We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous hotel! 10 minute walk from main tourist area. Beautiful, clean facilities, amazing breakfast, room was huge and spotless. Geneva itself didn't have too much going on but we were lucky to have stayed at this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, trying their very best to speak english to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We thank you for your nice comment about our hotel Royal.We are glad you enjoyed it so much and would be pleased to welcome you back for a next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    385
    156
    46
    12
See reviews for
170
220
33
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in Geneva, on business, several times per year, over many years. The choice is made for me, based on availability and price, so I get some variety!
The Royal Manotel claims to be a 4 star hotel. Location is on the rather run down Rue de Lausanne, next door to a Lidl supermarket (which has its uses!).

The decor and ambience have not changed over many years. Menus likewise! The interior is rather dark and depressing and could do with refreshing. Overall it is kept well and the staff are efficient and pleasant but corridor carpets could do with a deep clean along the sides where the vacuum cleaner never touches. I always stay in non-smoking rooms but there is a staleness in the air.
The beds in some rooms are a little saggy but others are ok. The bedrooms and bathrooms are kept clean and have the facilities I need. The decor could be brighter. There is the usual overpriced minibar in the room - water and soft drinks start at 6 SF! Chocolate and crisps likewise! Remember that Lidl supermarket next door - open till 9 pm! There is a kettle and a few sachets of coffee in the room if you want a quick coffee but it comes with awful powdered coffee creamer. - and this in the land bursting with dairy products!

Buffet breakfast costs 30 Sf. There is a range of hot or cold food but pretty uninspiring at the price. I like fresh food so I generally give it a miss and dine out.

The majority of the clientele, on occasions I have stayed there, seemed to be Middle Eastern and the hotel is obviously popular with them.

Location is good as the tram stop is literally six paces from the front door. This will suit those attending meetings at the UN, WHO, ICRC and all of the other international agencies on that side of town. Going the other way, it is one stop to the main railway station, taxi ranks, bus and trolley bus connections to just about anywhere. Geneva is small and much is a walkable distance from the hotel. The old town with its steep cobbled streets is about 15 minutes away across the bridge.

Geneva transport is good and it can cost little or nothing depending how far you stray from the main township of Geneva. If you arrive at the airport, collect a free train ticket in the baggage hall from a dispenser to the left of the green channel exit. All trains go to Cornavin station - about 400 metres from the Royal Manotel. If you walk to the hotel, the hotel will give you a free travel card valid for your entire hotel stay . This works on all modes of public transport within most of Geneva and will take you back to the airport where it expires.

For eating out, there are many ethnic restaurants and cafes between the Rue de Lausanne and the lake. Keep towards Cornavin as there is a mini red light district not far away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This comfortable hotel has a welcoming, attentive, well-informed staff. The junior suite was comfortable for an 8-night stay. Good air conditioning kept us comfortable throughout the hot spell (up to 90 degrees F) that lasted much of our visit. The hotel is a short tram ride (one stop) from the rail station that serves as Geneva's public transportation center. At check in you receive a pass for all modes of public transport (trams, buses, ferries, rail link to the airport) for the duration of your stay. (So don't buy one at the airport or train station when you arrive.) By Geneva's very expensive standards, our room was good value for the price. The hotel's competent restaurant, while not special, is a pleasant place to dine when you're not feeling energetic enough to seek out the city's other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIPSparticipant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is in a decent central location but is mediocre for the money you pay.

If you have a car, add on an extra 45CHF for parking in their basement (no other option).
Ask for a non-smoking room (unless, of course, you're a smoker) because the smoking rooms really smell very stale and bad.

We were informed that breakfast was included in our booking when we checked in, but then this was retracted when we went to breakfast. We opted for the Express Breakfast (9CHF) as opposed to the buffet (in the region of 30CHF) which wasn't much to write home about. Tiny cup of orange juice, mediocre luke-warm coffee and a croissant. We had to ask for jam. When the supervisor noticed that we had also asked for butter, she informed the waiter that we were not allowed butter because we were on the express menu. I thought that this was exceptionally tight.

Not a great place. Next time I will look for a B & B or something....

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a non-smoking room unless you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stay for one night because the next we flight to NYC. It was our honey moon trip and the staff upgrade us a superior to junior suite!! The hotel is next to train and easy walk to the river and old city!! Nice room with nespresso machine!! I think the staff the location(train station) and the price for a hotel in Geneva is value for money!!!! Free ticket for train and tram voucher to hotel restaurant!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent two night at the Royal. The Staff was friendly and the rooms spacious. However, while I understand that energy conservation is good they overdid it. In one of the rooms the AC was not working and even though we complained (twice) they came up to check and left without solving the problem - the result was a hot and stuffy room. In the other room while the AC worked, every time we left room we came back to find it shutdown again resulting in a hot room. Very disappointing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel and service were average for a hotel in Europe. The rooms were smallish but in shape. Great location...tram stop outside the door...close enough to shopping, short walk to the lake...a little longer walk to Old Geneva but still doable and with the tram stop outside you can walk and/or hop on the tram. My main beef is that the electrical plugs in Switzerland are similar but not quite the same as the rest of Europe. The hotel info book says they will lend adapters but when I asked they will sell you the adapter...at expensive hotel gouging prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 105 in Geneva
966 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing