We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Train Station Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #37 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Top Train Station Hotel!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If your looking for a good quality solid three star hotel near the main train station...look no further. You literally are across a 50 foot street to the side entrance of the station. You wouldn't even get wet in a rain.

The rooms are more then adequatre and are of a good size. Bathrooms are modern and large. The staff was attentive and easily understandable.

Fair price for the area. I did not have the breakfast offered but rather had it at the station. Lots cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    397
    171
    52
    39
See reviews for
125
180
69
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cool
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is part of a continuing series of my impressions and experiences staying at various hotels and resorts while traveling to attend concerts worldwide. This review is for the Cornavin Hotel Geneva.

Property: Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Address: 23 Blvd James Fazy | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (James-Fazy)
Phone: 011 41 22 716 12 12
Website: www.fassbindhotels.com
Room Type/Class: Standard Non-Smoking
Date: March 17-18, 2013
Booking Source: Direct at Front Desk
Overall Rating: 4/5 [Note: Score is totally subjective based on price, location, and comparison to "like" properties within same area and price range]

I choose this property due to it's proximity to the train station, as I was staying just one night and needed to take the train the following morning to the Geneva Airport stop about five minutes away.

This hotel is just outside of the train station, right across the street, so it is very convenient.

I did not make a reservation prior to my visit, so walked in an approached the front desk and they were able to accommodate me, as well as extend a reduced rate as I was a journalist who just covered a festival the week and a half prior.

The hotel includes a nice lobby area with lots of seating and is nice, clean, and contemporary, as is the rest of the hotel.

I was provided with a room on the second floor, right off the elevator (though I had no elevator noise or any noise penetrating the room).

The room is on the small side, but that is typical of Europe - it was really a great size for one person.

Everything was nice and clean. The bathroom included a shower over tub.

There was a small TV, a small (partially stocked for a fee) refrigerator, a small electronic safe, and a closet. There was also a bench and a chair by the door, as well as a small desk and chair by the window.

Wi-Fi was included and connection was quick and speed was pretty good.

The bed was small and featured one of those not really a mattress mattresses, but was comfortable enough for one night at least.

They collected full payment upon check-in, so checking out was quick and easy. Breakfast was included, but I did not have the time to check that out in the morning.

They also included a voucher to take the train one-way from the Geneva train stop to the Geneva Airport train stop (though my ticket was never checked on the short 5-minute ride), so that was convenient.

I would definitely stay here again on my way in or out of Geneva. The location is pretty good, as there was a lot to walk around and see in my one night stay.

Below are photos taken during my stay.

Jason DeBord

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock-Subculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night prior to a conference. It should have been really, really easy to find, but I exited out the train station on the wrong side. A local shop owner put me right and I was there in minutes. The reception staff were extremely unwelcoming, not even a hint of a smile. But the robots did give me the travel card and wifi password without asking. A map would have been nice addition to their automation. The room (609) was city facing with lovely views (see photos) and very surprisingly quiet. The room was clean, large wardrobe, desk, 2 chairs. The bathroom was a good size, and had a bath which is partly why I chose this hotel. Good water pressure from a small shower head. The walls adjoining the room are of frosted glass which is a little different, but it did mean the bathroom had natural light in the daytime. I think I got a reasonably good deal on Hotelclub (NZ$247 with $19 later added for taxes), I'm not sure I'd pay the NZ$400-500 it is often advertised at though. The lifts and well are glass offering views over the station and beyond. The lobby has a number of couches - great if you've checked out but have time to spare to use the wifi. Location is brilliant - lovely stroll to shopping area, and one road crossing away from train or bus to airport. Would highly recommend Manor (Rue de Cornavin 6) if general food supplies are required.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZK-ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel room is sparse in its decor; not very welcoming BUT the Wi Fi (that is included) is good and dependable. Overall, you can get quite adequate accommodation of equal or better quality for about half the price and just as handy to the city and railway station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giarcsugref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is centrally located with the disadvantages of the noise and bustle of the city centre and the adjacent train station. This can be avoided to some extent by requesting a room on a higher floor. The décor is simple and clean with lots of light pouring into the narrow corridors on each floor. The rooms are also just large enough to avoid this hotel feeling like a university residence - though it is still a bit institutional. The bathroom was attractively tiled and spotlessly clean. The in-room safe was far too small for my (fairly small) laptop and the hotel reception stocks a wide range of travel adaptors (just in case you didn't bring your own Swiss plug adaptor). The panoramic view from the breakfast room is great. And I was delighted to find a small but perfectly adequate fitness centre in the hotel basement which isn't advertised on their website...

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkwoodTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynzu2
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This conveniently located hotel was a welcome rest point as i was coming back from a 3 hour train ride from Zermatt to catch a plane the following day out of Geneva. It's right across the street for the station and everything is within walking distance. the room is clean, comfortable and the bathroom is fantastic.
My only complaint is that the wi-fi did not work well in the room - i literally had to stand at the room door putting half my body in the hallway to use the wi-fi.
I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is quite large and a little impersonal but for a business trip it was fine. The rooms were quite spacious, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean. The location is very close to the train station so it is also very convenient as a transit point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank columbiaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
201 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#43 of 105 in Geneva
474 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 105 in Geneva
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Property: Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Address: boulevard James-Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing