We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel shame about the food price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel President Wilson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel President Wilson
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel shame about the food price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I arrived on 24th December for a two day stay.
The hotel itself is centrally located only a short walk from bus stops and local shops.
The room was spotless and well equipped with a beautiful background view of the mountains and the Rhone. Bang & Olufsen T.V with BBC channels 1.2.3.4 & BBC world news
The staff were attentive and polite.
My only criticism really was the food price.
We ate two omelettes and only two small chocolate croissants with tea and coffee one morning, we were given a 94 swiss franc bill ( equates to around £68), we could have had a buffet breakfast consisting of bacon sausage etc but was given the bill straight after finishing our omelette's which I found a little rude.
Room service was too expensive around £35-£40 for a burger and around £20 for bolognaise.
Lastly be aware there is no indoor swimming pool only an outside pool, there was a gymnasium but I did not use this facility
I would return for sure, but would not have breakfast!

Room Tip: bus number 25 or number 1 drops a two minute walk from the hotel this leaves from the train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srichathire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sontrip,

Thank you for sharing your feedbacks through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are very delighted to learn that you appreciated the location, facilities and service within our property, as we always do our best to provide guests a unique experience.

In term of the price for breakfast and room service, please note that the rate is constantly evaluated and we offer the same range of price as other 5 stars hotels in Geneva.

We are sorry to know that you had an unpleasant experience caused by our staff. I have notified this situation that you mentioned above to the restaurant and would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service.

Should you wish to receive any news and happenings, we invite you to follow our Facebook or Twitter page.

We are looking forward to seeing you back in 2013 at the Hotel President Wilson.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    161
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
70
152
43
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the HPW last week. Second time, and once again, outstanding.

I arrived without my luggage, and the electronic token the agency at the airport provided did not work on-line, so I was not able to report the lost luggage. One of the concierge staff - Claudia - made contact with the agency on my behalf to make the claim, and repeatedly followed up on my behalf given the lack of online information. This is the exact kind of service experience that will keep me coming back to the President Wilson and recommending it to others.

My only critique might be the cost of the breakfast buffet (47 CHF). It was a good buffet, and I've not benchmarked that versus other hotels in Geneva, but seriously? That said, the dinner at Arabesque (at the hotel) was excellent and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlumniDog84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear AlumniDog84,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

It is unfortunate to hear about the experience that you encountered regarding the lost luggage. The Hotel President Wilson always does the best to offer professional assistance for our customers, it is our great pleasure to receive your loyalty and appreciation about the authentic hospitality offered by our staffs.

As for the breakfast, we can assure that the content is constantly adjusted; we offer the same range of price as other 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

We are very delighted that you had a fantastic experience at the Arabesque restaurant. During your next visit to Geneva, we would to invite you at the Bayview Restaurant in which is charge by Michel Roth – one of the most well-known chefs in the world.

We are very looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Every time I visit Geneva either for business or pleasure I stay at President Wilson. Its a very nice hotel, super nice and professional service, I love the location on the Lake and its only 10 minutes walk from the city center, shopping, banking and business area. The rooms are very expensive and not luxurious, I always take the lake view rooms and they are not bad, but neither luxurious for the price. Wifi is free but extremely slow, the food is very good but also expensive. The biggest disappointing thing for me is the breakfast buffet, the variety of food is poor, the quality is so-so, and the salon where is located is not inviting at all. The hotel restaurants and bars are very good. Overall is a very good hotel for Geneva standards.

Room Tip: Lake View-Swimming Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkatrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear AlejandroAlcaraz,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your earlier stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied our enthusiastic service, exceptional location of our property as well as your loyalty to our company.

In term of the price of our hotel room and restaurant, we can assure that rates are constantly evaluated and we offer the same range of price as other comparable 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay concerning the Internet service, please note that our technical teams always remain at your entire disposal for any problem at 24 hours.

As for the choice of our breakfast buffet, we have passed your opinion to our F & B department for further discussion.

Should you wish to receive any news and happenings, we invite you to follow our Facebook or Twitter page.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson either for business or leisure stay.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a good quality hotel with professional staff , lovely views over the lake towards the mountains , an excellent if very expensive restaurant , and rooms with all you would expect . WiFi was included and worked well. The main issue was the cost of anything beyond the room charge , extras cost a lot here from bar to restaurant etc

Room Tip: rooms which open onto the pool area are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear HilltopOxon,

Thank you for taking time to express your comments through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are extremely happy to read that you found the service provided excellent and appreciated the splendid view of your room.

In term of the price of our bar and restaurant, we can assure you that the price is frequently evaluated and we offer the same range of price as other comparable 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.
In the meantime, I remain,


Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed there this week for two nights. Had a wonderful time . I was in Geneva on business but really enjoyed the attentiveness of all the staff and the attention to detail.

Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Geneva whether for work or pleasure . I look forward to staying there again very soon

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Laurie C

Thank for having chosen the Hotel President Wilson and additionally having taken the time to share your previous experience through Tripadvisor.

It is our great pleasure to receive your appreciation to our recently renovated room, restaurant and service, as we always do our best to deliver the contemporary comfort to the demand of luxurious traveler. Indeed, Michel Roth – World Famous Chef, has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive chef at the Bayview restaurant.

Despite the unique location of the hotel, a free transportation card is offered to each guest during the check-in, to make their visit in Geneva more convenient.

Should you wish to be updated about the latest news and happenings please follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.
Once again we would like to thank you for your kind words and recommendations and look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was a very good hotel for Geneva. The only over shadowing experience was at check in. My flight from the states arrived in the AM and I made it over to the hotel at around 10am with extreme jet lag. i just wanted to get to bed but they had me waiting around the lobby with no set time while they said they were getting the room ready. The hotel was very dead so there was plenty of rooms. The receptionist reminded me that checkin was at 3pm. In all my world travels I have never been l told about check in times (especially a ridiculous 3pm time) , non the less a 5 star had me waiting around for a room when they had plenty available. I am Diamond at Marriott and Hyatt and do not have high status at Starwood hotels so not sure if that would have mattered. This experience definitely overshadowed my whole time here.

Also in the pictures of the hotel it shows a nice shower. Believe it or not one of the items I look for in a 5 star. A little bait and switch, These rooms have the old "european" bath tub showers that the water sprays out everywhere because there is no door and you have to step up a foot or so to get in the darn thing. Bed and Bed linens were the highlight of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLDDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MrLDDA

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We deeply show our apology about any inconvenience caused during check-in. We have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the Reception manager and would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service.

In term of the room facilities, please noted that our hotel has undergone some extensive renovation, in order to create an atmosphere of comfort and luxury that a customer would expect from a 5 star property.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Michelen 2 star chef Micel Roth has now taken the position of Chief Chef at The President Wilson Hotel, Geneva. If you wish to taste the very best of foodand dine in the beautiful Bay View Resteraunt you must visit this hotel as soon as possible. The food is out of this world but not the prices. Really it is a "must" for lovers of fine cooking supported by the best selection of top quality wines from all arouind the world.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those overlooking the lake but even the rooms on the back of the otel are of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments through Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson.

We are very delighted to receive your admiration regarding our new chef – Michel Roth, indeed he is very famous for his creative culinary talent. As you said, Bayview restaurant is about to be considered as one of the best table in Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#11 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Property: Hotel President Wilson
Address: quai Wilson 47, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#6 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is one of the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 204 rooms and 22 suites ally both comfort and technology and offer luxury amenities and features such as Nespresso coffee machines, Hermes bath products or also Bang & Olufsen LCD screens. Discover Swiss refinement through the gastronomy of the famous Michelin starred Michel Roth (MOF and Bocuse d'Or 1991), or through the unique Spa La Mer, an exclusiveness in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing