We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, that is the way to run an hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool (UK)
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow, that is the way to run an hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

As a treat for my wife I booked an early January visit. Perhaps unusually for Four Seasons guests we walked down from Cornavin station and were welcomed, with the door staff asking my wife if she was staying (we had strolled in whilst they were otherwise engaged helping guests) and immediately starting the Four Seasons' style of greeting us by name.

We had arrived at 10.00 and the Reception staff apologised that our room was not ready, but we explained that we did not expect an empty room at such an hour and that we would go out for a stroll. They took my mobile number (no charge for incoming calls to my +44 number) so that they could telephone us as soon as the room was ready. After a pleasant afternoon at a favourite shoeshop (a favourite of my wife's - Coup de Soleil in rue Voltaire) we returned to the hotel to find that the usual Four Seasons intercommunication had been in action and that we had been upgraded to a room looking out to the lake and to the jet.

So that sets the scene.

We had an excellent four days in a fabulous hotel with superbly friendly and efficient staff, even down to arranging the free Unireso travel card and directions to a lighting warehouse on the outskirts. Even with the poor UK exchange rate, almost CHFr2 to the £, we had very good value for such service, attention and cleanliness. All the staff acknowledge guests, rather than the grunt and the grimace that pass for best in many a UK establishment.

Il Lago Restaurant is very good, with a wide-ranging menu and well-kept, well-served wines and waters. The rooms well-stocked and serviced and with comfortable day furniture, although perhaps we could have done without such a large flat screen TV - time for the manufacturers to make less intrusive machines? The public spaces are immaculate and arranged to allow for a buzz in the hotel without detracting from those who wish for a little peace and privacy. And those Four Seasons flowers. Both delightful and splendid.

Are we going back? You bet.

  • Liked — Quality of design, execution, maintenance and day-to-day management
  • Disliked — That we had to leave after a few days.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    63
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
94
171
36
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

Stayed at the property for 2 nights just after Christmas. The hotel is right on the Lake (less than 3 miles from the airport), however, it is at the end of the lake so do not expect a panoramic view from your window. When we arrived at about 11:00 am, they had a room for us in 15 min!!! I asked the reception about an American Express upgrade and the clerk very gently explained to me that the hotel is not on the Amex list (oops..my bad) but might be soon but that they would like to give us an upgrade anyway.. very nice of them....They put us in a very newly refurbished room (done just in the last 2 weeks) on the second floor (210 I think)..It was very contemporary and had a small balcony...Great tub, dual sinks...BUT... the heat wouldn't work in the room....Maintainance came right up and tried...but still cold. They then brought up 3 space heaters to try and warm the room (a bit awkward with these units laying around the room) but when we turned on the bathroom light, a fuse blew and all the lights went out. Fuse was reset, one heater taken away...and the fuse blew again...It was decided then by all involved to move us (upgraded again, by the way) to the 5th floor to a very nice room. The bed was unbelievably great and plenty of room...Jan, fellow at the desk, couldn't have been nicer and we got a great call as well from Miriam , the manager on duty. As the first room was newly renovated and they were all so nice, it really was not a big deal...it happens. Of course at the Four Seasons you get totally spoiled. If you even ask in passing how far it is to a town, they run and print off a mappy.com sheet for you. When we made reservations for dinner they even slid a confirmation and map to the restaurant under our door....and it was to the restaurant IN THE HOTEL!!! Now that's service! The bar is a great place to hang out and the staff it seems really try to beat each other to wait on you...They are watching all the time to see if you need anything...While it doesn't have the best view of the lake because it is at the end, it does make it a short walk to the shopping...just over the pedestrian bridge. All in all...great...It is a Four Seasons!

  • Liked — Staff and upkeep and design of the property
  • Disliked — There was the heating and electrical problem with the first room, hence the only negative mark.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BizBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Our family of four stayed at the FS Hotel des Bergues Geneva from 23-26 Dec 2007. The service was definitely the high FS standard with friendly, helpful staff abounding. Whether for business or pleasure, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

The front desk addressed our two children by name upon check-in. The staff throughout the hotel remembered and addressed us by name regularly. Though we arrived prior to check-in, our rooms were ready allowing us to recuperate a bit from the red eye flight.

Dining: The breakfast was delicious!!! Try the Alpine breakfast!!! The buffet was yummy, too. The restaurant staff accommodated the children's request for crepes for breakfast though it was not on the menu. We had a special Christmas Eve dinner at the hotel which was lovely and the staff was very attentive. They allowed the children to dine from the restaurant's regular children's menu which helped. When my son lost his long wiggly tooth during the dinner, he was met with a heartfelt, "Congratulations!" from two of the staff when we came back to the table. After we left the dinner and walked down to the main entrance to snap a family picture, one of the head staff from the restaurant appeared to snap the picture for us. He perfectly anticipated our need in that situation.

Concierge: All the concierge staff whom we encountered were really friendly and helpful proving maps and driving directions to destinations in Switzerland and France. They were knowledgeable about everything from skiing in the French Alps to visiting towns on Lake Geneva. The transportation from the airport was exactly was promised and the driver was helpful.

Rooms: The rooms and the hotel in general were beautiful, immaculately clean, and well-serviced. It had a lovely decorative touch but not overly done.

I highly recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Liked — The decor and the food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank FS_Junkie_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

Nice place!! Everything you'd expect for the price, service and quality-wise. Probably best hotel in Geneva right now, all things considered. One proviso for those who expect large bathrooms; these aren't huge, but they provide what you need. The rooms are gorgeous if you like the traditional.

I am a huge fan of the Parc des Eaux-Vives across the lake (5 rooms on top of a starred restauarant/brasserie) for the park and chirping birds in the morning. I believe I'll reserve that one for family travel from now on: this four seasons is worth trading up to when you need/want full service. I'm heading back next week...

Tip: the hotel has an in-house massage therapist until their spa is finished. HIGHLY recommended if you have 2 hrs to spend.

  • Liked — Room cleanliness and high standard of everything
  • Disliked — Bathrooms, while perfectly executed, are a bit small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mahaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

Went to Geneva for a short stay and tried the Four Seasons for a change. For the record, I usually don't like Four Seasons. Yes, it's a very nice hotel chain, but it tends to be a bit pretentious, which takes away from the quality of the service, I think.

This member of the chain, however, was less so. I think it's impossible to be a Four Seasons and not be a little pretentious, but the staff here was extremely friendly and didn't seem to take themselves too seriously, while at the same time providing impecable service.

Location is excellent, being right on the Rhone in the center of town. It should go without saying, of course, that the hotel is in excellent condition.

Everything about the hotel was outstanding (except the elevators, but I'll get to that later). Check-in was fast but friendly. The room was well appointed and spotless. Everything was very high quality and worked as it should (whether it was the Television, bed, bath, whatever). Linens and what not were all great. Toiletries were all excellent and probably enough to last a few weeks. The room was silent and dark at night. I slept very well. Breakfast was excellent and brought promptly.

Internet was easy to set up in that the cable was already supplied (I often forget my cable and get annoyed at having to call down to the desk).

My one complaint is that the elevators are very cozy. Pray you don't take a ride with someone suffering from B.O. or dragon breath. Small elevators seem to plague the whole city. I saw colleagues in several buildings and I think all of them had a teeny-tiny elevator. Funny.

In any case, I strongly recommend this hotel looking for excellent execution of top-of-the-line quality.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank Two-Wheel_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

Our room had a great view of the "jet d'eau". Although small, it was very nice and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Flat screen TV and great shower (with acqua di parma products)added to the room. But at this price the room could have been both larger and had more amenities. Service was very good -- upon being told there was something half-consumed in our mini-bar, someone promptly showed up with fresh fruit and apologies. The hotel's location cannot be beat--you can simply walk everywhere.

  • Liked — The view and the bed
  • Disliked — Price; Size of room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank voyageurNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Polished, professional, perfect! Immaculate property, impeccable service, wonderful location on the waterfront. The staff did anything and everything to make my stay perfect. Need a suit pressed within 30 minutes? No problem. Want a snack for the road? They're one step ahead of you. Need to know where to buy iPod accessories? Why, there's a store just a few blocks away.

My only complaint: I arrived at the hotel in my new BMW convertible feeling on top of the world, only to find a Lambourghini parked in front of the hotel that instantly made me feel like riff-raff!

  • Liked — That the experience justified the high price. You just can't get this kind of property and service any other way.
  • Disliked — Feeling like an unworthy guest because ultra expensive cars were parked in front of the hotel.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jptatl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva

Property: Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Address: quai des Bergues 33, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel des Bergues)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Geneva
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished continental hotel with antiques, located 500 meters from Cornavin train station & 4.5 km from Geneva-Cointrin Arpt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Des Bergues Geneva
Four Seasons Geneva
Geneva Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing