We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a storm”
Review of Drake Longchamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drake Longchamp
Ranked #70 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Caught in flight cancellation chaos we were delighted to find a room at the Drake Longchamp for a couple of nights. A pleasant hotel, near the lake and reasonably handy for trams and railway station. Helpful staff. Room a bit tired. Excellent value versus sleeping at the airport but expensive at rack rate (Hobson's choice at 2 a.m) for quality on offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macbrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 350 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Looking for an hotel room rather late, the Drake hotel appeared to be a good deal with a perfect location (walking distance between rail station and the place I had to visit). Reading past comments, my expectations were low. But after staying for a few nights, I found it a very good deal, especially thanks to a quiet room and good bed, very good services, and decent breakfast. The hotel and room amenities are a little old, and one has to pay cards to access the internet from the room, but apart from that; all worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henxiguai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed around 10 days at Geneva and stayed in 3 hotel. It may not be the best hotel with all the facilities but cover every required (including kitchen, bathtub, included breakfast etc) things perfectly. I preferred this hotel than other two (one was much costlier also) and requested them to extend my stay. Their wi-fi had high charge but they said that they are going to make free from 1st January, 2013 onwards,

By one sentence, this would be a great choice, if you are looking for an affordable accommodation with decent breakfast and kicthennet facility.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welcome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located - location being perhaps the only USP of the property. The reception, lobby, lift and rooms are not in the best of state - also feels rather cramped. However, if you are looking for an affordable accommodation with decent breakfast for a short stay - this hotel could be a good choice in an otherwise expensive city. The staff was also courteous and helpful. Overall a 'value for money' property!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MeghaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not far off from Geneva Central station. Lots of good eateries of different world cuisines around. The hotel rooms need refurbishing and so do the corridors. Its ok for a 1/2 night stay but you might want to choose another place if you are staying longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had quite a long stay in Drake for business. Rooms are decent with a place to cook, great for saving money in ultra-expensive Geneva. Walls are very thin though. Breakfast is ok, though after some time you'll swear off eating croissants. There are surprises sometimes like the miraculous day they served sausages and eggs ( why can't it be everyday?). Staff are efficient and helpful, though not very warm (is it a Swiss thing?). Loved that it was a short walk to the park, the lakeside and the tram station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mithrandir2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Drake Longchamp is a comfortable, nicely situated, reasonably priced hotel in a very expensive city. The room decor may be a bit dated, if a cutting edge aesthetic is one's sole criterian in this matter, but it was hardly the fashion disaster other reviews would lead one to believe. The lobby/corridor and breakfast room recently have been renovated, which would lead one to think that a general floor-by-floor renovation might be forthcoming. Everything was clean (the housekeeping staff was extremely conscientious) and the beds quite comfortable. One reviewer mentioned the "silly" pillows, and indeed they were, hardly more than an inch think. We asked for two more for each of us, and four nicely proportioned pillows were delivered. A real plus, we were given a Geneva Transport Card upon check-in that gave us free passage on all forms of transportation during our stay. Given that the hotel is just a block from the Butini tram stop on Rue Lausanne, we had unlimited access to convenient transport to any destination we wanted. Or, we could walk just a hundred yards or so to the Quais for a leisurely stoll long the lake down to Pont du Mont-Blanc. Speaking of the area, I would be remiss not mentioning a delightful surprise we encountered one rainy day on our way back from the Palais des Nations. Boulangerie Butinoise at 18 Rue Butini, is not just a splendid bakery, it's a little restaurant with about 8 or 9 tables where one can get a really delicious meal at almost unbelievable prices in this expensive city. It stays open until 7:30 in the evening so getting one's evening meal there is also a possibility. All in all, the Drake Longchamp is a hotel well worth considering for anyone looking for a nice three star hotel in Geneva.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#69 of 106 in Geneva
536 reviews
Eden Hotel Geneva
#12 of 106 in Geneva
456 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#54 of 106 in Geneva
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#31 of 106 in Geneva
460 reviews
Geneve Cottage
#2 of 2 in Versoix
68 reviews
Hotel Les Nations
#56 of 106 in Geneva
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Longchamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Longchamp

Address: rue Butini 7, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $127 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Longchamp 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the lake, international organisations and the United Nations, offers you modern and comfortable rooms, in the heart of Geneva. Our location is near the railway station and has been created to satisfy the needs and expectations of today’s travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drake Longchamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Longchamp Hotel Geneva
Drake Longchamp Geneva
Hotel Drake Longchamp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing