We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #90 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The place does look like a 1970s film-set, but it is very clean, with friendly and efficient staff. The breakfast is decent and the location is very good. For a 1-2 night stay in which you will only be at the hotel for short periods of time, it is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerikmalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 291 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

The rooms are small but clean, well equipped and totally adequate. The location outstanding, just 3 block from Cornavin which is the central rail station. Staff are friendly and I heard then speaking fluently in English, German and Italian as well as French. The breakfast is excellent value. They were very helpful about looking after my luggage when I checked out for one night.

Room Tip: I do not know if any of the rooms have baths. Both I stayed in had showers. If you need a bath, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Geneva the second day. Very comfortable hotel. Right beside the centrale, and it is very near to train station. Macdonalds is right beside. Lake geneva is 5 mins walk down. Beautiful place with great hotel right in the heart of city. Good service, and very polite customer services.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Its located close to train station . The lake is nearby. Staff was friendly. They gave us a map and happily gave guidance about what and how to visit. Rooms are comfortable. Its a good choice for those on a budget. Finally, breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank TJH495
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The bill is to high for the confort of this hotel.
Wall are to thin and listening to rooms close to me is not the best way to sleep well.
breakfeast and service kindess is very good but the hotel is too old... not modern :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Moderne for one night this week, before I had a flight home. It was pretty easy to find, and my room was ready when I got there. I had a single en suite room on the 6th floor, facing an inner square or courtyard. The elevator was so small, I could barely turn around while wearing my backpack, and the lift was ancient. My room was at the end of a long, narrow hallway which was pitch black even in the middle of the day, but had motion sensor lights. I noticed water closets and shower rooms in the hallway. I didn't know if was partially a hostel.

My room had a small bathroom with shower, sink, and toilet, and a single twin bed, desk, and TV. The room had laminate wood floors and must have been recently painted, because the room reeked of paint. So bad, that I had to keep the windows open to air it out. The room was clean but spartan and depressing. I borrowed a hair dryer that night from reception, and after 5 minutes of use, the power went out on my floor!! I was left in pitch black, and had to make my way down to reception to get help. Luckily I had my cell phone to provide some light, but it was pretty scary as a solo female traveler to be stuck in the darkness. It took 20 min for someone to come fix the power, and it was fine after that.

At the stroke of a 8am the next morning, construction began in the inner square/courtyard. This involved jackhammers and lots of noise and yelling. I realize the hotel has no control over this, but it would have been nice to know at check in so I could negotiate a room away from the construction.

Breakfast was a grim affair, and I ate and checked out as quickly as possible. You definitely get what you paid for, and I wanted something affordable, but not a place as depressing as this.

Room Tip: Ask if construction is still going on behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#78 of 106 in Geneva
182 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#62 of 106 in Geneva
174 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#46 of 106 in Geneva
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#79 of 106 in Geneva
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Address: rue de Berne 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $103 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build in the mid-fifties, Hotel Moderne is enjoying a great location in the heart of City, at only walking distance from the Geneva's Cornavin Train Station and the Lake. Hotel Moderne is offering to its Guest conveninet non-smoking rooms, all fitted with Free WIFI Internet. Rooms available range from Single to Quadruple (for up to 4 persons, perfect for families with children or small groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing