We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable hotel in a handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 place de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Wilson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the weekend of L'Escalade 2012. We really appreciated the helpful receptionist allowing us to check in early. Overall the staff were very good. Our room was a good size and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed and really good choice of english TV channels. Our room overlooked the square but we had no problems with noise and slept well.

Buses Nos 1 and 25 stop outside the hotel and link directly with the train station. The stop to catch the boat across the lake to the Old Town is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Yes the restaurant is cheesy but when in Switzerland ...... We enjoyed it and the service was good. The breakfast was not great for the money and I would suggest going to one of the nearby supermarkets or cafes

When we were there the hotel lift was being refurbished but staff helped us carry our cases up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    287
    94
    19
    6
See reviews for
106
239
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel was much better than we have expected.

Nice, cozy at home like hotel with Swiss chalet decorations.
The hotel has a convenient location, close to the main station of Genève, walking distance to Lake Léman, supermarkets, tram station just 30 seconds from the hotel,

The receptionists and staffs are very kind and friendly. The room is large, quiet, and very clean equipped with nespresso machine! The beds are very comfortable.

The restaurant in the hotel is typical swiss experience, fondue, local wine and live traditional music, touristy but we just loved it as well.

Knowing some modern hotels in the city centre can cost like 450 Euros a night for 3 persons with no characters, this hotel is much better with lots of good qualities with the reasonable price. It is the advantage of staying at the small middle sized hotels.

I would definitely stay there again if I have my next trip to Genève.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minakowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hoel Edelweiss with a friend in Nov 2012 overall we were very impressed the reception staff were very helpful and friendly and the whole place was spotless. The only thing letting this hotel down is the lack of a bar as the only way to get a drink is to eat in the restuarant. Beware as unless you have a main course you are charged a 15chf surcharge each which soured our experience of our stay somewhat. We asked several times if we could just have a starter as we had eaten earlier and were asured we could only to be given a bill with the 30chf surcharge on it. After a discussion with the manager this charge was removed and we were given a complimentary glass of wine with our dinner the next evening and the food was lovely. The transport pass was a big bonus and we made full use of the water taxi etc.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square that was very pleasent and not at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Price is excellent
Room is excellent
Staff is excellent
I've stayed for 3 nights there and really it was very good experience. The check in was very fast. Room is clean. There is facility to make tea and coffee in room. Also, there is a very elegant restaurant for dinner inside the hotel, and if you are a guest you get 30% off the total invoice at restaurant. The employees are very professional and giving you that warm welcome. I even got a free public transport ticket to use during my stay. They arrange for shuttle bus to airport with only 15CHF. Definitely I would recommend it and will go there again when in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salfons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overall really enjoyed our stay.

The exterior of the building is not what I expected based on pictures of the interior. The area between it and the railway station and around is urban and multi-cultural.

The staff gave us a good welcome, complete with maps, restaurant discount vouchers and transit passes (take the boat across the lake even if you don't need to, quite special). The elevator is tiny but there is also a nice open staircase.

The room had the wall paneling and quaint swiss look. It also had plenty of counterspace, table and closet.

We could see the lake from our window and slept very well. Kids on good quality sofa bed us on a "King" (two singles). Bathroom appeared newly renovated, grey tile.

The price was relatively expensive but very reasonable compared to everything else around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom_fr_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

There were chocolates on the pilows. :) The hotel resturaunt was pretty good, the live band was very entertaining and enteractive. The elevator was pretty small, only big enough for one man. There were no ceiling lights there were only lamps. Over all quaint and peacful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apprenticechef23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Three adults stayed in this hotel for two nights. I choose it because I was looking for something with a “Suisse” flair. I realize that Geneva is a very expensive city and I am used to paying prices quite different in the United States, but paying $450 a night for this hotel was ludicrous. Yes, it is near the lake; probably about two or three blocks behind the hotel. However the small courtyard in front of the hotel had some questionable people mulling around. In fact there was a sofa about ten feet from the front door of the hotel. Also, during the entire day and night there were odd characters sitting outside the hotel with their laptops. I am assuming they were using the free Wi-Fi. When we entered the front desk staff was very kind; offering any assistance. We made reservations for dinner at the restaurant for the next evening. I was wondering why nobody offered to assist us with our bags. For that rate, you would think they would have a bellman. When we went to use the elevator, we were shocked to see how small it was. One person went to the top, the second person filled the elevator with bags and pushed to button to go to the seventh floor. The first person emptied the elevator and dragged the bags down the hall while the other two took turns coming up the elevator. For $450 a night . . . . really?? The room was as pictured on the internet. Wood paneling, etc. Two twins pushed together to make a king and a sofa bed for the third person. We opened the bathroom door to find quite a surprise; we went from charming wood to ultramodern brown tiled bathroom. Very pretty, yet the décor didn’t match the room at all. We then went out for the day and returned to this horrendous smell. I had previously read someone said their room had a sewer odor. Well it isn’t the sewer; it is the odors wafting from the restaurant downstairs. We all agreed we would cancel the reservations for the next evening. All in all, I would probably say this is a three star hotel at best. Location is iffy, would probably stay in the Old Town area if I would return to Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Hotel N'vY
#12 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#13 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Address: 2 place de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. Discover our different guest rooms, from standard to family room. You will have the opportunity to discover for diner our Swiss restaurant "l'Edelweiss" offering entertaining programs. Complimentary business centre and Wi-Fi. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing