We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really run-down hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lido
Ranked #62 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really run-down hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

At the end of a few months in Europe I stayed at Hotel Lido. I thoroughly reviewed all the hotels I stayed at in Europe on TripAdvisor and all were excellent except for this one. The location is good enough; Geneva is a small town, easily walkable and this hotel is near the train station and you can walk to the other side of the city in about 5-10 minutes. Geneva is relatively clean and feels safe so I didn't have any concerns with the neighborhood, although I saw cuter areas as I walked throughout the city. The receptionists were helpful and spoke English well. However, the hotel rooms are very rundown and feel pretty dirty. They are small with tiny bathrooms with old fixtures. My room did have a cable TV w/ remote. I had a small twin bed. The hotel did offer a continental breakfast which was stale and not appealing at all. I paid about $127 and think this is WAY too much to pay for such a rundown hotel room.

  • Liked — Geneva is a small town so the hotel is within walking distance to most sights
  • Disliked — The rooms were small and rundown.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lolomojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    67
    54
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
34
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2007

The hotel is centrally located. The rooms are clean and quiet. Stayed there twice after skiing in France, on the way home to the US, and was able to get some good rest. Everything there is to see in Geneva is within a 20-30 minute walk. Dont expect luxury, but a hundred twenty bucks for a triple room is not bad for for a central location in Switerland.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Ski-in-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2007

Considering how expensive Geneva is and having searched the web for something within my budget I was extremely happy with my choice - Its basic, but clean and good and helpful staff. The location is perfect - close to the train station, buses, trams and just a short walk from the Lake. Round the corner from the great Café de Paris. The other big plus was that the hotel gave me a free public transport pass for the duration of my stay - a great saving.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank claris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2004

The Hotel Lido is quick to put charges on your credit card and very unwilling to remove those that are incorrect.

Helpful?
16 Thank 1Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2004

My husband and I stayed here in July 2004. The hotel is a short walk from the train station (which was convenient for us), and the staff spoke perfect English, but the place majorly lacked charm and appeal. The room was clean and had a nice big window, but the bed was lumpy and the toilet was the worst we had in Switzerland. I found the hallways and stairwells to be dark and depressing. One of the strangest things was the uniformed mannequins in the lobby and breakfast room - very bizarre.

Helpful?
9 Thank gengrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Excelsior
#59 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#57 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido

Property: Hotel Lido
Address: rue de Chantepoulet 8, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lido 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing