We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off! A three star hotel which is really a hostel”
Review of Drake Longchamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drake Longchamp
Ranked #66 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place was a disappointment to say the least. The place was run down except for the bar and dining room (which they feature heavily to promote the place) The room was clean but has not been touched for more than a decade. Stained walls and paint peeling of the ceiling in the corners and that would be okay if they charged half the price. If you're expecting a nice 3 star hotel... don't go there.

Two other things that might be of help. There is no parking. They direct you to a carpark that is 10 minutes away and you need to go 2 stops on the tram to get back to the hotel. We found a carpark just around the corner that costs 3 francs an hour. It's a public carpark under the 5 star President Wilson hotel.
Lastly, there is no view to any lake, so don't believe the photos on the website.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StackJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Drake Longchamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed her on the recommendation of my course of study for a week. There was no air con, the fan was not working (it was a humid summer), the bed was broken - missing a wheel so I spent night one sleeping on a slope (thankfully they gave me a new room). In both rooms, the bathroom was small and there was nowhere to put things. A few fellow guests had no hot water at all. They were moved to other rooms, but we most of us had a pretty rotten first night with various problems (there were 14 of us). Breakfast was pretty ordinary and crowded. A friend of mine stayed at a convent and was much happier. She paid a quarter of what I paid. Bear in mind, absolutely no cancellations once you have checked in and discovered this hotel is not what the pictures represent. It is barely a 'business' hotel. First floor, street facing room was a nightmare. You need the window open in summer for air, but if people are out the front you can't help but be disturbed. The noise really carries up. Also, there were roadworks in the morning right outside my window. When I was moved due to the broken bed, my courtyard room was much better in terms of noise levels.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room on the street side first floor. You need the window open for air and people t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Finding a hotel in Geneva during one of the largest convention weeks of the year, the annual watch convention was nearly impossible. Just a search of trip advisor yielded 104 hotels in Geneva with only 4 having availability (this being the only one in the city center). I stumbled upon this hotel which was a) close to city center and not far from the train station b) about 2 blocks from Lake Geneva c) relatively affordable in one of the worlds most expensive cities.

The front desk was incredibly friendly and a decent breakfast was included as well. The room was very basic and most importantly was clean and quiet. The room had an attached kitchenette which would probably be ideal for a longer stay with a family. Now, I would warn that the room is no frills, but for the 150 Euro or so that I paid, in a city where it is very difficult to find anything under 250 Euro, you can not expect luxury.

One compliant was the heat. It was January and very cold outside, but the room was a little toasty. I turned the radiator to the off position but it did not help much. I had to crack a window to cool the room down a bit. This may be an isolated issue though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSL_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Caught in flight cancellation chaos we were delighted to find a room at the Drake Longchamp for a couple of nights. A pleasant hotel, near the lake and reasonably handy for trams and railway station. Helpful staff. Room a bit tired. Excellent value versus sleeping at the airport but expensive at rack rate (Hobson's choice at 2 a.m) for quality on offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macbrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Looking for an hotel room rather late, the Drake hotel appeared to be a good deal with a perfect location (walking distance between rail station and the place I had to visit). Reading past comments, my expectations were low. But after staying for a few nights, I found it a very good deal, especially thanks to a quiet room and good bed, very good services, and decent breakfast. The hotel and room amenities are a little old, and one has to pay cards to access the internet from the room, but apart from that; all worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henxiguai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed around 10 days at Geneva and stayed in 3 hotel. It may not be the best hotel with all the facilities but cover every required (including kitchen, bathtub, included breakfast etc) things perfectly. I preferred this hotel than other two (one was much costlier also) and requested them to extend my stay. Their wi-fi had high charge but they said that they are going to make free from 1st January, 2013 onwards,

By one sentence, this would be a great choice, if you are looking for an affordable accommodation with decent breakfast and kicthennet facility.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to the elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welcome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located - location being perhaps the only USP of the property. The reception, lobby, lift and rooms are not in the best of state - also feels rather cramped. However, if you are looking for an affordable accommodation with decent breakfast for a short stay - this hotel could be a good choice in an otherwise expensive city. The staff was also courteous and helpful. Overall a 'value for money' property!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MeghaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
0.0 mi away
Drake Longchamp Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eden Hotel Geneva
Eden Hotel Geneva
#12 of 106 in Geneva
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Nations
Hotel Les Nations
#54 of 106 in Geneva
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
0.1 mi away
Design Hotel F6
Design Hotel F6
#51 of 106 in Geneva
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Longchamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Longchamp

Address: rue Butini 7, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $139 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Longchamp 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the lake, international organisations and the United Nations, offers you modern and comfortable rooms, in the heart of Geneva. Our location is near the railway station and has been created to satisfy the needs and expectations of today’s travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drake Longchamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Longchamp Hotel Geneva
Drake Longchamp Geneva
Hotel Drake Longchamp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing