We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - much nicer than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel President Wilson
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel - much nicer than expected”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days on business. Hotel is extremely modern (despite apperances from the outside). Rooms are rather standard but hi-tech (e.g. B&O TV)

Location is great along the lake although slightly out of the way if walking to the main sites on the other side of the city.

Service is excellent and as expected in a 5* hotel.

Nice chocolates in the room (as expected in Switzerland)

Has a nice pool which is too small to swim laps in but nice to sun bath in the middle of summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear VincentChase

Thank you for sharing your lovely comment on Tripadvisor during your previous stay at the President Wilson. Whether your opinion is positive or negative, it is very valuable to us in order to offer a better service and look for improvement.

I am very grateful to know that you had a great moment during your stay with us, we always seek to provide the best quality of product and service to the guests.

Regarding the location of the President Wilson, I believe our staff member will provide you a professional guideline for the transportation, if you would like to know the faster way to the main sites.

We aim to exceed every customer’s satisfaction, I hope that you like the chocolate that we offered to your room, your appreciation gives us a strong motivation.

In term of the appearances from the outside and the size of the pool, I will convey your message to our management team for further discussion.

I am looking forward to seeing you back at the President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    187
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
86
184
48
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great location. Central - by lake. Expensive but where isn't in Geneva. Get a bedroom with a lake view. Great pool bar at night if the weather is good. Good service. Food is very good but horrendously expensive. I think we paid €35 for a sandwich and chips!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Susannah M

Firstly, thank you for sharing your valuable experience on Tripadvisor regarding your previous stay at the President Wilson.
Our hotel is located in the core of the city, in where you can easily find out the place that you would like to go. I sincerely hope to receive your understanding, as we offer the same range of price as other 5 stars hotels in Geneva in term of room rate and food’s price.

I am looking forward to welcoming you soon at the President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is fantastic!

I organised a conference here this May.

It is expensive (but so are most places in Geneva)

I would say though you do get great service for the money!

The hotel beautiful and looks over lake Geneva, the staff are very helpful and the rooms and food is of great quality.

I would definatley come back again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear ArtGarzaDC

Firstly, thank you for writing a lovely comments on Tripadvisor through your recent experience at the President Wilson, in which is very interested in hearing from our guest after their stay with us.
As President Wilson is a 5 star hotel, in which aims to offer a high-classed service and facilitate all the time to our guests. I sincerely hope to gain your understanding regarding the price of a conference room, we offer the same range of price as other 5 stars hotels in Geneva.

I am extremely cheerful to know that you appreciated the atmosphere, service and food we provided, as we always want to deliver the best service to our customer.

I sincerely hope to see you return in Geneva and choose the President Wilson again.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Recently stayed at this location on personal vacation with my partner. I was extremely impressed by staff and how friendly and helpful everyone was...especially Marco who checked us in. Apparently, I had requested the wrong room when I called in the 800 number at Starwood reservations...my fault...anyways...we really wanted a room with a view of the lake and Marco made this happen...that sold us. We ate dinner and had drinks at the hotel the entire time we stayed there...would recommend this place if you are staying in the area. Thanks Marco!

Room Tip: Request a room with a lake view or swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy_and_Bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Joannou

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the President Wilson, in which always look for improvement and maintain a high quality of customer service. That is why your comments are so valuable for us whether is positive or negative.

I am extremely grateful that you had a great time with your partner here, our team member constantly keep up with the standard in order to satisfy customer’s need and want. Thank for specifying the name of our staff member, your world is definitely useful for us and give us a very strong motivation.

Also I am appreciated that you went to our restaurant and lounge as well as your recommendation.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon at the President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

An easy walk to the hotel from the train station, the people at the check in were warm and inviting, even offering my husband and I a mini-tour of the property's restaurants and bars.
Our room was spotless and well appointed with a partial view of beautiful Lake Geneva.
We had drinks one night at the pool - friendly servers, music, kids playing in the pool, nice view, and another evening at the Glow Bar (very friendly and helpful bartenders: Daniel, William and Bruno). Dinner at Arabesque was delicious (we ordered the menu dinner in order to have a selection and were not disappointed, but it was too much food for me); the restaurant was full of middle eastern customers, a sign of authenticity, for sure! Our waiter there was extremely helpful as we were unsure about many of the delicious selections. A very nice evening, indeed.
The pool area is relaxing and a nice refuge that makes you forget you are in the middle of a busy city!
Things are expensive, as expected in such a hotel, but we enjoyed a breakfast at Bain des Paquis just down the pier from the hotel. It is a funky bohemian place full of locals. 10 CHF will get you a complete b'fast including freshly squeezed juice, coffee, homemade muesli or fruit salad, and a large roll with either jam, nutella, or honey! Delicious and fun! You do have to pay 2 francs to go out on the pier, but it is a nice walk and we actually went back another day for lunch which was also delicious. Rumor has it that their fondue is some of the best in the city, but we did not try that!
Nice to have that so close to the hotel! (especially since breakfast in the hotel is 47 CHF)
As others have said, great concierge service too!
Overall, the hotel is very chic in atmosphere, but not intimidating as the staff is so welcoming!
I would definitely go back!
One problem, check out took a long time since there was some confusion about the bill and now I just checked my credit card bill on line and saw that it is wrong, perhaps double billed. I will have to deal with this for sure, but am certain it is just a clerical error. Since we were so delayed checking out, we took a cab to the train station - 26 CHF for a scant 5 minute ride!!! Walk!
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Chatham

Firstly, Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor regarding your earlier stay at the President Wilson. Your words are extremely valuable to us, we can recognize whether our customer is satisfied with our service or not, so that we can make an adjustment and offer a better service.

In regard to the location of the President Wilson, where is very convenient to access either the city or shopping centre while following the guideline of our hotel’s website. Each of our team members are constantly trained, in order to provide a high-classed service to our customer. I am very delighted to hear that you appreciated our hospitality and the room that we proposed to you, as it is our responsibility to make our customer satisfied.

We would like our customer to experience a unique moment under a spectacular view of Geneve lake, our enthusiastic reception and flawless facilitate. Thank you again for specifying the name of our colleagues here, your compliments to our staff from the Pool garden Daniel, William and Bruno is highly useful and even motivating our entire team.

Also, I was glad to know that you went for dinner in our feature restaurant – Arabesque and had a pleasant evening. As we have a variety of selection concerning the Arabic cuisine, it is very important to show professionalism to our customer who is unsure about the menu.

The whole design of the President Wilson aim to be fashionable, luxurious and comfortable, our colleague always deliver their warm welcome to the customer.

I am terribly sorry to know for you unfortunate experience in the Front Office, would you kindly mind to give us a further information, so that we can take the appropriate measures.

I sincerely hope to see you again and give you another remarkable experience at the President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was one of our best dinning experiences; we were away from home but kept our family tradition of having a proper new year brunch. We reviewed the major ones in Geneva and decided on President Wilson Buffet based on what was written. What we experienced was beyond our expectations. The atmosphere and the theme were perfect everything was in white expect the silverware. The food and the menu were perfect literally everything we ate each piece in seconds must have taken them much much more to prepare fusion of European and Middle Eastern meal each prepared with lots of detail and taste. The puddings, pastries, and arabian sweets were treat on its own and the service was perfect. It was sensible to have a kids corner which could be improved the baby-sitter couldnt be better but not much toys were available. We look forward to 2013!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Hatim2012

Thank you for giving us a lovely comment on Tripadvisor through your previous enjoyment in our brunch service at the President Wilson. Your words are so important whether it is positive or negative, so that we can always look for improvement and identify customer’s needs and wants.

I was so cheerful to know that you had a great moment with your family while enjoying a New Year Brunch in our restaurant. As our principle is to exceed our customer’s satisfaction through a high quality of good and service, offer a relaxing atmosphere with a modern decoration is also part of our purpose.

Regarding to your suggestion about the kid corner, please note that the toys selection has been re-thinked and is now better equipped.

Indeed during the summer time you can also enjoy a wonderful Sunday brunch on the terrace.
I am looking forward to seeing you back in 2013 at the President Wilson.

Sincerely,
F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

December 2010, we checked into the President Wilson Hotel after a long international flight in economy. Although it was 8:30am, we had a room immediately. When I requested a room with a better view, the front reception people didn't bat an eye. We were kindly ushered to the restaurant for a champagne breakfast to relax and enjoy while waiting.

Our new room #326, overlooked the pool and Lake Geneva...perfect! Our room was spotless and so comfortable. Everywhere we went in the hotel we were greeted by name and received excellent care.

Want to say a special thank you to Lionel and Pascal at the concierge desk who were so helpful numerous times. Thank you Lionel for booking us a room at the Hotel Jeu de Paume in Paris! (Look for my next review readers!)

Also, when you arrive in Geneva airport, ask where to catch the free train to the city centre.

From the city centre, the Hotel President Wilson is an easy walk, even in snow and with small luggage!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMPW, Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Passionfortravel3

Thank you for your positive compliments through Tripadvisor concerning your previous stay at the President Wilson in Geneva. It is our responsibility to hear what our customer expect from us, so that we are able to satisfy their need and want.

I am very appreciated that our staff member exceeded your expectation during the check-in procedure and you were satisfied with the breakfast in our hotel’s restaurant. Your words can give us a very strong encouragement and motivation.

Regarding the room #326, I am very happy to you got a nice room where you could see the view of the pool and Lake Geneva. Our staff members always do their best to offer a high-quality of service in order to make our guests satisfied and make them return.

Once again thank you for your positive comment to our concierge’s staffs, we always do our best to serve our customers, who always receive our warm welcome and delighted service.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at and hope you will have another memorable experience at the President Wilson.

Sincerely,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#12 of 105 in Geneva
736 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Property: Hotel President Wilson
Address: 47 Quai Wilson | Geneva 1, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#6 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#9 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is one of the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 204 rooms and 22 suites ally both comfort and technology and offer luxury amenities and features such as Nespresso coffee machines, Hermes bath products or also Bang & Olufsen LCD screens. Discover Swiss refinement through the gastronomy of the famous Michelin starred Michel Roth (MOF and Bocuse d'Or 1991), or through the unique Spa La Mer, an exclusiveness in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing