We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location & value and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great location & value and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and absolutely loved our room and the Cornavin Hotel.

We were fortunate enough to have a room on the top floor (room 910) – we were excited by the prospect of some city views – what we didn’t expect was a wall-to-ceiling glass view overlooking the city, down to the lake and horizon views of the old town! WOW!! Spectacular views of the city 24/7 – even from bed we could watch the lights of the city and the sunrise... perfect!

Our room was spacious – the bed was UBER comfortable and faced the glass wall – it was incredibly relaxing to come back to our room after a full day of sightseeing and just flake out on the bed and watch the city unfold. The A/C was industrial (you could turn the room into an icebox if you wanted) and it was quiet as a mouse, there were also floor length black-out curtains that kept the room dark at night.

There were tea/coffee-making facilities & plenty of storage space for clothes, bags, shoes and a small desk/office area. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by frosted glass which was great for light ambiance, but not so much for sound-proofing!

The hotel is conveniently located next to the main train station and is easily accessible from ground level or from the underground passage (which exits right next to the hotel entrance). The reception staff were welcoming and helpful and explained the conditions of the free travel passes (on buses, trams and the yellow boats) that all hotels must provide to guests upon arrival. The hotel foyer has plenty of couches and tables for relaxing (but mostly used by guests for wifi access – as it was intermittent in the rooms).

Breakfast is on the 8th floor – which is called the ‘panorama’ room as it has wall-to-ceiling views of the city – breakfast was not included in our room price (and was an extra 19CHF each) so we opted to eat outside in the cafes as it was cheaper and from what we could tell – the hotel breakfast was limited to continental options.

If we were to return to Geneva – we will make The Cornavin our first choice for a relaxing stay and we definitely recommend it!!

Room Tip: As previously mentioned - if arriving from the airport - you're entitled to a free travel ticket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    381
    164
    51
    36
See reviews for
117
175
66
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived at Cornavin after our overnight flight and train ride from NYC. We had 2 rooms and were pleased that the hotel did allow us to check into the one that was ready and it was 9 a.m.!!!!!!! We were VERY thankful. Really a great thing after a long trip. There was a small snafu with an extra bed not being in the one room, as requested, but it was taken care of very quickly. The staff was helpful. The breakfast was good in the breakfast room that had a great view. We were quite comfortable in our rooms, a/c good, beds very comfy. No noise. Best part, though, is the location. Right next to the train station and across from the Mont Blanc area. Short walk to Lake Geneva. Free wifi, which worked outside of our room but not in it. One negative--the KEY! OMG, they weighed a ton and were very large.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey_Jet_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had my doubts about this hotel having read some reviews but only needed to stay for one night and most important factor, the price was right.
The location was perfect, right next to train station and closer to where I wanted to be than anticipated. The room was excellent, well appointed and very soundproof so the fact that the hotel is next to the station and main roads was not a problem. Breakfast was included - not always the case in Geneva - and as the dining room is on the 8th floor with good views and lots of light this was a bonus. Beds were very comfortable but only negative aspect of the stay was that we had twin beds pushed together and as the bases were lightweight, the beds could drift apart.
The tip from another reviewer, of buying a free train ticket from baggage collection
at the airport was a good one as the train only takes 6 minutes compared to 25 on the bus. This hotel also provides you with free public transport tickets for the duration of your stay.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had room 715 which was on the better side of the hotel i.e. not overlooking the railway tracks at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muppet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed for one night in August. I arrived late by train and the hotel is very conveniently located opposite the main station. My room was small and faced the train tracks but it was very well soundproofed. The room was comfortable, simply furnished and I slept well. Reception staff weren't the friendliest I've ever encountered but the rate was good in a city where hotel prices are generally very high. I'd happily recommend the Cornavin to anyone looking for a comfortable, straightforward, and centrally-located place to stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
452 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Amazing location, just on the side of the main train station. (If you are exiting the train station facing out toward the main front central entrances, turn to your RIGHT, walk across the street). Very large spacious rooms, very very clean, everything worked, nice bedding, quiet room with insulated glass. Air conditioning worked great in the hot summer weather. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice views from some rooms on higher floors. Nice furnishings in the room, great bathroom amenities, and nice towels too. The hotel gave me an electrical adapter for my u.s. plugs. The breakfast, included in most rates, was outstanding, very fresh and nice selection, although no scrambled eggs, only hard boiled. It's possible if you ask for them, they can get them for you, as happens sometimes in Swiss hotels. Breakfast room is all glass on top floor, with absolutely stunning views of the city and mountain on cloudless mornings. Many trams leave virtually from the hotel front door, to all of Geneva. The only problem is a park across the street is filled with drug addicts and homeless. Do not go near that park. It's easy to avoid, and you're probably going to or from the train station, or to Mont Blanc street, the main pedestrian shopping area, so no real problem, but be aware that small park when exiting the hotel to the right, does not seem safe at all, any time of day or night.

Room Tip: High floor has best views of city/mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed recently for 4 nights and was pleasently surprised with this hotel. While the rooms were basic in terms of bedding, desk, bathroom, etc they do offer free wi-fi and you cant beat the location as everything is within walking distance. Breakfast was sparse and overpriced but the room charge was very inexpensive for Geneva. Would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while my boyfriend was here working and spent a lot of time exploring the city on my own.
The hotel is a perfect location for a tourist; walking distance to the lake and an array of restaurants.
I was worried about noise from outside when I realised how close we were to the train station but it is minimal. The window in our room was the full width of the room and the view from the 7th floor is lovely.
Breakfast was fine, nice fresh coffee, croissants, fruit and continental cheeses. However, it was over priced!
The beds were comfortable, the room
Was clean and whilst waiting for dinner I could even watch the Olympics as they have English channels!
Staff were friendly and the hotel was a pleasant surprise! I would recommend for a short city break!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliviajane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#27 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Property: Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Address: boulevard James- Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing