We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly average - they really should try harder” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suisse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Mostly average - they really should try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is a boutique hotel that needs to be better. My room was tiny, so small I couldn't pull out the chair from the desk without hitting the bed. My 'kingsize' bed was in fact two singles pushed together - I don't get the point of that at all, but know it's common in Eurpoe. The linen was coarse, and the decor a bit tired. The bathroom was fairly well appointed and pretty clean, but the grouting needed some Exit-Mould on it. There's no iron or ironing board. The continental breakfast was free, and staff in the breakfast are quite friendly. Not so the reception staff, who seem to find it a trial to speak English or to be helpful or friendly in any way. I was given no help when struggling with my bags - they almost refused to look after one case whilst I was lugging the other up to my room (this wasn't a trip where travelling light was an option). I was also charged more than was quoted. This hotel rates only a C with me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    248
    84
    16
    3
See reviews for
41
158
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HONGKONG
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

excellent location 3 mins to railway station, cosy hotel with clean decorated room, not spacious room but good facilities in bathroom, free wifi internet, very helfu and friendly staffs, good enough breakfast buffet, highly recommended to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

The photos of the Hotel Suisse on various websites look rather good - however, I failed to see the real place reflected in them. I spent 2 nights at the Suisse, and had a rather disappointing experience. The location has 2 aspects - it is very central, i.e. meters from the main train station; and, well, it is meters from the train station, i.e. one has a direct view on a very noisy square populated with interesting characters...
Check-in was straigthforward, the service friendly. A tiny, rundown-looking lift takes guests to the rooms. I was hoping for a room resembling the official photos, but instead got a very tired-looking one with tasteless color scheme, an old bed, a small bathroom with cracked sink, etc. See photos.
Breakfast was quite ok (good coffee machine), and there is free wireless internet, also in the rooms.
Because of the breakfast and WIFI, overall the hotel is so-so, but not really recommendable, and is fairly poor value for money. But then, those who know Geneva know that it's very difficult to find decent 3-4 star places. I have experienced about 5 hotels in the city now, and the only ones I like (NH Rex [bit posh] and Admiral [simpler, but quite good) are usually booked for weeks or months. So every time I have a hard time looking for a decent place - and after the Suisse the search will continue

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

If you are traveling to Geneva for a short stay and would like a hotel that is conveniently located to the train station, then this is your hotel. The room was perfectly sufficient. Clean. Well appointed. Great bathroom. The rate was very reasonable and breakfast was great. It was in very near walking distance of all major site seeing destinations as well as the old town.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cspigle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Suisse with my wife when we went to the Geneva Motor Show. It's an ideal base; very close to Cornavin train station (and you can avoid crossing all the roads and tram lines by cutting through the Metro Shopping underground shopping precinct) and a short walk to the lake. Rue Mont Blanc has a nice selection of cafes along with a McDonalds and Starbucks.

The hotel is narrow and yes, there are a few tramps across the road now and then (as you'll find near most train stations). The lifts/elevators are miniscule and we got WAY too many static electricity shocks from door handles, buttons etc. But these are the ONLY drawbacks. Honestly, this hotel is a gem and I'm only mentioning the tramps and the static electricity because I'm at a loss to think of much else wrong with the place!

Firstly, we got a great deal with the Geneva Tourist Board - CHF508 for three nights accommodation, two tickets to the motor show and two tickets for a bus tour or boat trip on the lake. Along with this, we got the standard Geneva Transport Card, valid on buses, trams and trains for our entire stay. So brilliant value to start with. All of this was presented to us on check-in by a very efficient and friendly man at reception and was about the most warm and genuine welcome I've received at a hotel. He even gave us a free wi-fi pass, which was a fantastic touch.

The room was cosy and clean, TV with internet (didn't try that but I'll take their word for it), large bathroom with strong shower and deep bath, plenty of storage, plenty of power points and very comfortable beds (two singles pushed together). No smoke smell like the other contributor's room, thankfully.

The breakfast was standard continental stuff; muesli, cornflakes or coco pops, a wide selection of breads, toasting bread, Nespresso coffee makers along with juices, yoghurts and eggs on request. Worked fine for us (I crave bacon at these times but understandable that you won't get this in Switzerland!).

Locally, there's little to do. Geneva is a very, VERY boring place and all of these little sweeteners only serve to take the edge of this fact. Outside of the hotel, everything was expensive or closed. Closed things included the Jet l'Eau and the boat excursions; expensive things included McDonalds (CHF27 for two Big Mac meals) and went skyward from there. The Britannia Bar, just a few doors down from the Hotel Suisse, offered about the best value we saw there; a pitcher of Kronenbourg lager for CHF16.

So as much as we loved the Hotel Suisse and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has to visit Geneva, we'd rather not HAVE to visit Geneva! Our next visit to the motor show may involve disembarking from a morning flight in Geneva Airport, walking to the Palexpo, spending 6 or 7 hours there and catching an afternoon flight home! It's unfortunate to miss out on as great a place as the Hotel Suisse, but life's too short to spend time in The City That Never Wakes!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed for one night as I was attending the Geneva Motor Show. Hotels are very difficult to come by and extremely expensive. Booked through hotels.com. Double-bed room Ok for one person. Small shower. Reasonably clean but typical 'train station' hotel so very convenient but a bit run-down with dodgy characters outside. I specified 'no smoking', it is a no smoking hotel but clearly HAD been a smoking room and without a complete re-furb will always smell a bit smoky. If you have a big 'thing' about this, do not book. Surprisingly quiet - I was in room overlooking square with traffic and trams and trains but not bad (4th floor). If you can get the best possible room it would be better. I would give it another go.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Overall, the Suisse Hotel is a fine place for a short stay. My wife and I were there for one night as a quick stopover for seeing the rest of Switzerland.

Pros:
- location: its close to the train station (2min walk), and most sights (of which there aren't too many Geneva) were within walking distance.
- while small, the hotel/rooms were clean
- good breakfast, which was included with the room

Cons:
- its a small hotel (the single elevator is tiny)
- one complaint about service. During breakfast, my wife tried filling her water bottle at the cooler. One of the staff attendants grabbed her and told her this wasn't allowed. We would've been fine if they had simply told us not to do it as I know water is expensive in Europe, but that didn't merit having to grab her hand in order for her to stop.

Overall, its a fine budget hotel since Switzerland, especially Geneva, is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmastershu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#41 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#33 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suisse Hotel

Property: Suisse Hotel
Address: place de Cornavin 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suisse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Geneva
Hotel Suisse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing