We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #40 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We travelled to Geneva by car as we live in Switzerland however this hotel is more suited to people arriving by train or plane as the hotel has no parking. There is the train station parking right infornt but it is very very expensive. We had to park our car in a public parking around 1.5 km away from the hotel in order not to be charged too much for parking.
Otherwise the hotel is situated in the centre and within easy reach, by foot, of the main tourist attractions. Rooms are quite spacious and clean. Breakfast is continental but enough variety to get you going for the day. It is also served on the 8th floor so you can see the Jet d'Eau and if the visibility is good you can get a good glimpse of the Mont Blanc.
As for Geneva it did not impress us much as a city. Nearby Lausanne is nicer and if you have a car you could also visit the French city of Annecy which is very worth seeing (for one day) and only 20-30 min drive.

Room Tip: The higher the room you get the better view of the city you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 836 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you are staying in Geneva and need easy connection to the station then this is the hotel to stay in. Its opposite the main Geneva station. We were on the top floor room with amazing view of the Jet D'eau and the city - this is one of their best rooms so be sure to book this if possible. The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast room is also well placed, though very less choices in the hot food section.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor room with amazing view of the Jet D'eau and the city - this is one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights during a recent visit to Switzerland. It is across the street from the train station so it wasn't far to lug our ski luggage. The room was spacious and comfortable. Face cloths were not provided but the toiletries were adequate. The bathroom walls were curved frosted glass. I found it very difficult to look at the walls, and the glass isn't exactly sound proof, haha. We noticed that the tv was smaller than average. The room had a mini fridge/bar, but I don't think it was cooling, the light was one but the items inside were room temperature. The hotel supplied a transit card that was valid for our stay, including the train ride back to the airport.

We couldn't identify a 'whooshing' noise in hotel room. It could have been from the train station below or the elevator at the end of the hall. It was annoying and happened at regular intervals. The room was hot, and I don't think the air conditioning was on yet but we could open the windows to cool the room but noticed mosquitoes in the morning.

The internet did not work in the room. It occassionally worked in the hallway and at times it was slow in the lobby. Very inconvenient.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. It was CF 19 per person and didn't have anything interesting in the buffet - meats, cheeses, bread. There are some great views from the breakfast room though. Instead, we walked over to the train station and picked up some warm cheese quiches for CF6.90. There was coffee service in the room.

I didn't realize the shops in Geneva are closed on Sundays.... and also on Easter Monday. That was disappointing as we only had those two days in Geneva. We didn't really see anything in Geneva that would bring us back here though.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapleleaf_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was a short stay in order to attend a meeting at the United Nations. The hotel reception was welcoming and helpful. The main attraction of the hotel is convenience in the centre of Geneva and right by the railway station - yet there is good sound-proofing and I heard no noise from the station or city during the night - with the window closed. I was NOT facing the station, so it may be different 'at the back'. There is an excellent view from the rooftop restaurant, but I did not have breakfast there. In summary - a convenient and comfortable city centre hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd135z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Talking about Geneva you can say it is still ok but only because you are probably in one of the worst places world-wide when comes to quality of hospitality. The hotel is decent, the furniture is cheap, the carpet has not been changed in the past 5 years, the mattress is broken, some of the guests should be gently taken to jail, the gym is a joke and Internet does not work, all for the amazing rate of 250CHF per night with corporate rate! Welcome to Geneva

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel could be good for sleepy business persons that don't have a car. The hotel is not a 4 star hotel (may be 3). It has all the basic things you need, but. There is no place to park your car to download your suitecases. We actually saw a criminal taking a bag from a car that was parked by the hotel. So, it is not safe!!! The picture of the hotel is in the website not true. The train pass right behind the hotel and the trolly right in front of our window and the building shakes.The staff is NOT friendly (they do try). The big clock is not impressive and the same goes for the view from the 8 floor. I would try the Warrwick hotel for the same price. It is located in a best part of the cornavin square.

Room Tip: High floor room, away fron the train station and busses noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shay_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed here with my parents in a triple room on the 9th floor. I loved the room! It was spacious with enough room for multiple bags and ability to move comfortably around. The view of Geneva from the room is very nice! There is a safe and a mini fridge inside. Wifi is complementary, although you do have to go down to the lobby to use it. I didn't mind because they have a number of comfortable couches where you can lounge. The staff is very friendly and is happy to help with questions or requests you may have. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the train station so access to transportation is fairly easy. The reception also gave us a complementary public transportation card for unlimited use of buses and trams in the city. Although the hotel is expensive, I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 9th floor! Even though it is located really close to the train station, you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
261 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#29 of 106 in Geneva
1,024 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 106 in Geneva
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#38 of 106 in Geneva
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Address: boulevard James-Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $132 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing