We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Royal(Geneva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Warwick Geneva(Geneva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveler rating
455
501
86
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
501
86
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial styletrain stationnice hotelthe red light districtold townside streetsister hotelhotel is locatedthree starcity taxgood sizeminute walkconvenient locationquiet streetnice bathroomnon smoking roompublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2009

This hotel is a real find.

It is perfectly located to rail links and shopping. We arrived at the hotel within 15 minutes of leaving the airport.

It is true that the red light area is nearby. It may/may not be en route to shopping area or restaurants but it is avoidable if you choose with no extra added to your walk. At the same time, we walked through it several times, were not attacked or molested (pity!) and some not even noticed those entertaining the oldest profession on street corners until it was pointed out. It is NOT a problem.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is spotlessly clean & tastefully decorated. The room was a decent size with good storage space. English TV was a real bonus. No coffee facilities but hey Starbucks have 3 stores in Geneva so fill up a plenty! (also our breakfast venue so can't comment on hotel breakfast)
The bathroom was spacious but the heavy ornate shower heads are an accident waiting to happen and a bruised toe is proof yet to clear up! Bed was comfortable but anyone over 5'8 may have cold toes as the duvets are small.
Hotel generously provides free internet access and print facilities which proved valuable to research and plan a hasty search for Christmas market and Christmas atmosphere...because yes, Geneva was very underwhelming in this respect.
Lausanne therefore, was less than hour by train and worth the visit to see another side of Switzerland that was more than Watch shops and banks.

We were not blown away by Geneva but we have ticked the box on our list of places to visit. If we had cause to return we would look to book the Kipling again or recommend it to a close friend.
We would also recommend the http://www.restaurantlacustre.ch/ or http://www.globus.ch/ for good food and a very decent glass of wine or two.
We would not recommend restaurant nologo...overrated, charmless and heavy on the wallet.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The hotel was a very simple, 10 minute maximum, walk from Geneva's main railway station. Turn left as you leave the station's main front entrance, and Rue de la Navigation is the third or fourth turning right on the other side of the road. (It only took 1/4 hr or so to walk down to the lake and main shopping area.)

We'd been a bit concerned to read other reviews stating the hotel was in the red light area. I admit we returned to the hotel fairly early each night, by 9pm but we never encountered any unsavoury looking characters or felt we were being stared at.

We were greeted by very friendly, welcoming, cheerful and helpful staff when we checked in, who dealt with us very efficiently and gave us all manner of useful information on things to see, places to eat and vouchers for discounts in other associated hotels nearby, as the Hotel Kipling doesn't have its own restaurant, just an area for buffet breakfast.

We were in room 306 at the front of the hotel. With the windows shut virtually all noise was eliminated but we found the room too warm for us, so had the window slightly ajar, and there was sporadic car/pedestrian noise but nothing out of the ordinary for a city hotel and we both slept very well.

The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very well equiped, had a large bath and overhead shower which always had piping hot water, a hairdryer, and a good selection of toiletries.

The room was a fair size for a city hotel. The bed was large and very comfortable, pillows big and soft, but man made duvet.

There were no beverage facilities in the room but if you take a travel kettle etc there is a good sized 'Migross' supermarket halfway between the hotel and the station for everything you could need. There was a mini bar in the room.

The tv had BBC World and ITV1 in English.

Free unlimited internet access was available just off reception.

Breakfast was 18 Swiss Francs so we didn't try it, as we felt that was a bit steep. There were plenty of places to eat, not far from the hotel, and we could get croissants etc from Migross.

We were very grateful to the reviewer who suggested going to Montreux for it's Xmas market as this proved to be a super, large and atmospheric market, full of delicious food, gluvein and decoration/gift etcstalls (we were very underwelmed by Geneva's effort) we had a wonderful day there (one hour trip on the super efficient Swiss trains) and would heartily endorse the previous reviewers recommendation.

We would without hesitation go back to the Hotel Kipling if we visited Geneva again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Kipling the week before Christmas. The hotel itself was clean, comfortable and in a good location for experiencing the city. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed both our stay at the hotel and our time in Geneva. Next time we are in Geneva, this is definitely the hotel we will choose.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Go_Leafs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

excellent small (ish) hotel in the centre of town- 5 minutes walk from the main station (you can get a free train ticket to here from the airport- and then free public transport duirng your stay)- very comfortable and clean- rooms as per website- decorated and furnished in an old colonial style- nice bathroom. Staff were really friendly and helpful- excellent service throughout. Situated down a quiet side street off the main Rue de Lausanne. Try the Cafe de Paris nearby for great steak and chips- and the Mr Pickwick (english) pub for a beer and sport on TV.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

I had to ask myself whether those writing the glorious reviews of the Kipling tried to take a shower or hang their overcoats in the closet. These were two drawbacks to the Kipling, which was, overall, a disappointment.

I don't mind phone-receiver shower systems, but this one was oddly placed on the side of the bathtub, and I could never get the shower attachment to fit into the wall fixture. The towels are attractively but inconveniently folded onto a low shelf at the opposite side of the bathroom from the bath/shower. There are no towel racks,and no where near the shower to hang a towel. And no horizontal shelf or space in the bathroom to put a toilet kit or supplies.

The clothes closet (five immovable hangers) was not wide enough for an overcoat, two suits and a few shirts. I had to ask for extra hangers and hang things on the light fixtures (this was the solution recommended by the hotel staff!). The first room I had included an enclosed "kitchenette" (the use of which cost CHF 40/day!), which made the room so narrow I literally could not carry in a suitcase by my side. The front desk gave me a different room, which was somewhat better designed, but still close quarters.

Breakfast (CHF 18) was not included in the room rate, and it was, in my view, not a very appealing buffet, also in cramped space. Getting a coffee maker in the room costs an extra CHF 10 per day. This is the first time I've ever seen a charge like that for instant coffee or a tea bag!

But wireless internet is free and relatively dependable, and the desk is equipped with an impressive variety of outlets and ethernet ports.

The hotel is unquestionably charming. It is spotlessly clean, and the staff is friendly. The location is convenient to public transport, restaurants and several blocks from the seedy part of the red light district.

I have made 22 trips to Geneva over the past three years, and have yet to find a hotel that is a reliable top choice. Rates vary greatly depending on time of year, and the Kipling internet rate in December was not overpriced. But given the very high ratings given by other travelers, I had expectations that were not met. Like the others in Geneva, this boutique hotel has trade offs that may appeal to some guests more than they did to me.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews