We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location on the promenade by the lake with views of Jet d'Eau and the mountains beyond. The old town can be reached in about 15 minutes on foot and the central train station is 10 minutes away on foot. The breakfast was excellent and the dining area is bright and spacious with wonderful views over the lake. The indoor pool was a good size but a little cold in the winter and the steam room was a welcome relief from the cold. A sauna would be a nice addition to the health club. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are well appointed.
No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Given the price of even the most basic rooms, this is inexcusable. The price is high but Geneva is an expensive city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM_2000_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Madam. Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We take your remark into consideration and are delighted you enjoyed the location and facilities of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 965 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

it's a very good hotel, right in the center of the town...overlooking Lake Geneva.
Hospitable individuals, very helpful in getting you around.
The morning buffet is decent as well, the apples with the engraving of the hotel name on it is pretty interesting. Do remember to pick one of them
Over all a decent stay with them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good, but if u need a room overlooking the lake..u need to pay around CHF80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumaiyaSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and make your stays even better.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stopped off after skiing so pleased beds were comfy why do ski resorts have uncomfortable beds?restaurant view is incredible yes hotel is expensive but worth staying in for the brilliant service thank you to the Veronica who checked us in and arranged for sweets for our daughter and backpack
The spa is staffed with very kind ladies and the products are divine sad to say not enough time to have any treatments. Sadly pool was closed so no comment there all in all a very nice stay 10 minutes or so to airport

Room Tip: We didn't have a lake view if you can stretch to it go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and provide you with our complete set of amenities.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel has exellent location and everything in this huge complex that you need without ever leaving. Rooms are comfortable, great gym and beautiful swimming pool and very good restaurants. The Floortwo lounge offers beautiful views of the lake and changes into happening night scene. Night club Java is prominet scene of Genevas and international jetsetters. I was little bit dissapointed as I expected hight class of luxury that Kempinski hotels offers in other locations.
This hotel is bussiness oriented and its the overall feeling you get here.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lake views, the inside rooms are small and average
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The room itself is nice, modern and has everything you need (ask for a view on the lake). We had lunch at the Floor Two restaurant. The food was 1) expensive 2) not cooked properly 3) the service was rude. One of the waiters kept complaining about his Job to another colleague but right in front of us ... Not very professional.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your experience at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We apologize for the inconvenience and would like to reassure you that your remark will help us improve to guarantee a constant 5 star service delivery. We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities and amenities we provide for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Thierry Lavalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After my bad experience as a so-called "top" hotel in Geneva, I was quite nervous about my accommodation...what a mistake!

From the moment I arrived, I was warmly greeted by the porter. After a long flight, that is definitely appreciated! The front desk was equally pleasant, and I was checked in within minutes!

Such a pleasure to stay here: the service is phenomenal, the views are breath taking, I'm spoilt for choice with the food everyday, overall, its been a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronwyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. We are delighted you enjoyed our service and facilities, as well as our culinary experience.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and make your experience more exceptional each time.

With Kindest Regards,
Thierry Lavalley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in both montreaux and Geneva. The hotel kempinski was fabulous. We had a great view of lake Geneva. We even watched a Giant fireworks show over the lake from our balcony the last night. There was a cool carnival right outside of our hotel, and we hit up the carousel bar a few times haha. The hotel is very modern, we had a nice tub, and good sized bathroom. We are room service a few times because I got sick :( be prepared to pay 50 Swiss francs for a hamburger lol!! There are shops in the lobby which is always nice, and we even had an apothecary in the lobby where I was able to get cold medicine. All in all it was a wonderful stay, and I would go back. Don't miss out on the breakfast buffet, they had the best orange juice, view, and good ever. Nothing is inexpensive in Switzerland or this hotel but it is a splurge worthy place you won't forget. Eat all of the ice cream, cream, cheese, chocolate, and perch you can find!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#19 of 106 in Geneva
788 reviews
Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
#10 of 106 in Geneva
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $385 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing