We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Nearby Hotels
$804
$520
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$227
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$139
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel N'vY(Geneva)
$384
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$422
$302
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$302
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$370
$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
70
208
145
52
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
208
145
52
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcontinental breakfast ismini barfree wifiwalking distance to the lakehotel is locatedconvenient locationold townpublic transporttwo blockssingle roomlate at nightyogurtnice breakfastmin walkfree passan expensive city
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 498 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I think the two best things about this hotel are its location and its breakfast. The breakfast is pretty standard, but it's really nice to have good coffee and something to eat before one heads off for the day. On our last trip to a BW in Paris, breakfast was not included, and we appreciate having that option very much.

The location, in terms of proximity to things, is very good. It's close to the train station, just a block away, and it's really easy to walk to the Rhone and into Old Town, or anywhere in Geneva. However, one thing to know is that it is on the "edge" of the tourist area and the red light district. As one reviewer said, one side is the red light district and the other side is the tourist area. We felt safe, really, but it's one of those details that some people like to know.

In terms of location of the room in the hotel, we would have preferred not to be facing the side street, Rue des Alpes. We liked to have the window open as it was a nice temperature outside, and we found it be somewhat noisy during the night with people walking by and talking with their friends.

We found the room clean and well-taken care of. It was a bit on the small side, which we expected, but it was fine. There wasn't a coffee/tea maker in the room, which would have been nice, especially later in the evening. I'm guessing we could have asked for one, as well as a fan, if we needed it, but alas, we didn't ask.

The front staff was helpful and cordial. It was nice to get the transportation tickets and to know we had access to the buses and trams while we were there. We also got one in France, before we came to Geneva, and I hope this practice becomes more widespread as it's a great little perk.

We took the train to the hotel from the airport, which was really, really fast (six minutes). However, on the way back to the airport, we called a cab because we had such heavy luggage. We were told it could be 30-40 Swiss francs, but in reality it was 48! That really stung, so if you're watching how much you spend in Geneva (Wow -- what an expensive city!), use the public transportation if it works for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhodes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night with a mate in a twin room. For the price, this hotel was spot on. Very close to the main train station (5 minute walk), and right on the edge of the main part of Geneva with its bars, shops, restaurants etc. Hotel room was very comfortable and reasonably sized (with some strange but oddly intriguing monkey pictures on the wall!). Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, and gave us our free travel tickets upon check-in without having to be asked. Breakfast was actually quite good, with a varied selection of Cheese, Ham, bread, cereals, tea and coffee. It's help yourself so you can fill up on as much or as little as you want.

I would definitely stay here again if I came to Geneva. My only reason for knocking down by 1 star is the lack of air-con in the rooms (as it was V hot when we were there). Other than that, an ideal base for exploring this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikey_westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Finding a hotel at a more or less acceptable rate is a difficult task in Geneva. The Best Western Strasbourg offers correct accommodation at a correct price. It's central location, very close to the railway station (in a rather quiet side road) with lots of restaurants and shopping opportunities nearby is an advantage.
While the decor was slightly outdated (by my taste) and slightly on the darkish side, he room was clean and in good shape. Bathroom appliances were working very well and all was clean. The Flat TV was ok and I got free WiFi access. No A/C, but in GVA most of the time that is not necessary.
I never take breakfast at a hotel, except for very special ones, but I did have a look at the breakfast room. Looked ok to me with a standard choice of breakfast food. I had breakfast in the Starbucks around the corner and there would be plenty other alternatives nearby for those who do not like to start their day in a hotel-breakfast-room.
Overall a satisfying (but not exciting) experience, with really friendly staff.

Biggest plus:
- location
- good value
- rather quiet considering the central location

Minus points:
- relatively small bed
- lack of charm / design

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Overall, poor value for money depending on how much you pay.
Pros:
1. Location: very close to the train station, car rentals, several restaurants, the touristy area and attractions.
2. Good sized rooms, bathrooms and staircases. Clean linen.
Cons
1. Usual indifferent European staff, indifferent breakfast (even for Best Western)
2. Dingy, dark, depressing décor, small lobby (do not go on their pictures)
3. On the right side of hotel are ethnic restaurants, dangerous looking seedy people, constant prostitution. Not safe. On the left side totally different, safe touristy area.
4. NO AC. The hotel is hot, stuffy, humid. Could barely sleep when they loaned us a fan. Not every room got one though. NOT SUITABLE FOR SUMMER STAY.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodLuck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is located steps away from Cornavin train station making it a very good location. There are lots of restaurants and coffee shops, and shopping nearby which is definitely a plus. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and always had a smile on their face. The only thing I wish they had was Air Conditioning for the price that we payed, but they do provide a fan in the room. The breakfast was decent and as expected. Will definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again! Happy Travels :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews