We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend for 2 in Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
Ranked #43 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend for 2 in Geneva”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had an excellent time in Geneva and this hotel is great value for a break, I booked using the hotels own website and also printed the breakfast voucher off this website for a free breakfast, which is in a rather nice room on the 8th floor where you can see the "water jet" and catherdral and mountains over the rooftops. We got an excellent deal on the hotel website for a 2 night stay (£55 a night for a double room) and got breakfast thrown in with the voucher. Geneva is not a cheap place so I was "very pleased" our hotel and breakfast was probably cheaper than the equivelant in the UK. Room is compact but very clean and I thought quite cool, had kettle and coffee/tea and a tele and a comfy bed. nice shower (no bath) usual toiletries etc.
We arrived by plane and took the train to the centre, its a 5 minute train journey and you can get a free ticket to travel if you look for the machine in the bag collection area (check Geneva airport website for more info). Easy to find the train station, the the hotel is about a 4 minute stroll once you get off the train, 3 minutes getting out the train station and 1 minute around the corner to the hotel. It was so easy from getting off the plane to getting to our hotel room as well.
To get a free trip back to the airport on the train, use the Geneva travel card the hotel gives you...you could use it around Geneva as well but we walked.
The hotel is also about a 10 minute stroll down the the lake, and is in a good district for food and drink / shops etc (as its next to the train station), so could not have asked for much more.
On top of that weather was excellent, recommend a dip in the lake and a stroll around the old town and have a Calvinus beer in the squre.
Overall, thoughly recommended.

Room Tip: 4th floor was fine, apparently 7th floor noisey as the breakfast room is above on the 8th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    252
    96
    23
    12
See reviews for
67
136
45
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
337 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Steps from main train station. Three blocks from bus station. Two blocks from Tourist Information. Best deal for an airconditioned room in this location. Very very clean. Modern design. Rooms small but very efficiently designed. Breakfast room on top floor with great view of city and lake - and all the way to Mont Blanc. Reception area with several couches and coffee tables. Very quiet rooms, comfortable beds. Grocery store about two blocks away. Got Geneva transportation card from reception clerk.
Although the hotel's website showed no vacancies, another TA member suggested I check Geneva's tourist bureau website which I did and got an excellent deal on a triple room for 180 chf. When we checked in, they had no triples and gave us a single plus a double at the same rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I arrived at the hotel in the evening, after having reserved the room that same day. Check in was very fast, room was nice, with all the amenities you may need for a business trip. Room was small, although the design was very nice and functional. Bathroom of good quality and clean. Small TV with many swiss and international channels. Bed was comfortable and air conditioning worked great. Many power outlets in the room, wireless internet worked very well inside the room.
Even though you may think the neighborhood could be noisy, I could sleep very well and did not hear any noise during the night. Breakfast was 19 Francs, so I decided to instead have breakfast at a cafe nearby for a quarter of the price. I would recommend it to anyone staying for a short time in geneva near the station.
Prices like everywhere in Geneva, although you may be lucky like me and get a good bargain at one of the many websites that offer reservations for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrado P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Felt like I was in a modern art exhibit with the design and arrangement of the room. Let's face it, rooms in Geneva are small. My room looked just like the photos. Staff were friendly. I took breakfast one morning and enjoyed the view. Great location - short easy walk to bus stops or the train station each day for me to get to my meetings. It is also a short walk to the lake in the afternoon and evening. WIFI a plus and room was clean and kept that way during my stay. I told everyone at my conference about this property as an alternative to staying close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundWorld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I got a great deal via the hotels own website (80 CHF for a single room pr. night) and took advantage of Tripadvisors coupon offer on free breakfast. Location is in the city centre close to all sights or transportation to get you there (free when staying in a hotel in Geneva). Room was nice but basic and really just for sleeping.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing away from the street due to noise from outside restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Cristal is a nice affordable alternative to many of the other hotels near Cornavin. Less than a 10 minute walk from the station. Hotel is clean and very modern. Best of all, the room is very quiet, a nice surprise given the bustle of the neighborhood near the train station.

The rooms are a bit spartan -- white walls, no pictures -- very minimalist. But overall, a good hotel in a very convenient location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NYGuyInMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Modern glass design rooms, very compact but comfortable.
Very conveniently located next to the Station.
Helpful Staff. Very minimal breakfast spread – scope for improvement.Free Wi - Fi through out the hotel and also free Internet terminals in the basement

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagdish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
433 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#35 of 105 in Geneva
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Property: Hotel Cristal Design
Address: rue Pradier 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing