We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel had some strenght and few weakness. My room at 6th floor was nice and quiet. The size of the room was significant and the bathroom was newly refurbished with grey tiles and solid wood, abundant towels.
I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast, decent but lacking the variety and choice of a proper English breakfast, espresso not included and charged separetely (ouch!), juices in jugs but tasteless.
Overall the hotel was comfortable and the rate competitive for being in Geneva.

Room Tip: As usual ask for higher floors, farther away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colesbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 703 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I suspect that when looking to book a hotel room in Geneva people expect to pay the second-mortgage rates of the big name chains on either side of the lake. Well dear reader, this simply need not be the case and I heartily recommend the Hotel Edelweiss to you. It is a short walk from the station; an even shorter walk to the lake and to the water taxis that ply back and forwards across the lake.The Hotel exudes a slightly stereotyped but nonetheless welcoming swiss-ness if there is such a word! There is carved pine as far as the eye can see in both the public areas and in the rooms themselves and all that is really missing is Heidi's name in the guestbook.And, if space had allowed, perhaps a separate bar. The staff are as charming as you would expect and the restaurant(whilst expensive) serves great food and is great fun too.My wife and I loved the Edelweiss and will certainly return to this charming Hotel and this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Geneva recently and we stayed at the Hotel Edelweiss which is ideally situated near to the lake,restaurants and main shopping.The room was very comfortable and a great price,the staff were very good and efficient and the hotel restaurant excellent! You need to experience the restaurant at least once and try the fondue dishes or raclette and the live band with traditional Swiss music!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the square and rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burningdaylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel when we stopped in Geneva on a train trip through Switzerland, Austria and finally Budapest. Our room was very clean and spacious, the front desk staff were helpful and accommodating. We also liked the interior charm of the hotel as it did convey a real Swiss feeling. Although we did not eat in their restaurant, we did not experience the "smell" of fondue as others had reported. Our room was in the back so was very quite. When researching the hotel options in Geneva, we struggled to find a nice hotel at a good value. Geneva is a very expensive city so we felt this was the best site for the money. Walked from the train station to the hotel and to the old town and shopping district. Although we did manage to walk through the "adult recreation" area of Geneva once, we did not experience any problems or see any drug dealing as others have reported. Geneva was not as nice as Bern or some other cities we visited in Switzerland but we were glad we stopped and experienced Geneva at least once.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My colleagues and I are visiting Geneva for business very frequently. We chose the Edelweiss hotel because it's a great combination of lovely small hotel with very comfortable spacious rooms for reasonable pricing at a great location of 5 min to the main station, the lake and the city center.
The Edelweiss team is simply amazing, they are warm and friendly people, very professional and they put every possible effort to answer every need of their guests. In addition the breakfast at the Edelweiss is excellent and even veggies have enough options to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avichai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel Edelweiss is my usual hotel in Geneva. I love the "chalet" atmosphere, although it is a bit of an acquired taste, and their fondue restaurant has to be experienced at least once in a lifetime.

Staff is very helpful and friendly whenever I visit them. The free public transport ticket for your stay in Geneva is also very useful. Rooms are comfortable, cozy and very "alpine". I like the beds in the hotel a lot and was positively surprised to see that the TV had Belgian/Dutch channels available. A first on my many trips abroad. The bathroom is a bit cramped but very clean and comfortable. I wouldn't mind a redesign of the shower though.

WiFi is free, there is a bus stop right across the hotel and you only need a ten minute walk to Cornavin station.

Minor quibbles: the airconditioning didn't work in my room. Since I was only staying one night I didn't make a fuss about it. It's never happened to me before when I visited the hotel.

Their fondue restaurant has a live "alpine music" band performing each night. You MUST eat there at least once.

The area around Geneva central station has become a bit of a security risk lately, though. Drug dealers do their trade openly, prostitutes line the street at night and you have to watch out for pick-pockets. The hotel can't do much about this, of course, but do take care when you go out in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eindvijand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because it had good reviews online and was said to be "the place to go" for a true Swiss Alps experience. The hotel is exactly like the pictures portray on line. However, I would only recommend for a few days. We stayed 6 nights. After a while the smell of the cheese fondue coming from the restaurant left me feeling sick every time I stepped out of my room.
I think Manotel just purchased the hotel and are making positive changes. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was clean. Neighbor was okay, we felt very safe and walked every where.
There is no gym, pool, sauna etc at the hotel. The shower is so small I had to open the door and put my legs on the sink to shave! but the shower head was awesome! Towels were huge and soft. Bed was hard, but my husband loved it. Room had nice sized closet, and dresser. Mini bar, Fridge and safe. Full sized mirror. Small table and one chair. Rooms in Europe are small so it was average for Europe I would say. It really wasn't a bad hotel at all, but just a step down from 3 stars I would say. Honestly, If they could just figure out how to keep the cheese smell in the restaurant it would be much better!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room close to street. Choose room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,301 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Address: place de la Navigation 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $124 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. Discover our different guest rooms, from standard to family room. You will have the opportunity to discover for diner our Swiss restaurant "l'Edelweiss" offering entertaining programs. Complimentary business centre and Wi-Fi. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing