We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No staff at night, otherwise a great hotel”
Review of Hotel St-Gervais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Gervais
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No staff at night, otherwise a great hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is said to be over-priced, but considering the reality that Switzerland's prices are more expensive than many comparable places in the U.S and Europe it's actually very reasonable. Just know ahead of time that EVERYTHING is more expensive in Switzerland (e.g., a Starbucks caramel macchiato in the US costs around $4.75, while it is about twice that amount in Switzerland), and keep your exchange rate in mind. Considering its location and other hotels we've visited in the area, it is a reasonably priced hotel and worth the cost.

It is located barely two or three blocks from the train station, and it is very, very easy to get basically anywhere you want to go in Geneva from the tram stop that is almost right in front of the hotel. Considering its proximity to the train and tram lines, as well as the busy intersections, the outside noise level isn't so bad. On Thursday mornings, it's garbage day, and you will want to bring earplugs if you're staying on a Wednesday night because the big truck will rumble for quite some time around 6:45 a.m. Other than that, noise really isn't as much of a problem.

That's outside city-related noise, however. No hotel really has control over that anyway. What was a big problem was the noise-level inside the hotel itself.

I was in Geneva to take the GRE. I had already been feeling sick, and really needed a good night's sleep on Thursday night (Nov. 17). While each room is located near the central staircase, you actually can't hear people going up and down the stairs - unless they're stomping or running or dragging luggage. Around 11:30 that night, some young guys came in and were either drunk or acting just plain stupid. They were extremely loud, yelling, laughing, opening and slamming doors (the doors are already hard to shut quietly, as they sort of "suck" themselves shut - you have to be really careful to shut them without banging them closed). This went on for quite some time, perhaps about half an hour.

This is where the problem really hit. There is no staff on site after either 9 or 11 pm (I forget which). There is no one I could talk to about the noise level. There were no written warnings against guests making unreasonable noise. There was nothing at all to let guests know that noise of that kind is not tolerated (I usually find something like this posted near the desk or in the rooms themselves at most other European hotels I visit). It was entirely up to me to deal with the noise problem, which is okay, except that it places guests in jeopardy at the worst and may not solve the problem at the best. It would have been better if no desk staff would remain on site, for there to be a security person or a phone number for guests to call regarding unreasonable behavior or something other than my own angry self to deal with unruly guests.

The breakfast is small, but most of them are in Europe. If you're still hungry, there are several places nearby where you can fill up the rest of the way. But be sure to stay at the hotel for a cup of coffee in the morning. It's extremely good and very intense. The breakfast area is located near the desk, and is also open for use during the day if you want a place to sit quietly and do some work without going back up to your room. The desk staff is willing to pour you coffee or sell you a Coke or beer from the bar at any time of day, and the prices are good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthVertigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    74
    58
    17
    11
See reviews for
14
69
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night, and was a bit dissapointed as the hotel is very over-priced for what they are charging (I paid over 100 euros for the room and breakfast). The room was very narrow, basic, and with no private shower or wc. Just a sink in the room and a small portable Tv on the wall.
Breakfast was OK, and the staff were friendly and helpful, but overall I thought the correct price for that standard of hotel should be no more than 50 euros at most.
(So what I'm saying is that if the hotel had cost 50 euros or less I would have been giving it a good review based on that price, but for 100 euros or more its well below that standard.)
The location is good, as the train station is about a 10 minute walk away. There is also a tram stop close to the hotel from where you can get the tram to Cern.
The room I had was also pretty noisy, as the doors all seem to be heavy and lots of people coming and going all night.
The shared shower was strange, as the shower cubicle is like in a broom cupboard, and there is nowhere to change clothes (except in the shower itself where there is then nowhere to prevent your clothes getting wet as you take a shower , or else change in the public corridor where other guests are walking around).
I would not really recommend this hotel unless everything else if full. It is most definetly not worth 100 euros a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

we thought we were staying at a hotel, not a hostel. even with ear plugs in, the street noise kept us both up the majority of the night-- and we are from a major city. i would skip this place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai-ZeeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here for four nights with my boyfriend and let me tell you; a shared washroom must be the ONLY thing keeping this hotel at a one star. The service was unbelievable - the manager's eagerness to tell us tourist destinations and local services was beyond helpful and unexpected. The cleanliness of the rooms was impeccable. The shared washroom was never occupied when it was needed by either of us. The free wifi was convenient and the free breakfast was delicious and plentiful, for a French breakfast. I truly loved my stay here, despite how small the room might have been. The location was beyond convenient, minutes away from the train station, across the street from Manor - a department store with everything you need including the cheapest meals in Geneva - and two blocks away from the main shopping area of Geneva... who could ask for more? This hotel deserves more than a single star. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Geneva (though I don't recommend Geneva -- far too expensive!!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darthclaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place met our expectations for a 1 star hotel. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom is shared by 3 rooms and was not occupied any time we needed it so it wasn't a problem. With the sky high prices in Geneva, even for hostels, the St. Gervais was a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aylin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

A nice and clean hotel with friendly reception staff and good breakfast. Shared bathroom with two other rooms, but that was ok, even in a fully booked hotel. There was a bit of noise from the hallway and the streets, even in the top floors. The bus to the airport is just 50 m away, and it is only a short walk into Geneva city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_SBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location in Geneva, just a 5 minute walk from the train station. The stafff was extremely friendly and willing to assist guests with providing information on Geneva. I paid $105 per night for a single room which seems like alot for a budget hotel but actually by Geneva standards, that is a dirt cheap price for a room. There is a small elevator which you can use to get your luggage up to the floor of your room. The room is simple but clean. It has a small TV and a plug in alarm clock.. WI-FI Internet access was a strong signal in my room. Breakfast is a typical french breakfast of bread croissants, yogurt, juice and tea or coffee. There are lots of restaurant and shops within a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigDougLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#50 of 105 in Geneva
433 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#75 of 105 in Geneva
462 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#58 of 105 in Geneva
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#36 of 105 in Geneva
422 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel de Geneve
Hotel de Geneve
#57 of 105 in Geneva
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Gervais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Gervais

Property: Hotel St-Gervais
Address: rue des Corps-Saints 20, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel St-Gervais 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St-Gervais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gervais
St Gervais Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing