We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, clean but...”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I choose that hotel after reading some good reviews on it.
Yes the location is great many restaurants around and walk distance to main train station.
the room is clean and design very nice. offer also free WiFi in the room.
Car park is available at price of 30CHF for a night
However, I personally disliked the fact that the room is very small, I was alone but I don't know how to adults can be in the room without step on each other.
I had also problem of water stream is the shower, and this was the big disappointment, who want to start complain on 22:00 on douche problem.
On top of this the douche head was very small, so after long day of work it's really shame not able to take proper shower and this destroy my experience of this hotel.
I saw on the back of the room door that normal rates are around 400CHF - this hotel doesn't worth that amount!!
I payed 180 euro, and for that amount it's ok - no more.
so I will rate this hotel as Ok but only if the price will be like that, not sure I will return to it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    472
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
107
421
78
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We really like this hotel. It is perfectly clean, reception staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The room is very comfortable and I think a very good size for European standards. Bathroom is large and very nice. Furnishings are right on. This hotel is about a 15 min. Drive from the airport and a 5 min. walk from the main train station. Upon checking in we received transport passes that worked for local buses and trains. An unexpected great value. There are many restaurants and shops nearby so I like the location, especially for proximity to the train station. We will be traveling by train to Paris, most convenient. Mini bar in the room is a plus, as we were very tired from our journey upon arrival. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would absolutely recommend to anyone that is not looking for 5 star. I believe Hotel Kipling was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me, my wife and 2 young kids (2 and 5 years) were due in Geneva for 4 days as part of our break in France / Switzerland over the new year holidays. We were concerned about finding affordable accommodation that was family friendly.
I am tremendously happy we chose the Kipling. We took a 3 person executive room for the 3 nights. For RM 900 a night, we received: 1 king size bed, 1 sofa bed for 2 persons, 1 cot, a huge well furnished room, a large flat screen TV, a kitchenette with microwave oven, and free tickets for all public transportation in Geneva for the full 4 days. Compared to other expensive cities such as London (where for the price I got a cupboard) and Singapore (where for the price I got 2 single beds in an old and tired 3 star off Orchard), this was a very good deal. It really dispels the notion that Geneva is not affordable.
We did not try the hotel breakfast, though we were informed that kids below 12 eat for free.
As for the location, yes, there is an element of prostitution. Its not anything like for e.g. Thailand however. You hardly notice any vice going on, though I would stay clear of the pedestrian portion of Rue de la Navigation at night as it is edgy / dodgy. Stick to the main streets and you will find a big selection of ethnic eateries and family friendly restaurants. Also, the tram stop is a mere 2 minute walk from Kipling where the No. 15 takes you the UN building / Jardin Botanique one way (getting off at the Nation stop) and the opposite way to the city centre / old town (getting off at the Rue Stand stop). Also, opposite the tram stop in Mole (where you get on / off for the Kipling) is a supermarket. Very helpful if you are travelling with kids!
Throughout our stay the staff were pleasant, friendly, helpful and full of patience in answering all my queries.
All in all, a wonderful hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: The cots are free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amirsalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel Kipling Manotel is a nice good located hotel in Geneva. Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was simple but good enough. Staff was friendly and we enjoyed our stay in this small hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

One of the Manotel hotels in Geneva. Very nice for a short stay in Geneva.
Good location, friendly staff and nice rooms.
Parking quite small, but it seems there is allways some free space.
Do not expect much for breakfast. Decent coffe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo_Pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel Kipling Manotel in Geneva, and it was a very good choice. We were to leave the next morning by a rented car to cross the Alps and end up in the Northern Italy lakes region.

We arrived in Geneva by train at around 6:30 PM and took the ten minute walk to the hotel. If you are unfamiliar with Geneva (as we were), you should ask a local for the direction to rue de Lauzanne (it's a main street) in order to take the correct exit from the train station. From rue de Lauzanne, turn right on rue de la Navigation, and it's about an extra thirty second walk to the Hotel.

We were warmly greeted by the reception, and properly briefed on breakfast, dinner, restaurants, etc, and were given tickets for the public transport and discounts to certain nearby restaurants. Then we were shown to the elevator to our room. The room was very clean and well furnished, and the beds were comfortable. Quite nice. The hotel has no restaurant (other than the "coffee shop" which is only used for breakfast, or drinks), but that's no problem because there are plenty of restaurant on rue de Lauzanne. The breakfast the next morning was quite adequate and the service was excellent. Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ren_N91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Travelled to Geneva with my family for 3 nights. Arrived late and went straight to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room was magnificent. The breakfast was minimum. The hotel is within walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSTCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
885 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
201 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#21 of 105 in Geneva
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
#10 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. Located in the city-center, close to the train station and the lake. You can discover several category of rooms and our complimentary services (business center, wifi). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A bar, a meeting room and a parking lot are available on site and the restaurant Le Duo, 16/20 at Gault&Millau at the hotel Royal is very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing