We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Having just returned from 2 nights staying in this wonderful Hotel, I have to say it was everything and more that I hoped for.Had I taken too much notice of the reviews about the 'red light district' I could have been put off, fortunately I wasn't (yes it is near the red light district but did not cause any problems for my friend and myself). The receptionist on our arrival was so friendly and helpful (Jasmine I think her name was from Ischia),she showed us places to go and sorted out our free travel passes(which were great, not having to worry about change etc when jumping on and off buses, trains boats.The room was plenty big enough, with a beautiful bathroom with shower and bath, if anything the only problem was the room was too hot , we did eventually manage to cool it down a bit (if we had asked no doubt it could have been cooler!) The bed and pillows were perfect and for someone with a bad back that means a heck of a lot. All in all a very memorable place and very convenient for restaurants,just 10 mins walk to Lake. Wifi worked perfectly and was free. Although no restaurant 15% discount with their sister Hotels, we had a very pleasant Meat Fondue at the Hotel Eidlelweiss, including entertainment 'Swiss' style including yodelling!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 102 and faced the car park but no noise in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giannaRavello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

We thank you for your great comment and good rating for our hotel Kipling. We will forward it to our staff (front desk) and we are happy you had a nice experience in our Restaurant Edelweiss too. We would all be very happy to welcome you back next time you are in Geneva. ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Easy enough to find when walking from the main station. Check in process very quick ans efficient. No restaurant in hotel, but you get 15% discount off other hotels in chain in the city

Room quite big, very clean. Decor very nice and cosy. TV - loads of French and ITV1 and BBC2 oddly enough

Breakfast usual continental rolls, toast, coffee, cold meats etc. Buffet style so you can get your money's worth...

Only negative was the pillows on the bed were very thin, so neded to use cushions to raise up to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alwick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for your comment. Our clients feedback is very important to us and we will forward it, so that we can continue to improve our service.
We would be happy to welcome you back in our hotel Kipling next time your are in Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We've been visiting this hotel since 2005 and the hotel offers the same high standard ever since then. Last visit was 19 feb 2012. Rooms are big and tidy, coffee making facililties in the room, good bathroom.. welcoming personnel and close to the train station. We'll come back soon.so ideally situated to explore Geneva or just spend the night to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haaienvoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

A warm thank you for your great feedback and your confidence over the years. We would be very happy to welcome you for your next trip to Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

On a somewhat anonymous street in a supposedly dodgy (for Switzerland) part of town, this place is full of vibrancy and character, it's rich Kipling-esque decor belying its exterior. Just a few metres from the lake, both location and hotel are excellent, and just what we needed after a week sliding on ice in Nendaz. Perfect place for wandering in town and around the lake, the stay here was a little bit of tranquil boutique luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Busines Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for your great comment! We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel Kipling so much and could precisely describe its atmosphere. We would be very happy to welcome you again for your next trip in Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have really enjoyed our stay at the Kipling; The rooms are very charming and comfortable and the location is great, minutes walk from the lake and the train station.
The staff was efficient and helpful; we hope they try a little harder to be more sympathetic

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for your nice comment. Your feedback is very important to us so that we can continue to improve our service. We would be very happy to welcome you in our hotel Kipling for your next trip in Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed one night (12 February 2012) at the Kipling hotel. The rooms are comfortable, but at minus 10 degrees outside, my room was barely warm enough. The breakfast is good, varied.
I was not satified with the check in (after asking me whether I would be on my own or with someone, the check in lady counted two breakfasts...). I specifically asked the guarantee (50 euros) to be returned to me in euros, and upon check out, I was given the money back in Swiss Francs. I complained (since a guarantee is not a payment, they are not allowed to return the money to you in Swiss Francs), it had to go all the way up to the manager of the hotel, who said I could my 50 euros back ... in euros. I don't think it is professional for a 3 star hotel to do that kind of things (even if it is written somewhere, if it is not legal, well, it still is not legal !).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessSarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you for having taking time to give your feedback about our Hotel Kipling. We will adress the situtation with our front office staff. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Geneva despite this problem. We would be very happy to welcome you agan in the Hotel Kipling or in any other hotels from the Manotel Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I go to Geneva three or four times a year. I stayed at a number of different hotels in the ****-category, but was always disappointed. Then found the Manotel chain. It is by far the best hotels in Geneva in its price bracket! Tried three of the hotels, but keep coming back to Kipling. Proffessional staff, good breakfast, clean rooms, and small size makes this perfect! Will probably be time for a new lick of paint in one or two places, but I'm sure that will have been taken care of when I come next time. The Paquis neighbourhood can seem seedy at times, but at the eastern end (where this hotel is situated) it is a sweet little gay tinged area with bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all parts of the hotel and have not noticed a great difference. This time I was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markus_sterky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

We thank you for your great feedback. We are very happy that you enjoy the Manotel Experience, especially the Kipling hotel. Looking forward to welcome you next time you are in Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
945 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,318 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#9 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
#10 Family Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $119 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. Located in the city-center, close to the train station and the lake. You can discover several category of rooms and our complimentary services (business center, wifi). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A bar, a meeting room and a parking lot are available on site and the restaurant Le Duo, 16/20 at Gault&Millau at the hotel Royal is very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing