We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #26 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Geneva is an expensive place, no doubt. In Geneva, it is tough to find good hotels. Royal is a nice hotel with good rooms. Location as such is not great. However, there is a tram station Mole right in front which makes it very convenient. The hotel gave us a free travel pass for all the days we stayed there. Not sure if this is done always.

Positives:
Rooms are reasonably big. Bathrooms are nice and very well organised. Tram station is nearby

Negatives:
Since this is right behind the railway lines, you do hear the noise from trains occasionally. This was not such a big drawback for us. Neighbourhood was not the greatest, being close to the railway station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without railway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNPRAHLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    382
    153
    46
    12
See reviews for
170
218
33
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here very briefly for a business trip. The hotel was fine. The room was clean, but small and overlooked the roof of another building. There was a tiny kitchenette locked up behind a door, but the door was broken so it sagged open and blocked the entry a bit. The bed was comfortable and the white marble bathroom and shower were lovely.

It served the purpose for a few hours sleep before an early flight, but the location is also not a very safe one so be cautious after dark.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

On arrival this hotel was impressive. The foyer was decorative and stylish which was a good introduction to my stay. The clerk upgrade my room to a suite which was a nice surprise so I was happy that I would get to stay in one of the good rooms.

The room I stayed in was room 222 which I think was the family suite. It was a large room with a dining table, sofa and coffee table. The room was cleaned to a suitable standard but on further inspection of the room, the high standard I expected seem to fall particularly as the furniture in the room was sub standard at the rate for this type of room. The quality of the furniture resembled what is used for props on a stage theatre, it was obvious that the durability was terrible.
There were chips and splits in the majority of the chairs and desk and the bed was completely unsuitable.as it resembled a cheap Ikea bed. the bedding was also bizarre as I had two single duvet sheet instead of one double to cover the bed, the sleep in the bed was rather uncomfortable.

As a business traveler I expected the desk to be fully functional for use, but non of the plug sockets worked and the desk was not very sturdy (very flimsy!) I had to resorted to trailing my charge lead across the room - annoying. There were only 3 sockets in the whole room- not in convenient places. The room did have a little kitchenette but i didn't use it, but i guess it would be useful if someone wanted to cook for themselves.

The bathroom was rather small and toilet separated with a tight squeeze to get to. On the website this suite is advertised as catering for a family which I don't think is quite accurate as it would be a nightmare logistically!!

After my first night I thought I thought to explore the facilities, the bar area was OK albeit a little small, but stylish nevertheless. The gym was hard to find, as it felt like like being on a treasure hunt but only never to find the treasure at the end. Its location is in a very secluded area of the hotel and at the time of my stay and it was being renovated. Very disappointed i wasn't told this on arrival or on the website.
The sauna/ hamman which was also advertised was also unavailable, which was disappointing. its location was also in very secluded area of the hotel. This definitely was not what I would have expected from a 4 star hotel.
The hotel has an ironing room based on the 6 floor with only two iron boards which are available by using your hotel key, again this was in a secluded spoky are of the hotel and i would have preferred the option for one in the hotel room as i have had with other hotels.

The decor in the hotel that wasn't on the ground floor was very dated and in need of a refresh, the place just seemed very superficial with prop quality furniture and decor (mirrors), a total contrast from the entrance.

Food wise the breakfast was 'OK' again not 4 star quality, the breakfast area was not thought out well as the room feel half prepared, the table area was set back far from the buffet.
Despite this there was a large section to choose from although the hot options weren't to my liking - runny scrambled egg, horrible tasting sausage. mostly the fruit and pastries were palatable.

As a frequent business traveller I was slightly disappointed particularity as it is located perfectly perfect for travel. (the tram stop is right outside) The noise at night from the tram can be annoying but given the proximity so close i was expecting it.

Overall it is a nice hotel but don't think it lived up to expectations

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room higher to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located about midway between the Palais de Nations and the old town. However, this also means it is located in the less desirable area of the train station. If you do not mind wandering through some colorful streets with the occasional lady of the evening watching you go by, then the positive aspects of the hotel’s location outweigh the negative.

Once inside the hotel, it is quite nice. The lobby is well done and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are also comfortable and the bathrooms fairly large. The bar is cute but very small with a grand total of four bar stools, although there are cocktail tables where you can sit. Breakfast is one of the better hotel breakfasts in town with a wide variety of offerings. This hotel is also one of the very few in Geneva that offers breakfast included in the room rate. All in all, this is one of the better values for a hotel in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you have to stay in a hotel in Geneva for over 2 weeks because of a committee meeting then this is a OK place to be, although I prefer the Kipling Hotel and even the Jade Hotel which are in the same Manotel hotel group. The big disadvantage of its otherwise good location is that the noise of the trains is ever present. The first room i was allocated was so close to the station that i had to ask to move. This was done promptly and courteously by the ever attentive front desk staff. The rooms are tastefully furnished, if on the small side, and always cleaned well. There is plenty of comfortable seating in the entrance area which is useful when you want to discuss issues with colleagues in small groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not at the back nor at the front - there are some that which overlook an inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

the service was good. stuff very helpful. comfy bed.
5-8 minutes walk from carnival station. They give us a ticket for public transportation for free.
I suggest that they should renewed their rooms furniture.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaden o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel in November'2013. I made the online booking and found the prices very reasonable compared to other hotels. The advantage of this hotel is its location. 5 mins away from railway station. In addition, you can find nice restaurants, cafes and shopping complex around the hotel easily.
I was quite impressed when they upgraded my room without even asking for it. Their staff is very courteous and helpful. In addition, they offer a travel pass which can work on buses, trains and boats for most of nearby locations. You can confirm with them before-hand over email if the location you plan to visit is covered through the pass. In addition, it is very close to most of the sites to visit in Geneva e.g. lake, old town etc.
Pls. be aware that the hotel is near red light area but it does not cause any sort of trouble. You just need to ignore them while you are crossing those streets at night.
The breakfast spread is good but it is mostly repetition of the same menu so in case you stay for long…might get bored with it.
Overall, it is very good business hotel and I would recommend highly to everyone traveling to Geneva.

Room Tip: Rooms of 5th floor are very nice (Jnr. suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Geneva
#29 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing