We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geneva prices...nearly!...but oh...the pillows...!”
Review of Mon Repos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mon Repos Hotel
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the MRH for one night only recently. A calm, clean, well ordered hotel...with nothing lacking in the bathroom. Bedroom was fine and my request for a 'quiet' room had been heeded...very quiet indeed. I think that the room was a little 'spartan'...kitted out really for the 'IT businessman' or banker rather than a normal touristy couple! That said, location wise it was great...and I would agree that the breakfast was lovely...very relaxed.
Not very impressed with the 'bar service' though. We tried to get a drink prior to leaving for town for supper...and gave up! The bar man on duty was rushing around like a wild thing, taking and fetching food as well as serving at the bar. Bad organisation....
My only main gripe is...aaaag!..the awful, awful squishy, squashy pillows...! I spent most of the night trying to get some sort of 'support' under my neck-hopeless. If you are used to a firm pillow at home...prepare for a sleepless night. Seriously, it would be great if the MR could offer a selection of pillows. The staff were uniformly corteous.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear avoid road noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LedburyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your detailled review.
We feel very sorry that you couldn't get the expected service at the bar and also didn't mention the problem with your pillow : we would have offered a selection a different pillows (synthetic, sheepwool balls, millet, hardy weat), this choice is mentioned in the welcome booklet which was given on check-in, your pillow would have been replaced on a simple request to the front desk.
Feel free to mention this point for a next visit.
With our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I think this is a three star hotel but perhaps in many respects deserves to be 4 starts, so it is good value for money. Well located, it is clean, and functional. The room was comfortable, good bed, clean, good bathroom. Lack of ceiling light but not a big deal. I like the bar and restaurant. You can eat very well for less. The breakfast is great! And the best: the staff From reception to kitchen. Very good!

Room Tip: rooms on main road are noisy 9traffic at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Ana,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us and we would like to thank you for your nice review which will be shared with our staff.
We noticed your remark about the lack of light in the room and are pleased to inform you that the management works at present on a new project of lighting for rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying in the Mon Repos several times over the last 15 years and was always happy with the accommodation, the service and the food. While the restaurant has ceased to exist for a couple of years, the breakfast remains great and varied. The rooms have been entirely renovated and are stylish. The location is not only practical for those of us that go to UN meetings but, right in front, you can stroll through the park to the banks of Lake Geneva with nice views of the old town and the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony look out over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us since many years and we would like to thank you for your nice review and your loyalty.
Our priority is our guests's satisfaction, that's why it's very important for us to get your opinion and feeling about our establishment in order to keep on improving our services and be ready to welcome you back as at home.
We look forward to seeing you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ideal for anyone staying for UN meetings (as I was) and can afford it. I usually stay in the slightly run-down hotels near the railway station, but ponied up the difference for Mon Repos and it was worth it - clean, modern, stylish, and still friendly, helpful and good service. The breakfast is very good though very expensive - at least you have the choice and there is a little cafe up the road for a more modest breakfast!

Room Tip: In winter it doesn't matter (can't hear the traffic anyway)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to thank you for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you back for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

While the words quaint and modern might be a contradiction in terms, this hotel embodies that. It is an old building but with the renovations made to the interior and its decor, Mon Repos is quite the charming little hotel.

It's location is okay. It is mid-way short-walking distance to two different bus stops that take you 1- to the Palais des Nations, International Labour Organization and Human Rights building and 2- to the city center to get to restaurants, shops, park and movie theaters etc. Although, you could easily walk to either of these areas (10 min.)

The hotel serves breakfast at a price. The breakfast consists of a variety of cold cuts (cheeses and meats); breads, croissants and crackers; a hot buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage; cereals; limited assortment of fresh fruits; yoghurt; juices, coffee and tea. You will not get special milks like soy milk or rice milk. Or waffle maker, pancakes etc. Breakfast was good, convenient and for my purposes quite complete. Of course you could get a much less expensive alternative elsewhere. But then again, you pay for the convenience. I didn't have the opportunity to try the in-house restaurant for dinner.

The completely renovated rooms are very nice and modern. With sensor lights in the bathroom, you might find yourself in the dark when taking a shower/bath though. The rooms are equipped with a safe to keep your valuables - a definite plus! Traffic by the hotel is quite heavy during the day but at night, I can sleep with the balcony door open ... and I'm a light sleeper. However, don't count on sleeping in because the traffic will start relatively early. Nevertheless, I wouldn't want an internal room since you don't have much of a view or privacy since you're back-to-back with the residential building behind the hotel.

If you don't speak French, Italian or German, don't count on watching much tv in the room besides the news on CNN or BBC. Luckily there's free wi-fi.

The staff is friendly, speak a variety of languages and is very helpful.

I'd rebook at Mon Repos in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheers297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assitante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to thank you for your nice and detailled review.
For your information, if you have a special diet, lactose or gluten intolerance, we can adapt our offer, on request, and provided soy milk or gluten free products. We invit you to mention it on your reservation request.
We look forward to seeing you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel and it won't be my last. The location is perfect for meetings at the UN and nearby agencies. The service is professional and friendly but not intrusive. Rooms are comfortable and super clean. This is a small hotel and guest may have to go out to eat but the hotel made really good recommendations, some of which are walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmoJege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to thank you for your nice review and your loyalty.
We look forward to seeing you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

very nice hotel and excellent service, in a very good location and close to the park in front of the lake.
Bit noisy the room on the side of the main road. Ask for internal ones.
The petit restaurant is very good with the chef nice and ready to satisfy your requests.

Room Tip: inner are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment, and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Eden Hotel Geneva
#12 of 106 in Geneva
435 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Design Hotel F6
#52 of 106 in Geneva
342 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 106 in Geneva
499 reviews
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Repos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Repos Hotel

Address: rue de Lausanne 131, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $185 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mon Repos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 400 metres from the World Trade Organisation, this hotel enjoys a scenic location on the right banks of Lake Geneva. It offers free use of public transport in Geneva and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi.Stylish rooms decorated in a contemporary colour scheme feature at Hotel Residence Mon Repos. Each is complete with a minibar, safe, ceiling fan, flat-screen TV and beautiful views of the park.Important international organisations such as the United Nations Office and World Health Organisation (WHO) are within a 5-minute drive of the hotel. After an eventful day, unwind in Mon Repos Hotel's lounge area or book a relaxing massage.Light snacks and a selection of Geneva beers and fine wines can be enjoyed at the bar.The Mon Repos Hotel & Residence is 1 km from the Main Railway Station, which provides good connections to Geneva International Airport (5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mon Repos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Repos Swiss q Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing