We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great location and service”
Review of Eden Hotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Hotel Geneva
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, the rooms are big and has 3 balcony, 2 clean bathrooma, 2 TV ( one in the bedroom and one close the computer desk inside the room). The hotel include in the price one transportation pass for each guest, the bus station is one block from the hotel, the train station 5 minutes by bus or 15 walking. The concierge is very kind and give to you the best and cheaper reccomendations for make tourims in the country. We went to Gruyere, Montreux and visit the best places in Geneva. Very nice hotel....

Room Tip: We were 2 persons and selected a suite only for 33 swiss franc per night ( extra), with transportat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kila09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 461 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Recently renovated, Eden Hotel is not necessarily glamorous, but it offers a very pleasant and friendly atmosphere with well appointed and very clean rooms, comfortable sleeping, with everything in place to give a sense of home. Most of the rooms have a balcony with table and chairs, overlooking the part along Lake Geneva.
The cost of a room is very affordable by Geneva standards, and it includes the breakfast, which is fairly simple, with enough variety to satisfy a wide range of tastes and expectations.
The restaurant on site is a good alternative to dinning elsewhere. The menu covers a good range of dishes, and the quality is superior and reliable.
The staff is very friendly and of great help, both in the restaurant and in the hotel, and they treat their guests with great care and attention. They know well to create the balance between being helpful, but not being in your face.
While located about 15 minutes walk from the Cornavin train station, in an area surrounded by commercial and UN buildings, its proximity to Geneva Lake and the Park offer the opportunity of great walks; other than after dark, one could very easily get to the busier areas of the city, taking a very pleasant and refreshing walks, at the same time.
Complementary to walking, the hotels is well linked to the center of the city, by public transit. As part of the stay, I received a transit pass, which gave me unlimited access to the Geneva Transit System. But this is a great city to walk in!
The only drawback is the proximity of the Rue de Lausanne, which is very busy. However, as long as one keeps the balcony door closed, this is not an issue, at all.
The heated floors and the towel warmers in the bathroom are definitely a nice touch for a cold day.
This was my third stay, and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: ask for a non smoking room, if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radhika2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

this is the second time at this hotel and would go back. we enjoy walking but for those not so keen it is a bit out the way of main drag. nice staff and lovely main entrance and breakfast room. rooms are small but comfortable, and in a very expensive city reasonable value for money. my only complaint is no toast for breakfast, come on eden get a toaster.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony facing park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

OK so Geneva is ridiculously expensive and there is no way you'd pay € 160 for a room with a single bed in a 3 star hotel in most other cities. Unfortunately in cities like this there is no incentive for hotels to lift their game - they are always full as there is so little supply and the rest is overpriced too. But the Eden serves a sophisticated market of international travelers, many of whom are UN employees - given that the UN is so close - and the time is ripe to renovate this place. The rooms are small, decor tired and depressing, and the bathroom feels like a toilet that's had a shower and basin crammed in the corner. The lift was also broken this week, so everyone had to use the stairs (modern lifts can usually be fixed quickly but it clearly takes much longer to get parts for this pre-historic one). Breakfast is good and the staff are friendly, but this doesn't make up for the rest. And you have to pay extra for wi-fi, a sure way of irritating many people before they've even seen their room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robpatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstch, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay.
You are quite right: the lift needed renovation. This is in fact exactly what we were doing: completely renovating and modernising the lift. Unfortunately, this meant that only a service lift was available during your stay, and we sincerely apologise for this inconvenience. We are pleased to inform you that the lift will be back in service in a few days, up to date with all the latest comfort and safety.
Our pricing is in line with similar hotels in Geneva and we feel that we offer good value, despite the very high Swiss franc. We think our wifi rate of CHF 10.- per stay (whether one night or one month) is also reasonable. Decor is largely a matter of taste; the style of our hotel is shown clearly on our website, and I hope you did not feel misled by our presentation. But in any case, it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that we are truly sorry.
Yours sincerely,
The Eden Team
Léo Stadelmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stay in this hotel about 3 times a year for a week each time. It is an excellent and clean hotel to stay at for meetings in Geneva, and is walking distance to the WTO and UN. While it is a 3-star European hotel (i.e. don’t expect large rooms or necessarily a double bed if you are a single guest), there are special rates for meeting attendees that can include breakfast which represents excellent value for Geneva. I find the staff courteous and responsive. The breakfast and restaurant is also good value, and there is a cheap Chinese restaurant around the corner. Unfortunately it does not have fitness facilities, however, there is an extensive lake side park over the road and it’s near the botanical gardens. Great little hotel!
In terms of getting to this hotel from the airport, and avoiding the terribly expensive taxis in Geneva, grab a free bus ticket at the dispenser in the luggage claim area before exiting through the green channel, and go up to the checkin floor of the airport. Exit through Entrance 1, and you will see some bus stands not far away. Look for the platform for Bus 28 travelling in the direction of Jardin Botanique, get on that bus and stay on it until it reaches its terminus at Jardin Botanique/WTO. Its then just 2 mins walk towards the town centre on Rue de Lausanne.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room on the higher floors facing Rue de Lausanne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GedandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Geneva is a formidably expensive city so this 3 star hotel would seem over-priced anywhere else. But by local standards it is reasonable value. The hotel is clean, well run, and conveniently about 3 tram stops north of the main railway station with both tram and bus stops close by. Anyone staing at a hotel in Geneva gets a free pass for local transport (which includes to the airport) so this is very useful. The hotel is walking distance from the botanical garden and the lake. Being on the main road, rooms can be noisy but windows shut and the rooms are air-conditioned. The breakfast buffet is reasonable, and tea and coffee are available as complimentary in the lobby when the bar is not open. Wi-fi internet is available for €10 for the duration of your stay regardless of length.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

It’s not the first time I stayed in Eden hotel and even after staying in the place a few times I am still not sure about what to write. I have some mixed experiences. The location is ok but do not expect to be close to the old town (this is a 30 minutes walk) or to find many good restaurants. The rooms are small and somewhat ordinary. Nothing special. The reception staff is in general good but very depending on the individual. One of the women was excellent (helpful and with a big smile) while the next morning another woman was really unfriendly (and definitely not happy with her morning shift). Breakfast is fine. Internet did not work propably. We were quite shocked how expensive Geneva is. It's not really fun to go out for a meal of a drink.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstch, General Manager at Eden Hotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. I apologize for your unpleasant experience with one of our staff members. I have discussed the issue with our front desk staff to ensure that we provide efficient and friendly service at all times. We believe that the operation of our internet connection is generally very good, but from time to time the system can become saturated. Our internet provider is undertaking a major infrastructure upgrade and we expect to be able to provide an even better quality service in the coming months. I'm afraid that the unusually high value of the Swiss franc is making Switzerland very expensive for our guests, and unfortunately there is nothing we can do about this. We hope the situation will improve soon. Thank you again for your helpful comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel the next time you visit Geneva.
Yours sincerely,
The Eden Team
Léo Stadelmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 109 in Geneva
950 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 109 in Geneva
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 109 in Geneva
267 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Geneva

Address: rue de Lausanne 135, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $161 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Hotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing one of Geneva's most beautiful parks, the Hotel is situated a few steps from Lake Geneva, close to the city centre, the botanical garden and all the international organizations. With its cozy atmosphere, friendly staff and ideal location, it is definitely the destination for business as well as leisure trips. Every room is soundproofed, air-conditioned and equipped with the latest technology. Free WiFi and Free Buffet-Breakfast. The decoration is elegant and subtle, in harmony with the quiet atmosphere and intimate character of the hotel. Rooms with communicating doors are available on request for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Eden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing