We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, good hotel, good location, good value, fun restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, good hotel, good location, good value, fun restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is a nice enough hotel and I would probably stay again primarily because of location and value. Given the name Edelweiss, you have to expect a certain level of kitsch. ☺ You get that with the chalet décor, stuffed Saint Bernards and the restaurant experience. We went to the restaurant on a Saturday evening without making reservations. Little did we know that this place is a hot ticket and luckily there was a table for available for the two of us. All other seats were reserved. The fondue was tasty and we appreciated the 15%-off coupon we received from reception upon checking in. There is also live music that included some yodeling and cowbells. The two excellent musicians played, of course, an accordion and a variety of “horns”. The guys are fun and friendly and engage the patrons without making anyone feel silly. Make an effort to go to the restaurant one night. It is a lot of fun if not a little cheesy (excuse the pun).

The multi-lingual staff is very friendly and helpful. All Geneva hotels provide a free transportation coupon valid for the entire length of your stay in a hotel. Be sure you have it with you when using transport and you need to show it only if the “controleurs” are verifying that you have a valid pass. We needed to go to the UN area as well as explore the old town so this location was ideal, being in the middle between the two destinations, all 10-15 minutes away.

The room and bathroom were clean but a little worn. The bathroom stall is cramped but there was good water pressure and hot water. The bed was very comfortable and touted “ONREV pillow top mattresses”. Our double bed was smallish, about the same as an American full-sized bed. The room was street-side and a little noisy during business hours, quiet at night. However, the hotel itself was somewhat noisy due to other guests in the halls. There were a couple of groups staying--apparently one was a choir--and when the groups returned to their rooms it was a bit noisy.

The first night we went out for dinner and upon returning we were hit with the cheese smell and as another poster shared, it is a bit off-putting. (To avoid this experience, just go to the restaurant for dinner!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingpig666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    320
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
126
282
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Edelweiss for two nights with our two teenage boys. The hotel was very clean and accommodating and was able to provide us with a single room for 4 - a rarity in Geneva. The location is perfect, you can still walk to the train station but it is closer to the lake and out of the red light district. Great kebob stand next door, across the street there is a supermarket. They will give you a free pass for all the public transportation including the lake taxis. The staff is helpful and attentive. The hotel restaurant is wonderful, sure it's expensive, but you are in Geneva. Just enjoy the setting and the delicious fondue. If you're lucky, the band will invite you to play the alp horn!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

For Geneva, this hotel is a great value (at the Expedia rate). Ultra-clean, great shower, good linens, friendly staff, close to train station The Epcot-style Swiss lodge theme did not cost extra. :) We actually loved the (very touristy) music show in the restaurant because, above all, the musicians were actually very talented - if they were in The US, the saw playing alone would get them a spot on NPR, or at least Prairie Home Companion. I would like to make fun of the alpenhorn, the yodeling and the accordion, but again I have to bow to the true talent of the musicians, who made beautiful music the entire evening. You can't blame them ( or the alpenhorn blowing contest, which my daughter lost) for the cheesy smell in the lobby, which is due to the (again, excellent) fondue in the restaurant. Our only negative was that there was an all night techno-rock concert in the little plaza in front of the hotel. Good glazing on the windows was not enough to block it out, but it is probably a rare occurrence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrethe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved this Hotel. Reception was very welcoming and efficient. Gave me lots of good information which included a 15% discount on dinner int he hotel and a free bus pass to get around the city. Good maps were provided which was helpful, although Geneva is very easy to get around. Best bathroom of all my trips this fall...superior shower !! I loved the hints of Swiss decor around the hotel, very charming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the location. Its close to the train station (or take Bus No. 1), good restaurants, and the lake. The rooms are a decent size and the breakfast is great. This is why I'd stay there again. Now for the odd parts. The lobby is just bizarre - like a Swiss theme park. There are stuffed animals (dogs) in rows all along the wall. A certain overpowering smell (maybe cheese fondue?) hits you hard as soon as you enter the lobby - it makes you want to just run up to your room. The noise outside was a bit much late at night - ask for a room not facing the front street. The red light district is just a few blocks away. Having said all this, I had a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redskins70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We celebrated my mother's birthday in Geneva and booked a room in this hotel. Immediately when we entered the hotel we were given a warm welcome. Fikreta is the best receptionist I ever had in a hotel. She immediately got us a nice room and gave us information about the city. She advised us on public transport and sites to see. And, she did not forget my mothers birthday!

I loved staying in this hotel, although I must admit the smell of cheese is quite persistent. I can imagine you can't bare it for more than 3 nights. But then again, it's all part of the Edelweiss experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a very good hotel, great value and I think highly underrated.

The location is very convenient, being 3 minute walk to Lake Geneva (it's literally one minute behind the lakefront 5-star hotels). From the lake there's a free water shuttle (with your free hotel public transport card) that takes you directly to the English gardens and thereby the town centre. The alternative is quite a nice 20 min walk along the lake shore. It's a reasonable walk to the train station / rental cars and there is a pharmacy and supermarket directly in front of the hotel.

The restaurant was quite good and there's a touristy show in the evenings with traditional performances. Breakfast had good variety.

Rooms are generous (for European hotel standards) and comfortable with all the usual amenities. There's good sound insulation with the outside but not quite as good with other rooms (we had adjoining rooms). There is a VERY small lift for higher floors which meant for us multiple trips to get our bags up and down.

Overall extremely good value and great location. Very warm and friendly staff. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Address: place de la Navigation 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. Discover our different guest rooms, from standard to family room. You will have the opportunity to discover for diner our Swiss restaurant "l'Edelweiss" offering entertaining programs. Complimentary business centre and Wi-Fi. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing