We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic with great service!”
Review of The Mediterranean Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mediterranean Grill
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic with great service!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We were in need of something quick and tasty and found this place on Tripadvisor. Absolutely first class - we are big fans of Lebanese food but had never had Turkish food before.

Shared a mixed plate of appetizers for two, and also shared a mixed grill of meats for one and it was enough for lunch. The starters were excellently matched for a mixed plate, and the mixed grill of meats had kofte kebabs and lambs liver as well as the usual cuts of lamb and chicken.

It was pretty quiet and we got just the right level of service from the owner/manager. The price also wasnt bad for Geneva....chf60 and we both felt well fed.

Well worth a try

Helpful?
Thank SantAntoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, but I was let down by the ambiance”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I love turkish food, and I think the Mediterranean Grill has a very nice menu. I especially liked their platter of appetizers - you get a taste of a half dozen appetizers before a shish kabob or other main dish. The prices are also very reasonable. The only drawback, and unfortunately it's a pretty major one, is that the inside decor is really outdated. They really need to invest on a new decor, because it really takes away from the dining experience as it is right now.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Turkish restaurant, but not cheap.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Yes, the appetizers are delicious.
Yes, the meat dishes are charcoal-grilled and therefore taste much better than at the standard Turk resto.

But: you can also expect that for 26CHF for four pieces of Kofte, plus 26CHF for the mixed appetizers for two.

Recommended is the Turkish wine for around 30-35CHF.

All in all, I agree the food is good, but everything else would be impertinent if you get a bill of 120CHF for some mixed appetizers, four pieces of Köfte per person, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. While the open grill is quite nice when you sit in the back, the atmosphere and decoration is not really inspiring. Therefore: Average rating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manti Manti Manti !!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I just discovered a great Turkish dish called MANTI ! They say it Turkish Ravioli but it is definitely much more tasty than ravioli especially if you like yoghurt souche like me :)
There is only one downside, it was the dish of the day, so not a part of normal menu... In my opinion they have to add Manti to their everyday menu...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geneve1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wee place to eat!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Bit out of the main town and decor not spectacular but the resturant makes up for this with fantastic food, great service and they are very customer focused! They take pride in what they serve and kindly brought us a free course of tasters between courses as he saw that we loved the starters! Oh and a free drinks at the end after we had paid the bill. A nice touch. If you like quality meat that well prepared this is the place for you. Reasonable priced for an expensive Geneva!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlasticJockGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing