We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Kempinski hotel in Geneva is very luxurious a foyer with a long modern fire makes you want to sit there all day with tea on a chilly day. The staff are very efficient and helpful. We had a superior room on floor 5 overlooking the lake, a wow factor as we had an ever changing tableau before us, beautiful, and a bed two metres wide. We ate at the restaurant on Floor Two, Vivo. It was a very pleasant setting but the food was not as 5 star as the hotel. The service was fine, just the content a little disappointing for the price, with only 4 desserts to choose from. The spa and pool are brilliant, the water 25 degs and you can get down to the pool in your bath robe without walking through public areas. Across the road, lake Geneva, what more could one wish for.

Room Tip: A room with the view is worth the bit of noise from the street. No matter the weather or time of day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 999 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the welcome and personal service we got here on check-in, thank you Valerie!, to the quality of the room, the view, the central location, the lakeside location, I couldn't really fault this place. I'm not likely to be back in Geneva any time soon, but would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the lake view or partial lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is very well located, all major attractions are within walking distance. Very nice view of the fountain from the restaurant. It has a great decor. The beds were comfortable. Morning breakfast buffet was very decent. Food and drinks are quite expensive, understandable considering it's switzerland!

However, there were no toys for our daughter ( kids are provided welcome toys, as claimed by the hotel). First baby cot which was provided to us was broken, when we asked for replacement the attendant told us that this is the last cot available. However, when we called up reception, magically another unbroken cot appeared :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyotisahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was just perfect. I know you have the Four Seasons and the Pr Wilson, but they are classy and with a cigary smell (what you would expect in good old Geneva). The Kempinski offers the opposite: trendy, stylish, modern big rooms. Have breakfast on the terrace while watching the lake Geneva fountain going. Go to the Java Club clubbing, which is just outside of the basement exit. You'll roll back in your bed in 3 minutes. The rooms can be huge, once I had the standard business but last time a business suite, where you have an extra room to work and do meetings. Geneva on a clear summer day is perfect and this hotel fits right in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked rom 4 months in advanced for 6 rooms. They gave us the worst rooms. No heater. Cracks in the sink in the bathroom. Mold all over the bath tub. Hair dryer from the 1970s in a Holiday Inn. Called several times to ask for a heater. They brought one all dusty and it was not working at all. After complaining several hours at 1: am (i have arrived at 9 pm), they changed my room. The other room does not have a desk lamp. I requested one since I had to work. They brought me one with a bulb. The same as people used in a shanty town. I will not recommend this hotel at all. Even in a developing country a one star is better than this hotel. My other colleague has to go to the sauna to take a shower since she stayed in the room with the dirty bathtub. The price is for a five star. The quality of the room and the breakfast not even for a one star. There are better hotels in Geneva a cheaper price that have better rooms.

Room Tip: Please do not go to this hotel. Terrible rooms And do not allow to give you room for the Airlines Cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BusinessSep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent quality accommodation. Sheets must be 1200 count...very comfortable. Breakfast a little stuffy, but excellent choices. Views magnificent. Best delight was coffee shop/bar/reception/ area on 2nd floor (1eme etage) with decadent sweets and a view of the jet d'eau. Of many choices of accommodation along the north bank of lac Leman, this hotel has maintained its high standards and maybe taken them to its head. I thought some staff were a bit too impatient with guests during normal procedures...check in, for example, during busy times was a bit tedious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsutigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Travelled in February 2011 - despite this review having a different date.

This is one of the best city hotels I have ever stayed in. From the moment you arrive, you can see the quality in both the decor and well trained hotel staff.

We were quickly checked in and upon entering our room we were left stunned. The sheer size of the room was fantastic - it was like a small apartment.

My only regret is not utilising the swimming pool - the area around the pool was fantastic though.

If we ever visit Geneva again, we will be sure to come back here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix, Geneva.
1.3 mi away
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#13 of 109 in Geneva
833 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 109 in Geneva
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 109 in Geneva
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $395 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing