We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, lcoation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
Ranked #44 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is located next door to Starbucks and around the corner from the pedestrian street with lots of restaurants and shops and which leads to the bridge in the direction of old town (about 20-25 minutes walk). It is also only a minute walk from Gare Cornavin and 5 minutes from the bus station where we caught the bus to Annecy, France. The rooms are on the small side but is of contemporary design and shows good use of space with use. Service was not particularly good. We asked for extra pillows after 8pm only to be told that the housekeeper had left for the day so we would have to wait until tomorrow. I would have thought that any staff member could have easily retrieved the pillows for us from storage. Free wifi inside room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cristal Design
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 495 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you like soft furnishings, carpet. upholstered chairs, wood furniture in your room, then this place is NOT for you! The interior design is contemporary, sharp, blue, ice-like glass panels and funky reflecting the ice-capped peaks of the Alps. On a hot summers evening the room and hotel were just perfect.. cool and refreshing after a day sightseeing.

The breakfast terrace has a view of the Lake Fountain over the roof tops and the buffet was the usual Swiss selection (boiled eggs were the only hot food available and no toaster).

The room was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The Hotel is only a few minutes walk from Geneva Rail Station and just ten minutes walk to the Bus station (where the tours start from) and the tourist information office. There's restaurants just round the corner too. It was the most convenient hotel we have stayed in for a long time.

You would think that the rooms would be noisy with the street scene nearby, but they were not. We were on the 7th floor and did get some slight noise from chairs in the breakfast terrace above us, but nothing to complain about.

All in all a great hotel for exploring Geneva, Would definately stay again and have no hesitation recommending to others who wouldn't mind a clean, contemporary hotel at a good price.

Room Tip: Go for a 6th floor room facing towards the lake (no view though).. high enough from the street scene...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndigoWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is true that this hotel is within walking distance of the train station and a reasonable cab ride to the airport. The staff was courteous and most important - the room was clean but a very strange design of glass and etched glass. If you are driving, you may want to skip this hotel and find one where there are actually parking spaces available. We stayed Saturday night and my husband and I almost lost each other while he went to find a parking place for our rented car so that we could unload our luggage. We were threatened by several people while trying to unload our car (the single parking space in front of the hotel was occupied by someone not supposed to be there).

So - the parking problem isn't the hotel's fault. If you are using public transportation, then this is an ok hotel. HOWEVER - the smoke detectors were covered with plastic (see the photo)!

As reported by others, this location is in the middle of a crowded, noisy part of the city, and there are street walkers (they have to make a living, too, right?). Even though the street was noisy, the room was relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoHappyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and found it a trendy and boutique style hotel. Friendly staff and good service. Set in a busy area which did not seem to be the best part of town the hotel is of a good standard and would have no problem staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenJayManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel Cristal was conveniently located within a short walking distance to the train station. The staff was very friendly and courteous. One positive was that we (2 couples with 2 separate rooms) were able to check-in early (12 p.m.) and not have to sit around and wait until check-in time. The rooms were adequate, except for the fact that they were warm. Despite having access to the thermostat, we couldn't make the rooms any cooler. We even went downstairs to have the staff help us, but we were told that management doesn't want them tampering with the air except for the hotel lobby. We had no choice but to sleep with the windows open which only increased the noise level. However, it was too warm to open the windows during the day while getting ready for dinner. For those of us who like or are used to a cooler environment, Hotel Cristal is not the place to stay. The Wifi doesn't work in all rooms, but works great in the lobby! They also have a separate room set up for ironing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I spent 1 night during May in a double for single use at the Hotel Cristal Design. I thought it comfortable, modern, and well-located.

It is very close to the main train station in Geneva (Gare de Cornavin -- take the pedestrian exit labeled “rue du Mont-Blanc” and, once in the open, look to your left – you’ll seen the sign for the hotel.) From the hotel, it’s an easy walk of less than 10 minutes to the lovely promenade edging Lake Geneva or an easy (different) 10-minute walk to the bridge across the Rhone that leads to Geneva’s Old Town. And there are lots of shops and restaurants in the immediate area.

As others have noted, the modern and clever use of mirrors and attention to efficiency make the rooms seem larger than they are. I was glad that the bed (which was very comfortable, with very large pillows and a lofty comforter) was a double, even if it left little free room on either side, but that’s a matter of personal choice. The room and its bathroom both had plenty of counter space and the shower had lots of hot water at good pressure. Staff were multilingual and helpful.

The breakfast room is on the hotel’s 8th floor and should offer a spectacular view when a view is possible. (I encountered fog and rain on the morning I was there, but the few glimpses I had were stunning!) I thought the selection offered by the breakfast buffet more than sufficient.

If you want to be pampered, I doubt that this hotel is for you. If you want good service in a comfortable, modern, well-located space, the Hotel Cristal is well worth considering.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Cristal Design for 3 nights. I would stay here again. The location was excellent. It was steps from the train station which made if very convenient for me since I was hopping on and off trains throughout my trip. The staff was helpful and professional. My favorite part of my stay was definitely the breakfast - the view was really nice and the coffee and the breakfast was very good. It was relaxing and a nice way to start the day. My room was on the small side but it was fine - it was clean and sleek and the bathroom was very cool. The bed was very comfortable as were the fluffy comforters.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annalouiseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
242 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 106 in Geneva
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#37 of 106 in Geneva
823 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Address: rue Pradier 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $128 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing