384 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Diannejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We only staid 1 night taking the train next day to paris. Remember to book your train tickets a few months ago or you will pay full price like we did and it was very expensive.The hotel is not far from central train station you need to walk down a few streets and then take a left one more street walk and after 5 min walk you will see it is in the red district but is ok is not that bad is safe location and you will have some fun on the way we were there saturday so were many drunk here and there. The room was small but confortable and clean. Bathroom was very nice and modern. Breakfast was fine they did had some espresso, eggs, honey, juice so overall we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel will be more quite than facing the main street but genera...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It seems that the Windsor hotel have just been renovated, at it is a very central located, nice hotel, good service at the front desk, small but nice rooms, small bathrooms - and close to the central station, busses, trams - and the beautiful Geneva lake or Lac Leman as the locals call it.
The hotel has a nice complimentary breakfast, and they have a little Gym.
But, be aware that the hotel is situated in the middle of the Red light district in Geneva, so if you are travelling with children or is a single traveller, you may consider an other choice away from this area.
Geneva is a rather expensive but nice city, beautiful situated by the lake and the surrounding mountains. If you have the time use the oppurtunity to go for a boat trip on the lake with one of the old steamers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I spent three nights in business trip in Hotel Windsor. It´s been renovated, it´s clean and staff is friendly enough. Getting in to bath room could be a problem for a very big person, doors are situated quite a funny way :) Basic breakfast. Geat location close to railway station and city centre. The district is probably the only one you will be little but harassed in Geneva, but it´s nothing compared to some parts in Southern Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nefer075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed one night at the Hotel Windsor to catch a flight from Geneva airport in the morning. The hotel is perfect for one night stay: clean, close to the train station (perfect for getting to the airport), free WIFI, good value for money, decent breakfast. The area is a little trashy trashy, but what can you expect for CHF 120 a night in Geneva. The rooms are clean, however very small and the ventilation was not very good. We had to sleep with the window open, and heard quite a lot of hustle and bustle from the bars below. It didn't really bother me that much, but for the light sleeper may be a little disruptive. The bathroom is very small, but again, clean and all you need for a short stay. One thing I found quite funny is the size of the elevator: lucky my friend and I are fairly slim and had very little luggage, because anyone trying to get in there with more than a Ryanair-proof luggage in that elevator is going to face a SERIOUS challenge. Overall I was quite happy with the place and would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can be quite noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melindalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Located in Red liight district (Rue de Berne) so it can be a bit noisy on Rue de Berne side. Bathroom very small - a large person might have real problem. That said breakfast is good, room is clean and reasonably equipped and it is good value for money in a city where that is getting hard to find. I have stayed on much worse.

Room Tip: choose rue de neuchatel side
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronfromglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#77 of 106 in Geneva
469 reviews
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#43 of 106 in Geneva
116 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#69 of 106 in Geneva
529 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Address: rue de Berne 31, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $160 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 64 rooms, contemporary style, fully air conditioned and renovated in 2010.Located in downtown, Geneva right bank, 300 m. from the railway station or bus station "Cornavin" and 500 m. from Lake Geneva, the Hôtel Windsor is a superior hotel. It offers quiet rooms overlooking a courtyard, 8 superior rooms as well as communicating rooms for 3 people.Property ideal for business travelers or convention, which will find them with a complimentary meeting room, a fitness room and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing