We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Worn and Dated, Shabby, not again!”
Review of NH Geneva City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Geneva City
Ranked #52 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Worn and Dated, Shabby, not again!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I traveled to Geneva at the last minute and all (the good hotels) were booked. My PA searched around and found me a room here.

Big mistake. This place is worn and dated and feels very shabby. It promotes itself as a 4* hotel, it's more like a high 2*.

When you walk in, it feels like a retirement apartment building. They were very friendly at check in and werre very helpful. On this regard, I am pleased, but they know their hotel is bad.

I was given a room in the back "over looking the garden", not really, it was an apartment building with laundry hanging out of their windows. The glass on the closet was cracked and had some old tape on it, carpeting extemenly stained with all sorts of spots. I called to be moved and next room was not much better. They said "all rooms are the same".

All the rooms are very worn and dated. Must have been in the 80's when they were first done. The big problems are the carpeting is stained, there are no mattres pads on the bed (flimsy sheet on the matress), and everything had wear markes on it. TV was small and wall paper was coming off the walls around the edges. Bathtub was clogged and did not drain, hence poorly maintained hote.

you can't get a wi-fi signal in the rooms. They tell you you can pay for Swisscom but you can't get a signal. Instead you can sit in the lobby and access the inet there. It was pretty comical to see about 15 guest all sitting around on the chairs with laptops. This hotel is not for the business traveler.

The location is also poor. Far away from everything and in a residential area with no decent looking places to eat near by. You can take the tram into town, 3 block walk to the stop and then about 13 minute ride.

Breakfast was very expensive and look poor. I just had coffee and they had a hard time accomdating this request.

I couldn't wait to leave this hotel. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    219
    136
    61
    40
See reviews for
77
223
38
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgirate
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Geneva is expensive and often you don't even get what you pay for-this is good, clean but small room, its Ok, nothing more...the fact of entering a hotel with a flight of stairs to negotiate, sets things off negatively.
Room service is by Domino Pizza...no, not joking!

Room Tip: higher rooms are probably nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaBelgirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

For those of you who havent traveled yet to Geneva (especially Americans) the Swiss Franc is incredibly strong and the prices of nearly everything reflect that....be prepared to pay around $80 for a modest meal for two people (our first meal was at a local italian place where we ordered two personal pizzas, two diet cokes, and a bottle of water for $77.....oy). Now getting back to the point, you will be lucky to find a decent 4-star hotel for under $300 per night in Geneva. NH Rex calls itself a 4-star hotel, however this hotel is much more on par with a mid-level 3-star hotel, and so I can confirm what others have mentioned below. When I got to my room the TV was broken, and so they moved me to their largest room on the floor, and even this was so-so. Bottom-line if you are staying for one, maybe two nights maximum in Geneva then this isn't a bad place to choose considering the relative cheapness and somewhat close proximity to the city center. HOWEVER, if you are staying for any longer period of time spend more on a hotel with a kitchen in order to cook some of your meals. Even if its more expensive per night up front, you will save hundreds by limiting how much you eat out and probably get much better accommodation and room decor than at the NH Rex.

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast....its ~$35 per person for a mediocre breakfast. Unless its included, go somewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Small rooms, expensive breakfast, and limited amenities. If it was classified as 3 star, I would say it was OK, and you were getting what you paid for, but 4 star seems very optimistic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimbledon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed there for a weekend trip and I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is not downtown but the tram station is 5 min walk away. And the bus to the airport can be reached after 7min walk...the hotel has charme, a classic building...you can use Wifi free of charge for one hour in the lobby. The room was small but very clean, you can make tea and coffee and the mini bar is big enough to store some food. Unfortunately you have to carry up your luggage a staircase to the lobby. To the rooms there is a lift available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisefee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I like this hotel which provides excellent value for money in an expensive city. There were a couple of small items needing repair and I found the bed very hard this time which I have not noticed in my previous stays. Generally the quality is very good but it does not have a full restaurant. It is out of the centre but with good public transport this was not an issue as free passes were issued for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macappin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed for three nights. Moderate room,clean with a glamorous feeling (big mirrors ). Located near tram with plenty of cafe ant restaurants around. The hotel provides a free transportation voucher that makes everybody to forget the car. Downtown is only 10min away with tram.
Nice and comfort bed, good breakfast.
We will visit it again if we're in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louant-gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel Les Nations
#54 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#43 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Geneva City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Geneva City

Property: NH Geneva City
Address: Avenue Wendt 42-44 | Grottes-Saint-Gervais, Geneva 1203, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#6 Green Hotel in Geneva
#32 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Geneva City 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful, quaint neighborhood near Geneva's bustling business center, the NH Geneva City combines the charm of 19th century France with sophisticated, modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Geneva City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Rex Geneva
Nh Rex Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing