We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Hanging On to its 5 Stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Hanging On to its 5 Stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is definitely a 5 star hotel however rooms can be small and as noted by others the concrete block construction is dated and looks like something post battle of Lugansk from the top floors given all the dirt that has accumulated on the exterior. On the other hand service is first rate and the the Il Vero restaurant and room service were excellent and really not that much more costly than the nearby Starbucks for breakfast. Great lake views and location. I still rate this 4 out of 5 however the rooms do not give the appearance of luxury that one would expect at these prices. Rooms did not seem to be soundproofed either and really reminded me more of an airport Hilton except for the marbled bathroom.

Room Tip: Try for a Lake View, 8th Floor has large balconies but rooms seemed small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank resistk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Resistk1,

Thank you for posting​ ​a few lines on Tripadvisor​ ​concerning your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva .
We ​are delighted to read that you greatly appreciated ​the quality of service​ ​at our Italian restaurant Il Vero and at the room service. As for your remark concerning the noise pollution ​from the neighboring rooms and street below ​we apologize for the undue inconvenience ​and aggravation ​cause​d​ ​you ​​in this respect .
​We look forward to welcoming you back to Geneva in ​a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Geneval Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    258
    91
    54
    41
See reviews for
109
160
54
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Alles war Top. Der Service war super. Saubere Zimmer - clean rooms. Grosse Zimmer. Grüsster Pool von Genf. AMazing Holiday. Wonderful speakless. Nice Wellness Spa.
Very nice view. Very good food. Nice Restaurant.

Room Tip: Standard Seeseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraLengefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich Zeit genommen haben, Ihren Rückblick auf Trip Advisor zu schildern und für Ihre schmeichelhafte Bemerkungen über unsere große Zimmer, den Blick, die vielfältigen Restaurants und Service-Qualität.
Es freut uns sehr zu erfahren, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen haben und die fantastische Lage schätzten. Wir fühlen uns geehrt, dass unsere Einrichtungen und Dienstleistungen Ihre Erwartungen an einem Fünf-Sterne-Haus erfüllt haben und es wird uns ein Vergügen sein, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Avoid this hotel at all cost. On our anniversary trip to riflealp in zermat we flew in to Geneva. Spent one night at Metropole, enjoyed our stay there and rooftop dining, not the nicest hotel but a solid four stars. Then a week at Riflealp above Zermatt, amazing hotel and service, then last night at Kempinski and what a huge disappointment. Great location but no attention to detail and frankly they obviously don't care. Elevator requires room key to work. One elevator this system was broken so took us ten minutes to get to our room waiting for someone to bring another elevator down. Told staff about it figured they would shut elevator down but 1.5 hours later same problem waiting to go back up to our room. Told staff about it they said they called technician. Tried to eat in restaurant but closed as it was 4pm so only option was bar. Sat down but despised wearing shorts and tshirt I was sweating as no AC on. I asked waiter if he could turn on AC and he said it felt cool to him so I left figuring we could order room service but hamburger was 58 bucks and given the state of the hotel figured wasn't worth 58 so we walked for food. Hotel hallways were in bad shape with carpet needing to be replaced and hotel room wallpaper falling apart. I took some pics and hope I can post them so you can avoid this hotel

Room Tip: Avoid hotel not worth it if it was free and I assure you it is priced higher than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr Charles B,

I have read your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit and I was very concerned to learn that, on this occasion, we failed to deliver our normal high standards of service, quality​ and professionalism, namely at the Front Desk​, in your room and​ at our FloorTwo ​restaurant.
​Furthermore p​lease accept my sincere apologies for the undue inconvenience caused you by one lift's temporary breakdown, this will be discussed with my Engineering Director.
I trust you will give us a second chance of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva under more favorable auspices in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Beautiful hotel and rooms. Great location. Near the lake, shopping, old town, etc... The staff is friendly. I did have a hard time closing the drapes, which since it's summer in Europe, the drapes are needed if you go to bed at an early time. Do not order food at this hotel. It is very over priced!!! Overall, I think the hotel is nice yet unless you have a lot of money to spend, you may need to look elsewhere. If you do, I fact, have money to blow, it's a great choice!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonboy623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the outside, the building appears fresh and clean with shiny glass and modern attributes. In lobby, modern fireplace, check in desk and elevators. Once on guest floors, the hallways also appear modern when viewing outdoor/indoor atrium from glass windows immediately in front of elevator upon exiting, the exterior and roof of building are terribly dirty and not well taken care of...
Upon Entering room, is where the luxury disappears, but then quickly reappears, and then again disappears, hotel appears to not be able to make up it's mind what it wants to be...
Bathroom is marble, sink, toilet, bathtub/shower and beset are all an awful green color appearing to be outdated. Luxury amenities, such as higher end towels, bathrobe and slippers are available. Nice toiletry items as well. Air Conditioning does not work well at all, however a nice fan was brought to my room upon request. Blue-Ray Disc Player with surround sound in room. Small Bed (maybe full size) very loud and noisy anytime you move.. Beautiful Pool Facilities...
Pricing of in hotel dining absolutely outrageous....
Approx Prices... in USD....

Minestrone Soup $29
Cheeseburger $60
Can of Soda $8

I have mixed feelings about this property, wish they would make up their mind what they want to be...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpertTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ExpertTravelCritic,

First of all, thank you for the time you took to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your stay earlier this month.
We are delighted to hear that you particularly appreciated our​ modern property and that you also enjoyed the luxury amenities. As for your remark concerning the noise pollution and air conditioning ​we sincerely apologize for the undue inconvenience and aggravation caused in this respect.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva shortly.

​Yours sincerely,
​Thierry Lavalley
​General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having lived in Geneva for 3 years, you can't go wrong staying at the Kempinski. In a city filled with overpriced options, you know what you are getting with this hotel. The staff is wonderful and the location is spot on. One of Geneva's most popular clubs is also located in the hotel, which may be a draw or deterrent. I have stayed here twice when returning to Geneva for work and have enjoyed it each time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScnAlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear ScnAlm,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests’ experience. Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor following your last stay with us in June.
I couldn’t be more pleased to read that you found our staff “wonderfully” and also that you particularly appreciated our unbeatable location. Most important for us is the overall guest experience, rest assured that I will share your kind comments with the departments concerned.
I hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back to Geneva in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is greatly located on the lake very close to all nice places. The bed was comfortable but the sound proofing terrible. May naibor came home late night and his door closure nearly lifted me off my bed. Also his nice from the room was heard.
Breakfast is good. Try to get a seat on the terrace.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helmut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a few lines on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva .

We are delighted to read that you greatly appreciated our privileged location, our comfortable rooms and great breakfast.

As for your remark concerning the noise pollution from the neighboring rooms we apologize for the undue inconvenience and aggravation caused you in this respect
.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Geneva in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
#21 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Property: Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing