We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Ranked #59 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice stay but poor location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

had a lovely weekend in Geneva staying at the Best Western Strasbourg, I am unsure about the bad reviews as we had a lovely stay. Our worst thing about this hotel were the directions from the Train Station, & then we got a bus. The Hotel itself is very comfortable, the staff are nothing but pleasent and friendly and helped us with everything we needed. The room itself was on the small side, we did not spend too much time in there as we wanted to see all the sites. We found the bed comfortable & generally had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    184
    133
    44
    23
See reviews for
39
160
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, in January 2013. The room was quite clean, and had recently been renovated, so it smelled a bit like fresh paint and wood. The bed was ok, and the linnen clean.

The only problem is the noise, as the construction teams were there all day drilling, which made it impossible to sleep past 9, even in the week ends. Breakfast was average, i would even say poor for what you can usually get in Geneva, but the personnel is really helpful and nice.

Location is very good, as a few steps from Gare Cornavin, and minutes walking from Lac Leman.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_Feghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for three nights. Hotel is ok, but its in a very noisy location and you are often disturbed if you want an early night. Staff are friendly and helpful, but the hotel is a basic no frills style.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Geneva staying at the Best Western Strasbourg, I am unsure about the bad reviews as we had a lovely stay.

Our worst thing about this hotel were the directions from the Train Station, it is ok, we found it, but they were not very clear. If you are coming from the Train Station, to find this hotel, exit the station at the main entrance/exit lake side, standing with your back to entrance/exit look across to road beyond the tram stops and directly in front of you is a row of restaurants, bars etc - Look to your left and on the corner, you will see a large restaurant called Les Brasseurs, head towards this, as you approach you will see a road running down the side of the restaurant, go down this road and then take the first right, you will see the Hotel straight away.

The Hotel itself is quite small but it is very comfortable, the staff are nothing but pleasent and friendly and helped us with everything we needed. The room itself was on the small side, but staying for only two nights, were did not spend too much time in there as we wanted to see all the sites. We found the bed comfy - well we slept very well anyway. The breakfast in the morning was adequate, a choice of cereal, breads, Jam, cheese, ham etc etc - everything you would expect for a small hotel offereing a continental breakfast not a 5 star all inclusive in Mexico.

The hotel is in a great location, you really can not go too wrong, a couple of mins to the train station, tram stops, bus stops etc. Turning left out of the Hotel, this takes you to a Starbucks and to a little shopping area and then into the Metro Shopping centre. Right opposite the hotel is the Les Brasseurs as mentioned above. The back entrance is directly opp the hotel, and this is a good place to eat - I am sure there are many others but I admit we ate here both nights. There are plenty of pubs/bars too, The Britannia, Lord Jim were very good for us English and made us feel very welcome, there are plenty of others but we tended to head back to these bars. There is also a small supermarket if you turn right out the hotel and right again, its just along there.

There is a lot to see and do in Geneva, but a must is to head to the tourist info on your first morning, here they will give you a free comprehensive map of all the sites to see - it was fantastic. And dont forget to pick up your FREE travel passes from the hotel which gives you access to the train, trams and buses and includes the trip on the train back to the airport - If only our country could take some learning from these European Cities.

All in all we had a superb break away and the Hotel was great for the price - Try it !!!!

Room Tip: A street view room seems to be the best option as less noise apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

GOOD
- Close to the main train station Cornavin
- Some rooms are starting to be renovated

BAD
- Old and stuffy rooms
- Small beds (I slept in a single, and almost fell off my bed, it was very narrow)
- Uncomfortable pillow (the pillow was so "high", my neck hurt the next morning. When I asked for a lower one, the clerk said they did not have any other pillows)
- Unfriendly personnel (I asked for a 2nd internet code for the phone and had to argue with the night clerk)

Not recommendable

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoboBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are dark and outdated, the burgundy carpet seem old and not quite on the clean side of the spectrum. Matress and sheets are worn out and need to be replaced No shampoo and the soap was liquid like the public wc type.

On the good side was the location, very convenient and near the station, the staff was polite and the brakfast was ok.

Been in geneve before and I have to say that there are better choices for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice rooms, clean. Good value for money as a whole, excellent location. Wi-FI could be improved for some rooms. Good breakfast. Kind personnel. 1 minute walking form the railway station. Free public transport card provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
475 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#54 of 105 in Geneva
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#44 of 105 in Geneva
112 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#43 of 105 in Geneva
483 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#55 of 105 in Geneva
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Strasbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Strasbourg

Property: Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Address: rue Pradier 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Strasbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Traditional Hotel located in the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Strasbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Strasbourg
Best Western Geneva
Geneva Best Western
Best Western Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing