We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Taking into consideration the accommodation prices in Geneva, the hotel was available at a very good price. Our room was very comfortable, situated at the top floor, with a great view, very clean. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and the Jet D'eau is very close (5 minutes tops).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eichhoernchen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 836 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel is effectively in the train station. The station attracts questionable types as the evening goes on. The rooms are not clean (dirty furniture, stained carpets, dirty bathroom). You have to ask for everything like new sheets and towels. Be warned if you ask for anything you will be annoying the staff and you likely won't get what you need anyway. If you care about hospitality and customer service or think you might need anything during your stay then this is not the place for you or anyone you are travelling with.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank t m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Chosen essentially for location as adjacent to main rail station (1 stop from airport & free ticket from machine in baggage reclaim hall) and also a tram hub. Hotel is fairly standard (although I believe all rooms have single beds irrespective of size, a double therefore has 2 single beds). That said, room was clean and well appointed with good size en suite bathroom, minibar, tea/coffee making facilities, free TV with good selection of channels from many Countries. Free WiFi throughout. Didn't eat in hotel as location such that easy access to many restaurants & bars both within walking distance or a few stops on a tram that can be caught on hotels doorstep. Can't therefore comment on dining facilities. Was a little disappointed that hotel has no real bar, there is a small area near to reception but this closed very early anyway. Price, I guess pretty standard for Geneva, not so cheap but then again there are much more expensive places with similar level of facilities or not much more. However negatives are minor and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a room on 7th floor & even though next to train platform, was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAHWillaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Aside from the fact that everything in Geneva is exceedingly expensive including accommodation, this hotel was a great choice.
The hotel is located directly opposite the train station and a tram & bus stop. The is very convenient for getting back to the airport as we can hop on a free train transfer to catch our flight.
The rooms are a good size and on level 7 we have an incredible view across Geneva.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This overpriced hotel is emblematic of Geneva's tourism market. Depressing lobby and a room that looks like a prison cell with a view on the railway for the price of an upper end hotel anywhere else on the planet. But they don't care, because there is a chronic lack of accommodation in Geneva and it is conveniently located, as long as you don't get robbed by the notorious Cornavin train station gang. Use in case of emergency only.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Alexandre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for one night, but was a part of the group tour so had no choice. Great location; right next to the railway station (just across the street) and on the main square just opposite the main shopping lane that leads to Lake Geneva. As far as its location goes, it's perfect. But service leaves much to be desired. I asked for a harder pillow; they said it was too late to ask for one as i had called at about 11 pm. They said everybody has gone home and no one was around. How can the hotel not have a night staff! And if I don't ask for an alternate pillow in the night, when am I to ask? At 11 am in the morning? I think i had another simple request, but they didn't help. Don't remember what I had asked, so am not going to guess unnecessarily. Rooms were decent enough. Breakfast was decent enough, not great. But we saw only one restaurant staff member. Overall, not a very impressive hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the main square. Preferably on a higher floor to avoid the noise. And avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayezad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a really good hotel ideally situated outside the main train station and opposite a major bus terminal. From our room on the 9th floor we had wonderful views of the city towards the jet d'Eau. The only thing that let it down we're the pillows and the bed as we expected a double bed but had two singles pushed together and the pillows were just two big cushions. All in all though this is nit picking and I would recommend it especially if you can get a 9th and final floor bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomRodger989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
261 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#30 of 106 in Geneva
1,024 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#32 of 106 in Geneva
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Address: boulevard James-Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $128 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing