We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location but mixed up order took away the gloss !”

Windows Restaurant at Hotel d'Angleterre
Reserve with
Windows Restaurant at Hotel d'Angleterre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 1,716 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $187
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location but mixed up order took away the gloss !”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Windows is blessed with a wonderful view of Lake Geneva and we decided to have afternoon tea whilst on our short stay in August.
We ordered our tea - but then the wait began - I had to speak with the waitress who then apologized - our order had been given to another customer. Rather sad as our tea had already been served and was now rather tepid !.
When the sandwiches et al arrived they were rather good without being exceptional - and unfortunately the order mix up had rather taken the edge of what should have been a very pleasant experience. The cost was approx £ 40.
The location was the star of this particular dining experience !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XodaSnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Windows Restaurant at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comment regarding your recent experience at the Windows Restaurant.

Even if I was happy to read that you enjoyed our location and its unique views on the Jet d'Eau and the Mont-Blanc Mountains, I apologise for the mistake of my colleague failing to serve your favourite Tea in due time. This should not have happened and I am sorry it impacted the overall enjoyment of your Afternoon Tea.

Together with the restaurant team, we strive to serve the best Afternoons teas in Geneva, taking as an example our sister hotels in London.

I wish you will be back in Geneva soon, allowing me to greet you once again to check by yourself the improvement we made to our Afternoon Tea.

Kindest regards,

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    63
    35
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but pittyful Restaurant”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel d'Angleterre for one night. Having to get up early to catch a flight back to the US, we decided to have dinner downstairs. While the hotel service, attention to detail and overall quality is tops the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The Chef and the kitchen staff might be touted as culinary wonders (on the menu), but the quality of the preparation is far from wonderful and way-way overpriced. A Dover sole meuniere is one of my favorite dishes. I've had it around the world. The one my wife had here must have been one of the worse in the world. Insufficiently sauteed, floating in funny tasting butter...OMG. No garniture....Another guest ordered the foie gras as a main course. It came wrapped in chewy bacon pieces, which of course totally masks, if not destroys, the finer aspect of foie gras. Who would dare to let something akin leave a supposedly renowned kitchen? Shameful, especially given the pricing on the menu. Sevice was reasonably attententive but not "on point". The Hotel is great....Skip the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dh2dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Windows Restaurant at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Giving the best experience to our client is so important to us that I was really sad to read that we did not managed to give you the same level of satisfaction at the hotel and at the restaurant.

At dinner time, our "Dover Sole" is prepared in front of you and the Meunière Sauce is poured by the waiter once your sole has been fileted. I will make sure my colleague are extra careful when it come to serving the Meuniere Butter.

Regarding the Duet of Foie Gras, the Foie Gras is prepared in two different ways : one is poached into a red mulled wine, giving the foie gras an enjoyable spicy taste. The other is wrapped into smoked duck breasts thin slices, giving a bit of their smoky taste to the Foie Gras. This dish is one of the best sellers of our restaurant and is regularly praised by our guests.

I hope you'll allow our Chef to convince you with his style of cuisine during your next trip to Geneva.

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 starts service and foods”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very proffesional staff and different selections of foods and drinks. But small place and doesn't have a terrace to enjoy the fresh air.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just try it, you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I tried Windows on a visit to Geneva during Festival and once entering the restaurant I was amazed how much of a different atmosphere was there to the noisy fairground background that was outside. The cool air was a blessing in the August heat and I felt instantly welcome. The restaurant itself has a very cool and trendy atmosphere with gentle but rhythmic music taking your mind away to a place where you can simply enjoy the food. The service was impeccable, the whole team worked incredibly well together and their enjoyment and passion for customer satisfaction was brilliant. I chose the taster menu, Indian based cuisine as a special during the festival. Philippe Audonnet has an amazing talent for flavour, and each dish was different but excellent on the palette. I could not stop smiling as I ate each dish, complimented well by the wine that the Somellier recommended. It was expensive but I didn't think overpriced, especially for Geneva. And the staff could not be more helpful and were never intrusive. Please try it out, I can't imagine anyone regretting it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and service. Nothing too much trouble for the staff who took the time to explain the menu.
Worthy of Michelin star food. Not cheap but you can say that about all of Geneva.
Really enjoyed the meal. It was not only what we ordered that was great, but also the many little snacks and nibbles in between which made this a mmorable dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows Restaurant at Hotel d'Angleterre also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Windows Restaurant at Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing