We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean modern convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
Ranked #42 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clean modern convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had alot of luggage coming off 9 days driving through Switzerland. The hotel was on a relatively quiet street and we could unload easily before returning car to Avis which is two blocks away. Very centrally located near train central, lake geneva fountain and monuments. Room was very well equipped and good size bathroom. Breakfast on top floor was bright and served good spread. Best was location, where we could easily dragged our luggage to train station through underpass.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    244
    94
    22
    11
See reviews for
63
132
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

When it comes to design, it is just whether you like it or you don't. Cristal Hotel's room design is one that I like very much!!

Coming out from the train station, and it was on your left with 20 steps away. Starbuck's is on the corner with other cafes and MacDonald's on the main street.

Room is mini but adequate. However, shower area is large enough (I don;t know why some hotels' shower area is so tiny that even a mini-me cannot shower easily). There is an oval shape large mirror catering for people from 5'5 to 6'5 and a small magnifier mirror (for 5'5 only sorry) in the toilet. Basin area is small where there are no space to put your own amenities.

Wardrobe is nice with hangers and many levels. I just hate those old and ugly looking wardrobe that you simply do not want to put your clothes into it. Surprisingly, there is a kettle and coffee maker. First time in my trip.

Staff speak fluent English and are extremely nice!

I can check-in as early as 11:45am. I think that adds credit to this hotel since if there are already cleaned rooms available, why just simply let your guests to use them instead of sticking to the rule of check-in time?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucerneSau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our room was the average size of most European hotels, smaller, but comfortable and clean. The design is modern with lots of glass. An advantage was the air conditioning, which most hotels in Switzerland do not have. We stayed during a warm spell and it was nice to have a cool room. The staff were friendly and easy to communicate with. Free wifi was a great perk and the location is very convenient, especially if you travel by train. Our shower was roomy and easy to move around in and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: An easy walk to the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

it was an incredibly expensive week in Geneva. some big conferences. Cristal was charging relatively more than the usual, like the other hotels, but remained one of the only sanely priced options. Location is great - just near the train station, room very clean, high-techy design look but generally just minimal. However, that did the job for a small room - gave it a feeling of space (the big windows and glass doors inside the room helped to create that effect as well.
in sum - nothing inspirational, but a choice of well priced hotel that gives a feeling of being in a clean and comfortable setup.
Starbucks just next door - bad coffee and high prices. not the hotel's fault. Some people will appreciate this neraby option...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyMguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
292 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel due to their design. The room is new, nice and modern (excluding the room key). The bed may be too soft but I like it. The cable TV has several channels. Location is great, very close to main station, close distance to the lake, convenience store, restaurants, shopping area. Staff is nice and friendly. Breakfast is simple, same and not so variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalopages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Having been warned in advance about Geneva prices this hotel seemed too good to be true. Excellent central location, very friendly and accommodating staff, we spent two nights here over the Bank Holiday weekend for just £75 a night.
The rooms are very modern but functional. My only one small gripe was the lack of English speaking channels on the TV. But apart from that I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for the price we paid.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel was booked by my Italian colleagues. We were looking for a less expensive hotel for Geneva but with a good location. In this case, the location was perfect. It is very close to the Cornavin train station, making transportation to/from the airport and convention center a breeze. Traffic is an issue in Geneva and the use of public transportation is much faster. There are many restaurants and shopping close by the hotel. It is also an easy walk across one of three bridges to the old town and center of Geneva.

The hotel is called a minimalist type hotel. It is a good description. As you enter the room, you are immediately in front of the wash basin and to the right, across from the wash basin is the toilet and shower behind a glass door.

There is glass everywhere in the room, including glass tiles on the floor. The closet is in a glass cabinet with shelves and are small. The lighting is mostly indirect and is the only real complaint I had with the room. The wash basin area and mirror were surprisingly dim.

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. These are the most important things to me in a hotel room. There is also a desk in the room, sort of anyway. It is a laminate, narrow plank with a plastic chair. It can just hold a letter size folder in depth but about 75 cm wide. The air conditioning, if there was any, did not seem to work and my room was a bit too warm for me. I found it difficult to adjust the thermostat. I was able to open a window but this just let in the noise from the street where motorcycles were parked. Opening the window as a bit surprising because for some reason the hotel installed a large mirror on the wall adjacent to the window. It was unexpected and initially startling to find myself staring back at me.

The staff were aloof but did their job without any difficulty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#28 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#34 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Property: Hotel Cristal Design
Address: rue Pradier 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing