We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good only for short stay”
Review of Hotel St-Gervais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St-Gervais
Ranked #74 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good only for short stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We needed a stopover on our way in and out of Swiss and so had booked it for 2 nights. On our way in we were pretty late and as per earlier arrangement the code was given to me and the keys were left on the reception. The room was very very small, but since its a stop over we didnt really mind. The breakfast is a fixed meal, with limited options/quantity. Location is very good, a 2-3 min walk to the Geneva city center and 5 mins walk to the lake.

Had specifically asked for a bigger room on our way out of Switzerland and were given a slightly bigger room. Didnt bother about the breakfast the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room, the small rooms are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubhDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    74
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
14
69
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Older hotel, but well maintained. Small and simple, really clean for a fair price. The bathroom, shared the floor with 3 bedrooms, is clean very often. 5 minutes from the train station, Gare Cornavin and near restaurants, stores and close to the touristic area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiriamLeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is so close to the train station, and lots of shops. Also since Geneva is quite small, it's a short walk away from everything you'd need! The breakfast was included and was so good (keep plenty room for it, because it's very filling!) the staff were also very friendly and wrlcoming-the lass at the desk spoke in French for me because I said I wanted to practise..whereas a lot of places usually just resort to English. This was much appreciated.

The only thing that I can fault the hotel for is not having air con. We almost passed out from the heat in the room at night, it really wasn't pleasant. Apart from that, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute and was pleased to get a very decent price for a hotel in what is a particularly expensive city. It was right in the city centre and was actaully much nicer than a previously more modern (and expensive) hotel I had stayed in so I was pleasently suppirsed by the quality of the room itself. It was spotlessly clean and done so daily.

The staff on reception spoke really good english and were very accomodationg at all times throughout the stay, allowing me to leave luggage when needed etc

Breakfast was included (even if it was a little early for my liking, 7am-9.00, on a holiday)

I did however not quite a few negatives throughout my stay as follows:
> Most importantly the room was VERY HOT and there was no air conditioning - not good when its 29 degrees plus and warm all night - I found it very difficult to sleep as even with the windows open it was whey to hot
> It was very noisy as there seemed always to be people hanging around outside (not good when you need the windows open) and as I was on the first floor you got all the noise from the reception area too.
> During my stay a few things went wrong, firstly there was a strange incidnet where bubbles of foam seemed to appear from the sink in the room after a strange nosie followed by a egg like smell (fortunatly this happened only once), secondly the sink appeared to be leaking underneath, and thirdly the toilet on the floor I was on broke and thus I had to go up another flight of stairs to use the next one. ALthough the latter was fixed very promptly on reporting in it wasnt great to have to trek all this way for the toilet, thus highlighting the downside of seperate bathrooms.
> The shower on the floor I was on was so small that I was pleased (due to the breakdown) of the first floor toilet to discover the second floor one was much more spacious and usabele, that said it had no windows and left you feeling just as hot as when you went in.

So clearly there are both good and bad points about this hotel, while I would reccomend it for those on a budget ( it had everything from towels to bedding and a tv and comfy sofa in the room) but if you want a decent nights sleep, your own bathroom and a few more luxeries that look elsewhere.

Room Tip: * HINT*: Stay overnight or two at the most and your be okay but probably no more, Ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a stop over. We were greeted by lovely staff who were more than helpful with buses and trams to sight seeing places etc. the room was very clean, the bed was comfy, and the bathroom was very clean, hot water. Breakfast were free the next morning and was served downstairs and was quite good. Excellent location. Could walk to train station and most sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a cute place. The bed was small and truthfully, a little uncomfortable and we had a shared bathroom but it worked for what we needed. It is very close to the train station and a decent place to sleep at the end of a long day. If we had more time in Geneva I would find a nicer hotel to set up camp from but for 1 night it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TbabydollW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

With only one night in Geneva to break up the trip between France and Italy, we just wanted the most basic option and went with this hotel. And at around 120 euros for the night and a share bathroom, it was the cheapest we could find in this pricey town. We also wanted something close to the train station, and it is only an easy 5 minute walk.

The room itself was tiny. And the bed was hardly big enough for 2 people. The share bathroom was just across the hall and clean. So it did the job.

The big selling point of this hotel is the man down on the front desk. Upon arrival, he was welcoming, friendly and full of fantastic information. I feel he must enjoy his job and dealing with people, as it shows. It is the kind of service you would expect at a much higher class establishment.

For one night with the bare basics, go for it. But don't expect any more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat_in_viaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#75 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#62 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#39 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Excelsior
#59 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Gervais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Gervais

Property: Hotel St-Gervais
Address: rue des Corps-Saints 20, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel St-Gervais 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St-Gervais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gervais
St Gervais Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing