We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A muse see (up close)!”
Review of Jet d'Eau

Jet d'Eau
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.04*
and up
Chamonix Day Trip and Geneva city tour
More Info
$93.17*
and up
Day Trip to Geneva from Chamonix
More Info
$103.75*
and up
Geneva and Annecy Tour With Optional Lake Geneva Cruise
Ranked #3 of 155 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Geneva's most prominent landmark, this tremendous fountain is located in Lake Geneva in the city's downtown area.
Highland Village, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A muse see (up close)!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The focal of Lake Geneva. Be sure to walk out on the bridge to the fountain and get up close! Prepare to get wet if the wind is blowing! Super fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnJovi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,992
    1,428
    629
    126
    89
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Catch it in the late afternoon from the Mont Blanc bridge”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The sun was shining just right in the late afternoon to create a lovely rainbow effect with the plume. Very picturesque.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlyinPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't see what the big deal is with it to be honest”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

It's just a jumped up water fountain, and many cites have them in Switzerland now. For instance there is also one on lake Zurich and Lucern also has one located by the new conference centre (which in my opinion is way superior). It's just a water jet and the day we decided to visit it, it wasn't running due to technical difficulties.
I wouldn't go out of your way to go see it, all it's good for is the odd photograph.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best at night”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at night, after checking into our hotel we walked to the lakefront. The Jet d'Eau is lit up and quite spectacular against the night sky. It impressed my teens ( that says a lot), and is their lasting memory of Geneva. We also walked through the English Garden, by the Flower Clock, and through the Old Town arriving back to hotel at 11pm. Completely safe city! It was fun the next day to fit the Jet d'Eau into pictures of other landmarks. It is uniquely Geneva.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LabsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhinagar, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The sheer force of water jet and the enormous height it travels is breathtaking. Amidst Lake Geneva, you can not miss the water jet, which is a symbol of Geneva. The city itself is so beautiful with all the world organisations that you can not but admire it.

And yes, the jet does stop sometimes. Around evening time, we were surprised that why cant we see the Jet and thought we had lost our way !! Since it is impossible to miss such a landmark. But we came to know that they had stopped the fountain for some reason :( ... If there are timings, no information was available easily..

Anyways, don't miss the Jet d'Eau, even if you have to wait for it to start !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank saarthakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jet d'Eau also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Jet d'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing