We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A simple three star hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Comes as advertised, a clean functional travellers's hotel ideal for tourists and junior executives. No is dining available other than for breakfast. There is limited room service and there are plenty of cafés nearby.
While the hotel is well positioned other reviewers noted the area is somewhat seedy. While we did not have a problem, some may feel uncomfortable at night.
Rooms away from the street are best for those who are not early risers and rooms are confined. We had difficulty accessing part of the wardrobe.
Staff are friendly and look after travellers well.
We found our stay pleasant but would look further afield on future visits to Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    480
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
109
426
80
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I realise Geneva is expensive but this hotel did not live up to the reviews I read. Not a great location- red light district. Some sttaff not particularly friendly. Wakeup call for early flight was 15 min late.
Small rooms but better when went to 4 th floor with little balcony-- smoking floor but ok.breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707CJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff and a and comfortable stay. The room was a good size with also a good sized bathroom for the price. The breakfast was on the expensive side but we did have fresh fruit, pastries and there was a nespresso machine. There was a cooked breakfast for those who wanted it. We liked the oriental decor and everything was very clean

It was convenient for all of Geneva but as many others have commented, the surrounding area is not very nice. One needs to stick to the main roads. Once on the lake it is delightful.
The free transport pass was a great bonus and we used it a lot. We enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park which is very quiet. There are also rooms with a small kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vict4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is a 3 star hotel and has the amenities associated with the rating. It has every conceivable cable TV channel available! However, the neighborhood gets VERY IFFY within only a block....I was glad to have been with my husband, because if I had been on a business trip on my own, I would have been very uncomfortable walking around alone. The staff is knowledgeable about local eateries but are relatively clue free about dining in the Old Town or in the business district. Our room was spacious for Europe although the bathroom facilities were a bit strange. The toilet sat in a separate room with no sink (so to wash your hands was a trip across the room) and it was the only hotel during our stay in Switzerland and Italy (from 4 stars to simple Inns) that did not have a bidet....which was disappointing! The property is a bit tired as the wallpaper in our bathroom was peeling as was the paint on the bathroom wood trim, there was a cigarette burn hole in our carpet which was also pretty stained... There is parking outside for 30CHF or inside for 35CHF per nite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel and staff were excellent. It was very clean and comfortable.
The only downside to this hotel is the area it is in, it's very safe but not the nicest looking area. Other than that, couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Johannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend for only one night. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the main train station, but a good 20 minute walk from the main shopping area and the old town.
Its quite a nice walk along the lake though.

The area where the hotel is located is not great, i didnt feel unsafe, but there were guys selling drugs and prostitutes a few streets away. So maybe if you are a young family you might think of another hotel.

The hotel itself is really nice. With Indian inspired interiors and incense burning. Rooms are really nice, comfy bed and large bathroom with a bath.
Noise insulation could be better...we couldnt hear our neighbours but the maids made so much banging.
Another thing that could improve is the state of the corridors when the maids clean. They have trolleys, laundry and towels in the hallway, which means it is like an obstacle course to get to your room!! Also not good if there was a fire.

Breakfast was good. But i think the staff could be a little better. Everytime i wanted something i had to go and ask for it. They seemed to be a little lost doing their job....i mean its not like its a big breakfast room. It only seats 20 people!

Overall, a nice hotel but could with some small improvements. But no complaints about the room or cleanliness or service. All were very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything excellent as a typical urban 3 star hotel, with the room well equiped and much bigger than expected. Provides parking at pretty good price for downtown (30 CHF for overnight til next 16:00, in backyard).
The location, although very convenient for eating, shopping and commuting by train, but didn't know it's kind of nightspot and a area that african and indian immigrants gethers. My wife feels unsafty walking outside in eveningtime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenghua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
913 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
#9 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#10 Family Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. Located in the city-center, close to the train station and the lake. You can discover several category of rooms and our complimentary services (business center, wifi). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A bar, a meeting room and a parking lot are available on site and the restaurant Le Duo, 16/20 at Gault&Millau at the hotel Royal is very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing