We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps getting better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After spending 6 terrible nights at Les Suites Nevada, we made a very smart choice by heading down to Geneva and spent a night with Grand Hotel Kempinski. The moment taxi dropped us at their entrance, someone came up and help us with our luggage. Another person swiftly show us to the checked in counter. We booked the cheapest room yet the room is spacious! Lots of English TV channels (difficult to find in Europe hotels).

Gym is a heaven with lots of new machines and rooms for workout. Swimming pool is great! Love the length and width.
Breakfast spread is the best I came across after spending 12 nights in 3 different hotels in this trip. All the breakfast staffs are amazingly fast, efficient yet maintain poised and polite.

Location is also good. Whether you want to stroll at the lake or shopping. All within minutes of walking.

I would certainly stay here again if I'm in Geneva.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your experience at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and service. We work hard to provide the best to our esteemed clientele and are pleased with the positive responses.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kindest Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    235
    79
    47
    35
See reviews for
90
136
48
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Depending on what you like in a hotel, the Kempinkski may be for you. Personally, being an American, I like modern hotels. European, old-style is quite beautiful, but I do prefer a shower with doors or a curtain as opposed to just a glass sheild thing. I was there for business and being a large hotel and conference centre, amenities are good. The food at all the restaurants were excellent and there are always people at the bars. Probably wouldn't take my family there because it really seems like a business hotel. Overall, every time I go to Geneva (which is like twice a month for work) my preference is always there. Weird though - the rates are sometimes really cheap or double despite conferences and events at the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice and modern hotel. Ideal for business trips. Service is kind and efficient and room services works fine.
The swiming pool is nice, big enough and with all facilities, however, the water was a little bit cold altough it probably was due to the fact that it was snowing and it has a crystal roof (by the way, amazing experience to be swiming while you watch snowing over your head).
Regarding location, it's alittle further away from the city centre than other hotels, but with Geneva's size, it really implies less than 5 minutes difference. Besides, there's a pier just in front og the hotel where you take different boats that take you to the other side of the lake in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 8 are individual and smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and service. We work hard to offer our guests a unique experience and are overjoyed with the positive responses. Most of Geneva’s 5 Star hotels are situated in the same area for it not only is near the main shopping street but is also very accessible from main points such as; the train station or the airport. We hope you benefited from these advantages as well.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kindest Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before and generally like the Kempinski range / brand. The location is very good, lovely service, nice rooms, etc. hard to fault the place.

However the neighbouring President Wilson is simply better in every way way and pretty much the same price point.

If you chose the Kempinski, request a room that looks out towards the lake instead of looking over the interior courtyard.

The gym is good. The breakfast room nice enough. The lobby is not a welcoming place where one would chose to linger. The hotel rooms are modern minimalist and well kitted out with modern technology. Wifi is free. All in all, perfectly good but hard to compare to the President Wilson.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities. Thank you for recommending our lake view rooms, as you correctly say the view is simply spectacular.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Kindest Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with other contributors, this is 5 star bliss. It has everything you would need for a business trip - comfortable rooms, good internet connection, fantastic buffet breakfast etc etc. And those georgeous views of the lake....Food (particularly breakfast) is on the expensive side, but this is Geneva. The BEST aspect is the service. The staff are very friendly and helpful which is refreshing for this type of hotel in Europe!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivz_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are thrilled to receive such positive responses from our esteemed clientele. We work hard to provide the best service you deserve. Your remarks are constructive and will help us build a more solid foundation on which to serve our guests.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kindest Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
205 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Very courteous staff. Excellent breakfast. Great business facilities. Stayed here for a meeting last week for 2 nights. Overall, would recommend it.

Location was only around 15 mins from the airport. Nice rooms. The mini bar is somehow monitored. I was intrigued by a box which turned to be a Swiss Army knife, and was charged but they happily took it off the bill.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a comment on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We apologize for the small inconveniences concerning the mini bar. All the same, we are delighted you enjoyed our service, breakfast and facilities tailored for our business clientele.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Immaculate hotel, foyer, entertainment areas and rooms, friendly and helpful service, great pool and spa, blissfully comfortable beds, perfect insulation for undisturbed sleep, right on the lake, everything you could want. Food and drink very expensive, but quality and service absolutely above reproach!

Room Tip: Our room was great, I doubt there is a bad room in this luxury hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
#20 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Property: Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva CH - 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing