We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to train, nice hotel, bad front desk customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #28 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Westport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close to train, nice hotel, bad front desk customer service”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked two rooms at the Hotel Royal during a recent ski trip to Switzerland. We spent our final afternoon and night in Geneva to catch an early flight back home.

It was a wise decision to select the Hotel Royal in terms of location. It is within a short walk from the train station (turn left out of station, walk a few minutes, hotel is on left). The train to the airport takes only 7 minutes and runs every 15 minutes. It is a far more interesting location than staying at the airport itself.

The hotel lobby is really nicely decorated and maintained. It has lots of seating areas. the restaurant and bar areas are designed well and have a trendy feeling.

The rooms we got were in the back of the hotel. This may be an older wing perhaps with no view of the street in front of the hotel. This was fine, as the rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hallways leading to the rooms however were a bit rundown - carpeting, walls, etc., but the rooms were very good. One problem with the rooms was a lack of electrical outlets near the bed. There was no way to plug in our iPhones which we use as clocks and for an alarm. The rooms have no clocks. We had to plug the phones in in the other side of each room.

The pricing was fantastic through hotels.com at $179 a night.

The neighborhood is ok, but a bit seedy on the side streets - do not go to the side streets. This is typical of being near a train station. The main road itself is fine, has a few small restaurants, and a convenient tram service (number 15). The hotel provides you with a free transit card.

The staff was friendly, except for an abhorrent situation at the front desk. Upon checking in there's a large sign that says 15% off at any of the hotel restaurants for hotel guests. We decided to eat at the hotel. When we checked out, the front desk refused to give the 15% credit because we didn't "show the brochure" when we ordered the food. I told the person at the front desk that this was not the right way to treat customers. I showed him the sign that was directly behind him, but he still refused to do the right thing. He said his manager would contact me over the next couple of days. I left my email and contact information, but no one ever contacted me. This "take advantage of the customer" is really shocking.

I still give the hotel a Very Good rating for all the other reasons I indicated. It is perfect for a one night stay in Geneva if going to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your comment and good rating. Such comments are very important to us so that we can continue to improve our services. We will adress the issue you had with the 15% coupon to our restaurant staff. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our Hotel Royal for your next trip to Geneva. It is true Geneva is the perfect stop before and after being int the ski resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    391
    161
    46
    13
See reviews for
171
226
34
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Very central location, just 10 min. walk to lake Geneva and 5 minutes to train station. Had a junior suite room - a nespresso machine, free internet, quiet and clean. The quality of the service and room was on a high level. I would stay again, thanks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you! Thank you! We will share your nice comment with our staff and we will all be very happy to welcome you in the Royal Hotel for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were delighted with this charming hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was large and beautiful, and Bogie's bar had very good food, drinks and service. We will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed in Geneva for seven nights, in two different rooms in the Royal. Neither room had adequate temperature control - in one, the heat was too high and the window had to be opened; in the other, the room was too cold and they had to bring up a space heater. For two nights and one morning, internet access was not available. Worst of all, the last night I woke up with bites - bedbugs? - which probably explains the heavy odor of disinfectant/insect spray when I checked in. 10 of my business colleagues were in Manotels at the same time. I don't think any of us will stay again.

The only things in its favor were a convenient location, good restaurant and otherwise friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to express your feedback, which is highly important to us. After a thorough inspection, we can gladly report we did not find any bugs in the hotel. We apologize for the poor WIFI connection you experienced during your stay, as a matter of fact we encountered difficulties with our server which in the meantime have been fixed.
Again, we thank you for your comments and should you choose to stay with us again, it goes without saying that we would be delighted to welcome you back to Geneva and one of the Manotel hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2011. I booked through expedia.com and got an excellent deal. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GyanBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for this nice comment we will share with our staff. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for almost 10 days in Jan 2010. Staff were very polite and helpful. Though I stayed in a single room which was a bit small, the room was decent and well-decorated. Free wifi was available. There were a couple of times that I wanted to reserve this hotel again on my business stay in Geneva. However, it was always fully-booked.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealion2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your very good feedback. We are happy to inform you that if our hotel is fully booked, the Manotel group proposes 5 other properties in Geneva,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights end of August 2011, I booked through hotels.com and paid a total of CHF 761.22. Didn't have enough time to plan ahead so took a cab from airport to the hotel.

Staff was friendly and helpful. As mentioned by the other reviewers, the hotel will give you a travel card and you can take all the trams within Geneva for free. The lobby feels a bit old fashioned.

Quite like the room, decent size, comfortable bed and large wardrobe. The toilet was nice as well with bathtub and bathsalt which I appreciate as I like taking a bath after walking around for a whole day. Large windows and lots of sunlight during the day. No problem accessing wifi in the room. The sofa and desk are sort of separate from the bedroom and there are 2 TVs, one for sofa area and one for bed.

Very close to the train station (less than 10 mins walk) which was really helpful as I took the train to other cities in Switzerland everyday. There is a large office at the train station where you can be Swiss rail pass etc.

The hotel is lovely and I will certainly return to this hotel if I head to Geneva again. But a side note, highly unlikely I will go to Geneva again as I went to 6 cities in Switzerland over a week and Geneva was the least interesting out of the lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missvontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dblanc, E-Business manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. We are very happy that you have found our hotel Royal lovely and you have enjoyed its location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
724 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 105 in Geneva
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing