We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best view of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel President Wilson
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,360 helpful votes
“The best view of the lake”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great rooms specially the ones with a lake view , PAY the extra and get a lake view , It is worth it . The hotel is a view steps from the lake and around the corner is the bus top which is only 4 stops away from the main train station . An all public transportation ticket is about $20 for one day is a great buy . so many good restaurants are on the way to the main train station including HALA restaurants .

Room Tip: A room with a lake view is a must . A high floor room will give you a better view and quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear M O,
Thank you for having chosen the Hotel President Wilson and additionally having taken the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read that you were fully satisfied with the breathtaking Alpine panorama in your room. Our propriety is very convenient to move around by public transportation and every guest will receive the Geneva pass card during their stay with us.

Also, it is our great pleasure to share our recent news with you regarding one of the most popular chef in the world – Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and and Executive Chef at the Bayview restaurant.

In the mean time, should you want to be updated on the latest news and happening, you can follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon at the Hotel President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    180
    40
    19
    10
See reviews for
82
172
48
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location, excellent service, and definitely high quality hotel. This place was beautiful. Our bed was so comfortable, and the room was gorgeous. There was even a silver platter (literally) of Swiss chocolates waiting for us along with a complementary bottle of Evian water when we entered our room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sage C,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience regarding your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We would like to share our latest news with you, Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive Chef at the Bayview restaurant.

If you wish to be updated with our latest news and happenings, you can follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.

We are looking forward to welcoming back at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Beautiful view of the lake.
Loved the hotel location as it is walking distance from the Old Town. Beautiful hotel, clean comfortable room, excellent food. Meeting rooms are adequate. 10 mins walk away there is an excellent Swiss restaurant. Will stay here again. Pricey though.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylee2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Amyless2909,

Firstly, thank you for taking time to express your experience via Tripadvisor regarding your earlier stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and your appreciation to our location, room, cuisine and facilities.

Also, It is our great pleasure to share our latest news with you regarding one of the most famous chef Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive chef at the Bayview restaurant.

Should you wish to be updated on the recent information and happenings, you can follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited the President Wilson last weekend as part of a trip to Geneva with my parents. Generally really enjoyed the hotel. It has all the same virtues Geneva itself: beautiful, friendly, high quality of everything, convenient and easy to get around. It also has the same negatives as Geneva: expensive and fairly tiny. I love Geneva though and thus was also generally pleased with the hotel.

The pool area looked quite beautiful (you look right out onto Lake Geneva). The fitness center was small, but nicely appointed with cardio and weight machines. The spa and shops also looked quite nice, but we did not use either. The rooms are pretty small, but nicely appointed.

The property is located within a 20 minute walk from most anything in Geneva and a 10 minute cab ride from the airport, so if you are there for business, it is extremely convenient. You also get a free public transit card covering the duration of your stay, which makes getting around even easier.

If you do not have breakfast included in your room rate, avoid it. It costs 47 CHF for a modest buffet. That is highway robbery, even by Geneva standards. You can step outside and walk 100 yards to a multitude of cafes serving similar fare for 1/2 the price or less.

Wanted to give a special thanks to Julien at the concierge desk, who was extremely helpful and just an all around nice guy. All other staff we dealt with were great as well. Had a loud neighbor the first night and they actually opened another room for me to sleep in and avoid the noise.

As I mentioned, the price is high, but all hotels are outrageous in Geneva and the Wilson seemed to priced commensurate to its value.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the views of the lake from the top floor suites are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickDC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear NicDC33,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel President Wilson Geneva during your previous visit in Geneva, also having taken the time to share your comments via Tripadvisor. Your words are regarded as precious feedback, allowing us to keep up to the standard.

We are extremely delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with your family in our propriety. To make sure you left satisfied, we always dedicate our best to offer an unforgettable memory to our guest.

Despite the unique location of the hotel, a free transportation card is offered to each guest when they arrive the hotel, to make their visit to Geneva more convenient.

Regarding the hotel facilities, our propriety has been renovated entirely in order to cater to the needs of a modern traveleras we keep on trying our best to enhance our guest’s expectation.
As for the breakfast we can assure that the content and price is constantly evaluated and well-adapted to the high standard of this hotel and to the offer of comparable 5 star hotels in Geneva.

It was with delight that we found out you particularly appreciated our professional staff as you kindly mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a very clean hotel, close to city center, next to the lake where you can take a beautiful stroll, and close to all major lake excursions docks. Staff is very friendly, and the ground level bar has Avery wide variety of drinks and the staff is knowledgeable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Saad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Dr_Saad,

Thank you for your very kind words and the time spent in sharing your recent experience at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the ideal location of our propriety, where is easily accessible from the central shopping areas. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our service, recently we have been working with Michel Roth who is one of the famous chef in the world, it would be a great pleasure if you can experience his culinary creation.

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the ideal location of our propriety right on the Lakeshore and close to the shopping center.
We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our services, and we would like to share with you our latest news. Indeed, Michel Roth, World Famous Chef, took over as Culinary Advisor and Executive Chef at Geneva’s Hotel President Wilson.

We hope to welcome you very soon to discover his first Genevan menu and culinary creation !

In the meantime, I remain.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here in adjoining rooms in August with our young children. The hotel itself is stunning. Top of the line, very formal.

The service was very good, no problems. I used the Spa for a manicure and the salon for my hair. Both were amazing, great Service and amazing job.

The food was delicious but the most expensive food I had in Europe. We ate at a Michelin 2 star in London and it was less expensive and much better food.

The hotel caters to many people from the middle east and royalty, and it has a very fancy and formal atmosphere. I would not recommend it as a family hotel with kids, but nevertheless we still enjoyed our stay.

The rooms were a good size, inclusive of a Nespresso essenza, one king or two twin beds, a table, a state of the art TV (with speakers in the bathroom), and a desk. The closets were very spacious. The bathrooms were covered top to bottom in marble, very opulent with nice sized tub/ shower.

Overall a perfect hotel if you're looking for luxury accommodations and a formal atmosphere.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveKidsLuvTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear HaveKidsLuvTravel,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are extremely pleased to know that you had wonderful moments with your family during the stay with us. What we always aim to do is to provide the best-quality of service and make sure every guest to remember the name of Hotel President Wilson.

In regards to the price of our restaurant, I can assure that we frequently make an evaluation, also we offer the same range of prices as other 5 stars hotel in Geneva.

Also, we are very happy to hear that you appreciated the room amenities.

In the mean time, should you want to be updated on the latest news and happening, you can follow us on Twitter or like our Facebook page.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Extraordinary service is the best thing about the President Wilson.

The finish and furnishing in our room were all ultra high quality. The bed was extremely comfortable and there is good storage space for clothes. The climate control system worked well.

The poolside bar was very chic and the service was outstanding.

Room size was adequate but rather small for the price paid. The bathroom was very small. The shower flooded the floor even after the barrier was replaced.

We found the location to be somewhat inconvenient. The hotel was at least a mile from the center and the only things in the immediate vicinity were other hotels. The area immediately behind the hotel was somewhat dingy and the red light district was nearby.

During our trip we stayed at two top quality, big city hotels....the President Wilson and the Park Hyatt in Zurich. We found the Park Hyatt to be superior in every regard.

Overall, we thought the hotel was fine but definitely overated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PickyaboutHotels,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for the time spent on sharing your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your previous experience at the Hotel President Wilson Geneva.

We are definitely happy to hear your appreciation concerning the decoration of the guest room, as our propriety has been lately renovated with the latest technology and finest material in 2010.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful moment at the poolside bar, recently the most famous chef in the world - Michel Roth has taken over as Culinary Advisor and Executive Chef at Geneva’s Hotel President Wilson.

In term of the location of President Wilson, you can overlook an incredible view over the Leman Lake and the Swiss Alp even though we are slightly outside the city center.

In regard to the rate of our hotel, I can assure that we constantly make an evaluation and please note that we offer the same range of price as other 5 stars hotels in Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel during your next trip in Geneva.

In the meantime, I remain,

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Property: Hotel President Wilson
Address: 47 Quai Wilson | Geneva 1, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#6 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is one of the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 204 rooms and 22 suites ally both comfort and technology and offer luxury amenities and features such as Nespresso coffee machines, Hermes bath products or also Bang & Olufsen LCD screens. Discover Swiss refinement through the gastronomy of the famous Michelin starred Michel Roth (MOF and Bocuse d'Or 1991), or through the unique Spa La Mer, an exclusiveness in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing