We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Swiss ok, expensive but nothing special” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Hotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Hotel Geneva
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Typical Swiss ok, expensive but nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm Swiss, however what Hotel do here, they should not complain about bad business. They still do not understand what customers want and expect to get!
Room was clean, however small, looking to the busy road, no lake view, just into trees.
Bathroom very small, no soap to wash your hands.
Breakfast room tiny too, nothing extraordinary all the for CHF 260.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment.
I would like to apologise for the missing bathroom amenities; this is of course not our standard of service. After reading your comment, I discussed this issue with our housekeeping staff.
As a city hotel, we have standard single rooms of a size in line with our hotel category. If you would prefer something larger next time, I recommend that you reserve one of our quiet eastside double rooms for single use.
Our rates vary depending on occupancy. June is a very busy month in Geneva and we believe, compared to our competitors that our rates are at a very reasonable level It is true that we are located close to the lake but because of the beautiful trees in the park located between us and the lake, our rooms do not have a lake view. We certainly do not claim to offer such a view, so I hope that you did not feel that you were misled.
The size of our breakfast room corresponds to the number of rooms and the style of our hotel. If it was exceptionally crowded at a particular moment and this made you uncomfortable please accept my apologies.
Reviews such as yours do not make us happy, but nevertheless help us to improve our service.
Sincerely yours

Léo Stadelmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    149
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
49
20
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I occasionally travel to Geneva to do some work with UNCTAD at the Palais des Nations (PN). There are many hotels in Geneva, but almost all of them are downtown and a fair distance from PN. Two that are close enough to the PN to walk are the Mon Repos and the Hotel Eden, which are next door to one another. They are on the UNCTAD list for recommended hotels and do give a government rate.

I've stayed at both hotels, and find both of them quite comfortable. They are both small, boutique hotels that cater to people like me who are working at the PN or other UN agencies for short periods of time (few days to a few weeks).

I have a slight preference for the Hotel Eden though for a couple of reasons.

Both serve breakfast, which is included in the hotel rate, but the Hotel Eden has the advantage of having a restaurant that serves dinner most nights of the week also. I've had dinner there a few times and found the food to be excellent and quite reasonable (restaurants in Geneva are typically very expensive).

The staff at the Hotel Eden have been very friendly and accommodating. For example, I had let the hotel know by email before I left the USA that my flight was arriving in Geneva around 8 am. The hotel had a room ready for me when I arrived so that I could shower and take a break before walking over to the PN to get signed in. Another example is that my flight back to the USA left very early in the morning and the hotel prepared a packaged breakfast for me to take to the airport since I would miss breakfast in the hotel. A third example is that they recognized me and welcomed me by name each time I came back to the hotel. The restaurant staff have also been very nice and friendly also.

Free wifi throughout the hotel (and the wifi worked well in my hotel room too) has been a real plus.

The hotel is next door to the Botanical Gardens and you can actually walk through the gardens on your way to the PN. The hotel is also very close to Lake Geneva and you can walk to the lake front and along that path to get into the downtown if you want a nice stroll. The hotel also gives you a free bus pass for traveling within the city, which is a nice perk.

So I'm making the Hotel Eden my "hotel of choice" for trips to Geneva. Highly recommended. If they are full, I'd also be very comfortable booking next door at Mon Repos.

A couple of pieces of advice:

Coming in from the airport do remember to pick up the free train ticket before you leave the customs/immigration area. Then check which train track goes to downtown and take that train. You can then take a #1 bus out to the Hotel Eden, getting off at the MINES stop (which is right across the street from the hotel).

If you go back very early in the morning (as I do for flights back to the US) do get a cab. The hotel will order one for you.

In terms of restaurants within easy walking distance of the Hotel Eden, I've tried the Lebanese one that is just up the street (past the Mon Repos). it's very good but expensive. The whole fish dish is amazingly good. There is a pizza restaurant further up the street again (heading into town and on the other side of the street from the Lebanese one) is a family restaurant with a wood fired oven that makes good Italian pizza. I've also eaten at the Korean restaurant, which is a bit past the pizza one, and next to a church that is in the shape of a globe.

Hope this helps for your trip to Geneva!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor because the front street can be quite noisy with cars passing. I like the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AggieProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your very detailed review and comments about your stay at the Hotel Eden. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have forwarded your compliments to my team. We hope to welcome you again on your future stay in Geneva
Sincerely yours
Léo Stadelmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Nice breakfast (with Easter eggs!), friendly staff and most important two connecting rooms with an external joint door, creating a small space between the two rooms which can be used to put bags, shoes toys etc

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEcho5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Room is small, bathroom with space only for tub and basin. Furnitures are enough, maybe, only for one person, but for 2 persons isn't enough. Considering the hotels' high prices in Geneve, in any case, this hotel is better to forget

Room Tip: To choose the most expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LORISm1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
The size of the room you were given corresponds to our hotel category and its layout is very popular with our customers. However, you were accompanied by your child and we do have rooms which better fit the needs of parents travelling with children. We also encourage parents to mention the presence of children at the time of booking, which allows us to take this into account when assigning the room.
Although all our staff speak several languages, those present on the day of your arrival were not familiar with your language and could not communicate with you. We apologize for this shortcoming. We believe that the price we charged you for the night was very moderate and quite in line with hotels of similar standard in the city.
For the team at the Hotel Eden, satisfaction and well-being of our customers is our first priority. Sometimes we have to admit that we fail to reach our goals. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you visit Geneva.

Sincerely yours

Léo Stadelmann General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, a nice hotel with good food and reasonable rates ( for Geneva). It would seem that the lower room rate reflects the extra distance from downtown -about a 25 minute walk from the train station. On the other hand it is closer to some of the UN buildings . As for transportation an easy bus ride from the airport and there are a couple of bus routes that run straight from the hotel to the train station. Plus hotel provides free transport card for use of Geneva's very good public transport system.

Now for the property itself. Bathroom was spotless if small, room was nicely laid out and adequately sized . Staff were friendly and helpful. An older property that has had upgrades over the years but nothing looks tired rather one that was aged very well. The breakfast was good with fruit, pastries mcheeses and meats - nice croissants by the way. Had supper here and was surprised by how very good it was ( I had the beef ,my wife the lamb) . Nicely done indeed.

One point of note - restaurant is open for supper only Mon to Fri (breakfast is 7 days a week) and a limited number of restaurants in say 10 minute walking distance.

So a very nice property and staff were friendly -- recommended if location works for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Eden. We are very pleased to know that your stay left you with many good memories!
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Léo Stadelmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I went to Geneva for a conference at Palexpo. The location was very convenient since the number 28 bus which goes to palexpo is 2 mins walk from the hotel. It's also across the road from the lake which was great for a run or walk in the evening. Breakfast was a lovely continental breakfast, all good quality and the staff were lovely. There's a little shop close by that sells large bottles of water for CF2 but there are not many cafes or restaurants closeby so you really have to get the number 1 or 25 into town which only takes a few minutes and i felt safe coming back at night. Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogaloga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, which I have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Léo Stadelmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I like others, was truly surprised that one could rent these tiny dorm-like rooms. The bathroom was also very tiny and uncomfortable. I did not feel comfortable in the room whatsoever, however, the lobby area was very cold so I was forced to stay in my room. The bed was tiny and VERY hard.

The breakfast is decent and the front desk staff is nice, but did not handle a noise disturbance next door to me (the next day I received a fruit basket after I complained).

Overall I would not stay here again as I have seen other better-quality with normal size rooms hotels that actually charged a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americanincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoStadelmann, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the review.
We would like to mention that we have different types of rooms and we offered you a single room with a single bed (100x200cm) as this was our last available room. This kind of room is not unusual in European city hotels. We would like to apologize that we did not recognise your need and offer you a better solution. I am also sorry that we were unable to localise the noise issue, and I have discussed this with my staff. We believe that our pricing, bearing in mind that breakfast is included in our rates, is in line with our competitors.
I truly hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you do stay with us again, I suggest that when booking you ask for a room with a queen bed.
Sincerely yours
Léo Stadelmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Geneva

Property: Eden Hotel Geneva
Address: rue de Lausanne 135, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Hotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing one of Geneva's most beautiful parks, the Hotel is situated a few steps from Lake Geneva, close to the city centre, the botanical garden and all the international organizations. With its cozy atmosphere, friendly staff and ideal location, it is definitely the destination for business as well as leisure trips. Every room is soundproofed, air-conditioned and equipped with the latest technology. Free WiFi and Free Buffet-Breakfast. The decoration is elegant and subtle, in harmony with the quiet atmosphere and intimate character of the hotel. Rooms with communicating doors are available on request for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Eden Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Eden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing