We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good location”
Review of Warwick Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Geneva
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a small hotel very conveniently situated close to the main Cornavin station. It didn't stand out in any particular way - just average in terms of room size, facilities and so on. Good points are its location and a good breakfast buffet; bad points are the queues for check in and check out, although I might just have been a bit unlucky.

All in all, not too bad, but I'm going back to Geneva in a week or so and have booked somewhere else as there's not enough at this hotel to tempt me back.

Room Tip: I was told that rooms overlooking the station can be noisy, so ask for one on the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Joe_50,
We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on our services and we appreciate your positive comments in regards to our buffet breakfast.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding the queue at the check-in. Concerning the check-out, we remind you that you can verify your bill on your TV and we invite you to settle your bill the evening before your departure in order to avoid queuing in the morning.
We take all feedback seriously, and we sincerely regret that you did not plan to come back to our hotel but we do not lose heart to welcome you back in the future and that you will give us a second chance !
With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

location was convenient (as it was right across the train station). Room was a little bit small though which I kinda expected travelling to europe a lot. This hotel caters more to business people since I can't fathom on why they need to put a desk table with a chair in a small room. I had to do some "re-arranging" of the room furnitures since I had a big luggage and to have some room to move around. and despite some reviews of bad area, I actually feel safe around the neighborhood. breakfast was fine. I have eaten better ones but it can fill you up. I would probably stay here again despite the size of the rooms

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsetterPT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear JetsetterPT77,
We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us but we are sorry to read that you found your room too small. For your next stays, do not hesitate to contact our reservation department : our reservation agents will be pleased to help you in chosing the appropriate type of room : double room (20sqm), executive room (27sqm), junior suite (37sqm). Or you can already check our website and the different type of rooms.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, in the meantime please receive our best wishes for 2013.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location as it says on all other reviews is brilliant, a short walk with luggage from the Station (opposite) and then a nice stroll into the Centre of Geneve. The only problem is the noise at night, through the the morning. Constant Police and ambulances driving through, wouldn't have thought in a nice place like Geneve it was necessary.

Beds are a bit hard for me but I don't like hard beds. Breakfast expensive so go round the corner and go to a well known cafe (****bucks) and have a coffee and cake it is cheaper.

Room Tip: Non-smoking at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear JaneCheltenham,
We would like to thank you for having chosen the hotel Warwick Geneva for your recent stay in Geneva.
We have read your comments and for your next stays with us, do not hesitate to ask to the Housekeeping to put a duvet on top of the mattress to make it softer.
We all remain at your service for any further information you may require; in the meantime all the Warwick team wishes you all the best for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I last stayed here 10 years ago and it hasn't changed much. Not flash but just a nice business hotel, rooms are pleasant, not huge but fine for a shortish stay. Breakfast is very good, but expensive, I expect most guests are charging to their expense accounts. Staff are fine but not over-friendly. For dinner there's a brasserie/ pub almost next door which is fun, good swiss food and beer and much cheaper than eating in the hotel. The shops and lake are just a few minutes away, you do walk through the red light area which is not bad at all but just be aware and book elsewhere if you are very prudish. Having the station just over the road is very convenient, I left my bag while I went for a meeting at the UN and picked it up before I went to the airport which worked well. They give you a card for free travel on the bus and train which is good (you can also get a free ticket from the airport, from a machine in the baggage hall).

Room Tip: My room was at the back, and maybe quieter than those facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear DavidLD12,
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Warwick Geneva and we thank you for your feedback.
We took good note of your comment regarding the restaurant and we are pleased to invite you to use, for your next stay with us, our voucher “20% off for a diner at the restaurant”, available at the Front Desk.

We also would like to thank you for your loyalty and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in our hotel. In the meantime, we wish you all the best for this New Year, 2013!
With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed here before but not in some time. I don't remember having a kettle in my room for previous stays so this is a great addition.
Room immaculately clean and the service as good as ever.
The location couldn't really be better with the railway station just opposite and the lake 5 minutes walk away. (Remember to ask for your travel pass that affords free bus / tram travel throughout your stay).
The restaurant is a bit expensive, even for breakfast and there are more reasonable options close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StheBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear StheBRIT,
It is a great pleasure reading your feedback toward your recent stay at the Hotel Warwick Geneva. Your comments have been directed to all our associates. We are pleased to know that you are satisfied by the kettle we added recently in the rooms.
We look forward to your return; in the meantime we wish you a happy festive season !
With our best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having never been to Geneva and we were only in town for one night (holiday celebrations); my boyfriend and I chose this hotel (even after reading a few reviews that might have turned a few other people away) due to its proximity to the train station and the Lake.

I do not know what some of the other reviewers were complaining about (hookers in front of the hotel -- where?? we didn't see any / as for being close to the "red light district" - Um, hello, you are in a major city near a major train station, what did you expect? It's not like this was the only hotel in Geneva and to be fair, there were OTHER major hotels that were closer to the "district"). Someone else complained about the rooms being small. Really? We stayed in a room with a king size bed (which was very comfy) and we felt the room size (and bathroom with sunk in tub) was more than adequate. However; to be fair, the complaint about the size of the elevators was spot on. They are small elevators and if you are more than two people with a bag each, you might have to travel in two cars, but hey - no hotel is perfect. (We didn't eat in the restaurant for any meals, so I cannot comment on that)

This hotel is exactly what the website promised and more! They had a fantastic front desk clerk, who made "fondue" dinner reservations for us at a fantastic place a few blocks away. (ooooo, we had to walk past the "red light district" -- eh, guess it was too cold out as there was practically no one on the streets -- so much for the scary "district" - LOL). The gentleman at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the area, and when we asked a few questions regarding directions to certain places, he whipped out a map, drew arrows, made notes, gave us bus route numbers and made sure we knew where we were going.

So, to sum up, we would definitely stay here again. Great location and fantastic price (did I mention they had a AAA rate was really was a deal)!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear sgkalina,
First of all I would like to thank you for posting this fairly complete and detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Warwick Geneva. We are thrilled to read that you have appreciated your stay with us and that you have read guests’ reviews with attention.
Please be reassured that your comments have been directed to our associates, and mainly to the front office employees who provided you a good service.

We would like to thank you for your time again and should you need any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

As the old adage goes location, location, location - that is by far the biggest asset of this hotel and the friendly staff.

The Warwick is located in front of the train station and pretty close to everything - there is even a shopping mall behind it. The location came in very handy when I was here in February given that it was freezing outside. Many restaurants are a short walk away as are the underground shops of the station.

The rooms are fairly spacious as are the bathrooms. The Queen size beds are two small beds put together and if you sleep in the middle as I do you will fall right between the beds.

The breakfast buffet featured the usual Swiss delights such as Bircher Muessli, eggs, croissants etc - very good.

For the type of hotel that it is, a slightly older hotel, it's pretty good. Nice location, good staff - what else does one need.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain R, General Manager at Warwick Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear M J,
What a great pleasure reading your comment! We are very delighted to hear that you were satisfied by the hotel’s location, the breakfast and the friendliness of the employees. I took good note of your remark regarding our bed “à l’italienne”. For you next stays with us, please do not hesitate to ask at the check-in for a double king bed, we would be pleased to provide you one, depending on our availability.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future; meanwhile we remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#16 of 109 in Geneva
968 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,122 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#13 of 109 in Geneva
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Geneva

Address: rue de Lausanne 14, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $131 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warwick Geneva! The chic & elegant address in the heart of Geneva. The hotel Warwick Geneva benefits of a fantastic location in the city centre, opposite Cornavin railway station and seven minutes by train from Geneva International Airport. The hotel is a walking distance of the city's most popular attractions within the international organizations, the historical centre and many museums. Our Penthouse Rooms & Suites located on the top floor, enjoy a private terrace with stunning views of the mountains over the city and some with lake view. The bar and restaurant Teseo offer delicious and tasty options to satisfy every moment of the day. We also offer a preferred option for all types of business or private events up to 200 people. Our ambassador "William" and the entire team of the Warwick Geneva will take care of you throughout your stay. They will be happy to suggest tours and will answer all your questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Warwick Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Geneva
Geneva Warwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing